We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Redditch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Met up with 11 friends from around UK, chose this hotel for it's central location and good value and wasn't disappointed. Easy check in by friendly smiling reception staff, our room had been recently refurbished very clean and comfortable with the largest bed i've ever slept in,beautiful views overlooking the golf course. we stayed on a Bed & Breakfast basis, and were extremely impressed with the choice of food available from the buffet well cooked and very tasty with endless tea & coffee, very impressed with the breakfast staff. Had an evening snack from Tawney's bar, this was the only thing that i was not happy with, the chicken dish i had was very dry, and not very appetising to look at, and the fish one friend had contained lots of bones, though everyone else enjoyed their meals. We spent a relaxing saturday afternoon in the pool & spa, this was truly wonderful. All in all a great hotel, i'm sure we will be visiting again soon

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 156Gail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear 156Gail

Thank you for staying at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa and sharing your views on TripAdvisor.

We are so pleased that, overall you had a nice stay with us, but am sorry to read that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We constantly strive to provide all of our guests with the highest standard from the moment they arrive and at this point, I can only apologise that you did not receive this throughout. Please be assured that our Operations Manager has shared your comments with the team and carried out some re-training to ensure that there are no reoccurrences.

We value any feedback that we receive and your comments with regards to our staff and service is very important to us and will certainly be fed back to all departments.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.

Kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,092)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,592 - 1,598 of 2,092 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Chose this hotel spa day out of many others as they were the most helpful and nicest to deal with over the phone. They gave us a really good deal and threw in a couple of extras to make our day special. Nothing was too much trouble throughout the whole day from the receptionists to the treatment staff and the girls serving lunch. Would definitely recommend this hotel spa day.

If i had to mention a tiny negative (and im being picky) the changing rooms are very nice, spacious and clean but the showers let the area down, they were quite dark and kept going hot then cold. Very minor thing and wouldn't put me off going again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bookiebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Bookiebaker,

Thank you for your “Fab Spa Day” review following your visit to the Abbey Hotel, Golf & Spa.

I am so pleased that you found your spa day experience with us “special” with nothing being “too much trouble”. We value any feedback that we receive and your comments with regards to our staff is very important to us and will certainly be fed back to the leisure team.

With regards to the leisure changing rooms, we are currently going through a refurbishment programme, paying particular attention to the showers which will help to alleviate any issues in the future. I can only apologise if your experience harboured your overall impression of the Spa facilities.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.

Kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Staff were great, food was great. The spa was great according to the wife and I loved the golf. They had kept a surprise visit from one of my best friends to themselves as well which topped off a great week with a great round of golf of the most amazing course I have ever played.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Strafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Strafin

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your stay at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

We’re so pleased you had a pleasant stay and really appreciate your comments about our staff, food, spa and golf course. . We really appreciate your time in giving this feedback and I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the team here.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.

Kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The second stay at the hotel left us disappointed - the rooms were small & in need of redecorating especially our bathroom compared to those we stayed in last year. The staff however, especially those on reception are very friendly, courteous & helpful.
However the quality of food in the restaurant is very variable in quality & consistency - the meal the first night was excellent but the second night was very poor indeed with small amounts of veg & these were almost I edible as over cooked, though this was reported as a problem, it was not rectified & no apology offered ! Breakfast very mediocre - I don't think we will be returning :-((

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Claire A

Thank you for staying with us at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa and for taking the time to share your views with the Trip Advisor community.

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your custom and we are delighted you find our reception staff “friendly, courteous and helpful” . However, I am most upset to hear how you regard your recent stay with us as disappointing. I would like to assure you that your comments with regards to the quality of food have been passed onto our Operations Manager so that the aspects raised can be addressed fully. We constantly strive to provide all of our guests with the highest standard from the moment they arrive and at this point I can only apologise that you felt you did not receive this.

Once again thank you for your comments, should you decide to return please contact me directly so that I can personally oversee your reservation and demonstrate that your restaurant experience was an exception to the rule.
Kindest Regards

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Visited this hotel for two nights in February. It was well signposted and easy to find. The reception staff were helpful and friendly.

We booked a superior room which was a lovely, clean, large room. The bed was big and comfy and the bathroom was clean and modern. We did arrive quite late and the room was very warm as the radiator had been left on. Not a problem but it meant we had to sleep with the window open and subsequently got woken up at 6am by staff talking in the car park below the window.

We had breakfast from the buffet one morning in the restaurant which was nice and clean with a good range of food. Although as soon as you had put your last bit of food in your mouth the waitress took the plate away. Literally before you had even swallowed the last mouthful!

Also spent a day in the spa. The ladies changing was clean and well equipped with plenty of showers, lockers and hairdryers but my partner said there was some building work going on in the men's changing rooms and there was dust everywhere. The pool isn't massive though and as it is open to non-hotel guests it seemed to be busy with them most of the day.

Overall very pleased with the room, staff and service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Stephanie B

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your stay at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

We are delighted that the whole weekend for you was an enjoyable one and would like to take this opportunity to say that we really appreciate your time in giving this feedback and will ensure that your comments are passed on to the team here.

With regards to the leisure facilities and changing rooms , we are currently going through a refurbishment programme . I can only apologies if this caused any disturbance during your stay and I would like to assure you that any refurbishment work is carried out with our guests in mind and to minimise any disruption at all times.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was the second time we've visited the Abbey hotel this year, we celebrated the new year there, we such a good time we decided to spend Valentine weekend there.
The staff are smart, polite, friendly and plentiful.
The rooms we had were overlooking the car park both times but were clean, quiet, and plenty big enough, we spent most of our time in the spa and bar !
Both evening functions were well attended and the food, service, and entertainment were all first class.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Penthouse room is a good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuttyRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear SuttyRedditch

Thank you so much for your review and return visit to the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

We always love welcoming guests back and to hear your stay was “first class” really is wonderful to hear. Your comments with regards to the evening functions really mean a lot to us and will certainly be fed back to our food and beverage team.

Once again thank you for choosing the Abbey to celebrate both occasions and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

With kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Went to Abbey Hotel and Spa for a romantic weekend away for two. The room was nice and the food ok, but the it's not a particularly attractive place, especially if you're overlooking the car park. The service was very good, and the staff attentive, and the leisure facilities were well worth the visit. The spa, pool and gym were the highlight for me.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToSeaSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear ToSeaSee

Thank you for staying at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa and sharing your views on TripAdvisor.

We are so pleased that you found the leisure facilities to be the “highlight” of your weekend and were able to use them to your advantage. We would like to apologise if you were in anyway unhappy with your guest room and the outlook. We do have a mixture of bedrooms and some of them do indeed overlook the golf course aswell as over looking the car park. We really do wish that you had shared your dissatisfaction when you had stayed and we would have ensured to move you to a different room for your stay.

Once again thank you for your comments, should you decide to return please contact me directly so that I can personally oversee your reservation and ensure that you receive a room with a view of the grounds.


Kindest Regards

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redditch
1.9 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
2.2 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 7 in Redditch
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadow Farm
Meadow Farm
#7 of 7 in Redditch
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
#7 of 8 in Bromsgrove
1,277 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch
13.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Address: Hither Green Lane Dagnell End Road, Redditch B98 9BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Redditch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Redditch
#3 Business Hotel in Redditch
#4 Family Hotel in Redditch
Price Range: £69 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is situated on a lovely 175 acre estate. The Hotel itself is just a short distance from the Birmingham NEC, Birmingham International Airport and the City Centre making it ideal for pleasure or business travel. Featuring contemporary ensuite Rooms, Meeting & Conference facilities, banqueting rooms for private Occasions and gorgeous Wedding Venue grounds. You can indulge in either of our dining experiences; fine dining in Bramblings Restaurant or delicious pub classics in Tawnys Bar and Terrace overlooking the 18th fairway. Alternatively play a round of golf on the Abbey championship 18 hole Golf Course or practice your swing on the 2 storey, 28 bay floodlit Golf Driving Range. Situated in a rural Redditch location, yet minutes from the M42 motorway makes The Abbey Hotel a great base to explore the area of Worcestershire and to visit many Local Attractions including Cadbury World, West Midlands Safari Park, Warwick Castle plus much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Golf And Country Club
Abbey Hotel Country
Redditch Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing