We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abbey Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Southcrest Manor Hotel(Redditch)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meadow Farm(Redditch)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$64
US$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Throckmorton(Alcester)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westmead Hotel(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,230)
Filter reviews
2,230 results
Traveller rating
1,021
775
317
91
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,021
775
317
91
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseleisure facilitiesgolf breaksteam roomdriving rangeswimming pooltawny barsports barcadbury worldspa treatmentslovely hotelsuperior roomreception staffevening mealfamily roomwedding receptionthe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,633 - 1,638 of 2,230 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We chose the Abbey Hotel to host a surprise party to celebrate my parents Diamond Wedding Anniversary and would certainly highly recommend it for anyone planning similar. The Bramblings room was perfect with the table set out beautifully for the 21 guests for a sit-down meal. Reception drinks were served beforehand in an ante-room, so we effectively had 2 rooms or the function - very good value. The food was a very good standard and the service excellent - not an easy task with guest ages ranging from 6 years to 88 so a huge thank you to all! Particular thanks to Kay Lilley, the events organiser, who did everything possible to ensure the success of the event, which has provided my parents and our family with some wonderful memories. Just to add - 2 family members stayed overnight at the hotel and were very pleased with the accommodation, service and value for money.
Helen Gardner

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HelenElizabeth29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I went to the abbey hotel for a spa day. It was a really enjoyable day, and there was so much included it was great value for money. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to have a relaxing day - the staff were all very friendly and made sure my day went well. The food provided was of a good standard too - pastry, 2 course lunch and afternoon tea!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lottienewbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were really pleased having chosen the Abbey Hotel in Redditch for our wedding reception. All of the wedding party thoroughly enjoyed themselves and guests commented on what a superb venue it was. One guest in particular commented that it was one of the best weddings that he had ever been too. A huge thank you to all concerned in making our day such a special occasion & would definitely recommend the Abbey Hotel to anyone looking for a wedding venue. Grounds superb for wedding photography.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view over the golf course.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed here for a Wedding reception. On check in, staff were very polite & friendly, this was consistent throughout our stay. The rooms are nice but maybe a little small, especially if you're tall! The rooms upstairs are obviously part of the roof with dorma windows, so there are really low points in the room & it is likely that you will need to be alert when getting into bed, or you will hit your head (as I did). Breakfast was buffet style & I would recommend an early sitting as when we arrived (30 minutes prior to it finishing) it was looking tired and dry from sitting under the hot lamps. Full use of the pool, sauna & jacuzzi are a huge bonus for a quick escape away though.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

A pleasant enough hotel with some very friendly and helpful staff but it needs some TLC in the bedrooms and a little more finesse to make the rooms more inviting and more training for the restaurant staff. I will provide examples:

1. We stayed for two nights, and on the first evening we stayed (two families, 7 of us in total) we dined in the restaurant and only just managed to get a table. We ate our starters and then our main course came, well 6 meals, then other tables were served and then the 7th came eventually, with the others in the party having to wait.
2. We asked for tap water in a jug and we received bottles, other tables had jugs and we were charged. However it was removed from the bill and we were not charged. This happened on both nights.
3. Our daughter’s meal arrived, which she did enjoy, on a plate so hot it was dangerous. Whilst I like my food hot and plates warm I think this is a little dangerous for a 5 year old.
4. After breakfast on the first morning I thought it prudent to book a table in the restaurant as we only just managed to get a table the night before. At 10.00am there were no spaces but the receptionist was very helpful and managed to convince the restaurant manager to let us sit at 9.00am. However it was very rushed.
5. On the first night we were read the specials from a list, when we ate in the restaurant the second night we were given the specials from the Maitre’D by memory.
6. On the first night we were given bread rolls, and a choice of white and brown. On the second night we had to ask for them when our starters arrived and a white roll was literately plonked on the plate. When I asked if I could have brown I was informed in short shift that there was only white – no apologies just basically told off for asking.
7. On the first night we ordered wine and this was fine. On the second night it took three attempts for them to bring the wine and we were not asked to taste it, it was simply left on the table for us.
8. On the second night we were shown to our tables, late as my husband had to take a quick telephone call and to be fair the Maitre’D waited until he had returned to the bar area where we were enjoying pre-dinner drinks. However when we were shown to our table there were three chairs, so one was hastily moved; and only two wine glasses. The latter was not rectified until sometime later when we ordered wine and I had to ask for two additional glasses.
9. The website sells the restaurant as fine dining. Having eaten in many fine dining restaurants this is not one of them.
10. One other little niggle, there was body wash and shampoo in the bathrooms (which need some refurbishment) but no conditioner. Nice touch but why forget the conditioner?
11. We had a sofa bed for our daughter in the bedroom which was large so definitely a family room, there was a nice touch with sweets on the bed for the children.
12. Strangely the corridors were cold as there was clearly air conditioning but there was none in the bedrooms. After a shower, even with the fan on all the windows and mirrors steamed up. It was way too hot so we had to open the windows, which we were not too comfortable with as we were on the ground floor.

Overall it was a pleasant hotel and it catered for families, couples, a wedding and it has a good gym and pool and golf club, but it could very easily be so much better with a little staff training and some investment. It was clearly full for the weekend so it has the traffic to substantiate this investment.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews