We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Duck Inn

The Duck Inn
Ranked #46 of 115 Restaurants in Redditch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Having very recently moved to Redditch, I was looking for a cheap and nice place to eat.
This place is OK, but just OK.
The staff was really nice and friendly.
The food was OK, nothing fancy, but good (desserts were average)
The only thing that surprised me was that the place was absolutely empty of a Sunday lunchtime. Not sure why!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sardine2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    21
    6
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“can not fault this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Having moved to the area recently, I kept passing The Duck Inn, and eventually decided to go in for tea. Well I am so glad I did, the food is excellent (and im a fussy bugger). The service is A class, the staff and managers are so welcoming, I have been back on several occasions, and everytime the food and staff are brilliant. May I add, the piri piri chargrilled chicken breast is one to try.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good value pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Popped in one evening and had their 2 for £10 menu. Basic meals - plaice and chips and Gammon egg and chips - but well cooked and well worth it. The pub is clean and modern and the service excellent. A good range of well-kept beers too. There is also a range of burgers and steaks which are slightly more expensive and what I saw of them they looked really good value too. Well worth a vist.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food shame about the bar Manager”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I visited this pub with my partner and out friends for the weekly Thursday night quiz and to have a meal at the same time.

The Pub is clean and well presented and the staff on the whole were very helpful and friendly, our waitress was lovely and couldn't do enough for us.

The evening overall was very pleasant and really enjoyed the quiz which was good fun without being to serious, I guess all those who normally hope to be the next Eggheads were on Holiday? Lol.

The food was hearty and rustic but very nice and really good value for money. The choice of drinks is also good, although they did run out of the cask Ale and had no alternative, a minor point but as an Ale drinker a bit of a disappointment.

The only real down side to the whole evening was the rather moody/unfriendly bar manager, she just seemed somewhat put out when dealing with customers? Strange attitude for someone working in a customer facing role? Still maybe she was having a bad night? Somehow though i doubt it just got the impression she was glad to see the back of everyone.

On the whole a nice pub serving good, value for money food within a clean and comfortable environment. Staff on the whole were very helpful with the one exception mentioned above.

Would recommend the quiz and the food and maybe you will get a more friendly welcome from the Bar manager?

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Philip9528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Really tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Perfect jacket potatoes - fluffy potato with crispy skins - yum :) Excellent customer service. Very reasonably priced. Next time we're in the area will definitely be calling in again for tea.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Duck Inn also viewed

Redditch, Worcestershire
Redditch, Worcestershire
 
Redditch, Worcestershire
Redditch, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing