We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, nice staff, good location”
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Redditch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Great family hotel in a good location for many attractions, with West Midlands Safari Park just half an hour away. The newly refurbished bedrooms are lovely. The hotel has a great spa/pool, and although I don't play golf they assure me its a good course! It was one of the nicest hot breakfasts I have had in a UK Hotel in a very long time. Everything piping hot, fresh and a great choice. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the bedrooms in the 'new part' of the hotel or a newly refurbished bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xjolovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear xjolovestotravel,

Thank you for your “lovely hotel” review following your stay at the Abbey Hotel, Golf & Spa.

We’re so pleased you had a pleasant stay and really appreciate your comments about “great family hotel”, “great spa/pool” and “nicest hot breakfast”. Thank you so much and I will look forward to sharing this feedback with our team here.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,092)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,586 - 1,592 of 2,092 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Arrived on Friday afternoon for a one night spa break. My executive room (Avon) was spacious, had a huge comfortable bed and flat screen tv. However the walls were scuffed and there was a very suspicious stain on the bed spread which did bother me. Overall the room was nice. Dont forget your robe from your room if visiting the spa. No slippers were provided which was unfortunate as to get back to my room after the spa I had to go outside in my bare feet. The spa layout however was just odd. The waiting area for the spa was just off the golf shop and I felt rather uncomfortable in my robe. The pool and jacuzzi were nice. Steam room was a little basic but functional. Treatment rooms were nice. There was a relaxation room with tea and coffee but again, just a little basic. No extras included. If you wanted food you had to dress and go to the golf bar. The spa could be nice but it felt very much like a golf club that had squeezed a spa in to please the ladies. The breakfast was disappointing. Toast was served by the slice, staff were absent when I wanted to order some freshly cooked food and the food was a bit greasy for me. It was only £144 for the break which included a single supplement so definitely not five star prices but can't help being a little disappointed.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank emmaSheffield_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Emma

Thank you for staying at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa and sharing your views on TripAdvisor.

We really do apologise if you were in anyway unhappy with your guest room, we really do wish that you had shared your dissatisfaction when you had stayed and we would have ensured to move you to a different room or rectify the issues that you have raised. I would also like to apologise if your spa experience was not the peaceful retreat as expected. All of your comments have been fed back to the relevant departments in order for the aspects raised to be addressed fully.

We only want our guests to have an excellent time when they stay with us. I can guarantee you that we are all very proud of the service that we provide to our guests and all of our team care and are very passionate about their work.

Once again thank you for your comments, should you decide to return please contact me directly so that I can personally oversee your reservation and demonstrate that your restaurant and leisure experience was an exception to the rule.

Kindest Regards

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The room was very spacious and clean. The food was of a very high standard with an excellent menu. Service was also excellent, with staff being very efficient and friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Amy305,
Thank you for staying at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa and sharing your views on TripAdvisor.

We’re so pleased you had an “enjoyable stay” and really appreciate your comments about your “spacious and clean room”, “excellent menu” and “efficient and friendly staff”. We value any feedback that we receive and your comments with regards to our staff is very important to us and will certainly be fed back to the rest of the team.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Went for Sunday Carvery with 14 guests to celebrate 40th Wedding Anniversary. Warm friendly welcome from staff, well laid out tables with plenty of room around. Fantastic choice of starters,3 choices meat and large selection of vegetables, then superb sweets all at a reasonable price..
Overall a perfect occasion appreciated by family and friends, but don't tell too many as we may not be able to get in next time!!!.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank showcoachman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Showcoachman,

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to the Abbey Hotel, Golf & Spa.

We are so grateful to hear these lovely comments and to have played a part in your 40th wedding anniversary celebration. We value any feedback that we receive and your comments with regards to our staff, service and food quality is very important to us and will certainly be fed back to the rest of the team.

Once again thank you for your booking and choosing to celebrate here at the Abbey. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed for two nights, we checked in on the 2nd march 2014 and the lady on the front desk was ever so helpful and friendly. The room was of a good size, very clean and had everything you could have needed. One minor complaint was that the mattress could do with a topper as you could feel the beds zipped together. The restaurant on the sunday night was very quiet but the staff were very polite and friendly. We had to ask for bar staff as there was no one around, but he appeared within seconds. The only minor niggle with the bar was he poured the wrong drink, but i don't like complaining so just drank it. The food was of good quality and i recommend if you have a dessert to have 'Old Skool'. It was delicious!!! We had a dip in the pool, cant really fault it apart from the bottom of the pool could do with a clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Tom C

Thank you for your “Great break away” review following your stay at the Abbey Hotel, Golf & Spa.

To hear how much you enjoyed your time, remarking on our helpful and friendly staff really is lovely to here. We value any feedback that we receive and your comments with regards to our staff is very important to us and will certainly be fed back to all departments. I am so pleased that you were able to experience our dessert menu and found the “Old School” option “delicious”. The bubblegum ice cream certainly makes for an interesting taste sensation!

Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Had an great evening at the Abbey Hotel with friends. The menu choice was good, food cooked to perfection and the service was excellent. I am always impressed with the staff at the hotel as they always put them selves out to ensure you have a memorable visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandylwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Mandylwoo

Thank you for your “Excellent evening” review following your recent visit to the Abbey Hotel, Golf & Spa.

We are delighted that your evening with us was an enjoyable one and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time in giving this feedback and will ensure that your comments are passed on to the team here.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.

Kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Met up with 11 friends from around UK, chose this hotel for it's central location and good value and wasn't disappointed. Easy check in by friendly smiling reception staff, our room had been recently refurbished very clean and comfortable with the largest bed i've ever slept in,beautiful views overlooking the golf course. we stayed on a Bed & Breakfast basis, and were extremely impressed with the choice of food available from the buffet well cooked and very tasty with endless tea & coffee, very impressed with the breakfast staff. Had an evening snack from Tawney's bar, this was the only thing that i was not happy with, the chicken dish i had was very dry, and not very appetising to look at, and the fish one friend had contained lots of bones, though everyone else enjoyed their meals. We spent a relaxing saturday afternoon in the pool & spa, this was truly wonderful. All in all a great hotel, i'm sure we will be visiting again soon

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 156Gail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear 156Gail

Thank you for staying at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa and sharing your views on TripAdvisor.

We are so pleased that, overall you had a nice stay with us, but am sorry to read that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We constantly strive to provide all of our guests with the highest standard from the moment they arrive and at this point, I can only apologise that you did not receive this throughout. Please be assured that our Operations Manager has shared your comments with the team and carried out some re-training to ensure that there are no reoccurrences.

We value any feedback that we receive and your comments with regards to our staff and service is very important to us and will certainly be fed back to all departments.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.

Kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redditch
1.9 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
2.2 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 7 in Redditch
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadow Farm
Meadow Farm
#7 of 7 in Redditch
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
#7 of 8 in Bromsgrove
1,277 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch
13.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Address: Hither Green Lane Dagnell End Road, Redditch B98 9BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Redditch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Redditch
#3 Business Hotel in Redditch
#4 Family Hotel in Redditch
Price Range: £69 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is situated on a lovely 175 acre estate. The Hotel itself is just a short distance from the Birmingham NEC, Birmingham International Airport and the City Centre making it ideal for pleasure or business travel. Featuring contemporary ensuite Rooms, Meeting & Conference facilities, banqueting rooms for private Occasions and gorgeous Wedding Venue grounds. You can indulge in either of our dining experiences; fine dining in Bramblings Restaurant or delicious pub classics in Tawnys Bar and Terrace overlooking the 18th fairway. Alternatively play a round of golf on the Abbey championship 18 hole Golf Course or practice your swing on the 2 storey, 28 bay floodlit Golf Driving Range. Situated in a rural Redditch location, yet minutes from the M42 motorway makes The Abbey Hotel a great base to explore the area of Worcestershire and to visit many Local Attractions including Cadbury World, West Midlands Safari Park, Warwick Castle plus much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Golf And Country Club
Abbey Hotel Country
Redditch Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing