We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How can something so beautiful be such a disappointment”
Review of Old Rectory House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Rectory House
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Redditch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2008

Hubby and I went to a friends wedding in December 07. When we arrived, we were all really surprised to see such a lovely building tucked away in the suburbs of Redditch. We were greeted by a member of staff and taken through to the party. Drinks were served from a small bar area in the corner of the room.....a little strange we thought at first but then came to realise it was all part of the charm.

The drinks were rather on the expensive side, not what I expected at all....this is something you usually find at one of the large chain hotels which has in excess of 100+ rooms. Nevertheless we continued to enjoy the party and chatting to the happy couple and other guests. We had been advised to book a taxi, which we totally recommend too. It was booked for midnight, but as the party finished earlier than we had thought, we called to change to 11.30pm. After being ushered out of the room, we waited in the lobby for the taxi to arrive. Quietly sitting and chatting to the bride, asking about her day and the plans for the honeymoon. It was then a lady walked around turning off most of the lights, strange we thought but carried on nonetheless (we should have realised this was a hint). This lady (which we later found out was the owner) asked if we were overnight guests. We replied no and that we were waiting for our taxi which would be arriving in approx 15 mins. She then, to our surprise, asked us to leave telling us we would have to wait outside - but very rudely (and it was really cold). She held her had on the door which meant I and the other guests couldn't say goodbye to the Groom. I had to ask her two or three times to move her arm so that I could say goodbye.

I understand that an establishment like this may not have the same licences as other larger hotels but politeness goes a long way. We said that we were waiting for our taxi but she didn't care!

After all that, our taxi arrived at 12.45am (or thereabouts).....we were frozen!

On that basis, I am sorry to say that I wouldn't recommend this hotel. God help the staff!!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo90UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2007

We had our wedding at this venue on 7th December 2007 and I cannot fault the organisation and overall friendliness of the staff to myself and wife, it seems such a shame that this courtesy was not extended to other members of our party.

The building is a delightful old listed rectory hotel with lovely rooms full of character. The wedding day itself went perfectly and without a hitch and we cannot praise all those involved enough! Food was excellent and with all the Christmas decorations, it really was a magical atmosphere. Very happy! I have lived in Redditch since 1993 and never knew the place existed, a very well kept secret.

Unfortunately we received a number of comments from members of our party and the best man stating that the manageress Pam, was rude and quite short with a good few of our guests. And for that reason I would find it difficult to recommend a wedding at this venue, and this is indeed a great shame, as it is a lovely place.

Our guests were treated in an abrupt and rude manner on a number of occasions, such as comments made about clearing the main room after the wedding breakfast, "otherwise you wont be getting breakfast in the morning" - not very good really.

At 11.30pm, non resident members of our party were in the lobby saying goodbye and I was quite embarrassed at the way they were literally shoved outside into the cold and the door bolted on them with a comment from the manager "you lot need to wait outside". Now I totally understand licensing rules and the fact that people need to be out, but there are more professional and simply nicer ways of putting this message across to guests. I felt the need to call them all the following day to apologise for the way they had been spoken to.

Unfinished drinks were swiped away from tables at 11.30 prompt without even a courteous comment (these drinks had been paid for as well!), an opened bottle of whisky that was bought as a present was confiscated without as much as a "sorry, you cant drink that after 11.30!" - as far as I am aware, this was not returned. Again, if that is the hotel policy, then that is fair enough, but the level of rudeness shown guests was not acceptable. We were allowed to continue drinking after 30 mins or so from the "honesty bar" - but why were our drinks swiped away and not returned? No glasses were left out on the bar either!

Mind you, one of the members of staff did mention that "you really need to hide those drinks before Cruella finds them..!" So this looks like normal practice at the Old Rectory then? You dont expect this on your wedding night to be honest.

My new mother-in-law nearly had a full glass of red wine swiped away from under her nose, but luckily she was fast enough to comment that she had only just bought this and it was not going to be taken away! Well done Leslely!

There were other reports of rudeness from the manageress, but I wont list them all here - you get the idea. I think this is a great shame and although it did not spoil or detract from a great day, when we heard the reports the next day, it did kind of cast a shadow on things, as there is simply no need to treat paying guests (OUR GUESTS!) in this manner. There were also issues with the rooms such as no toilet paper, no water etc - and when paying over £100 for a room, this is intolerable.

The Manager, Mike, was such a lovely, kind man too. Very attentive and professional, such a contrast to his wife. But, I must say that to me and my wife, Pam was nothing but very lovely and attentive. To other members of our party, this was not to be. We are not binge drinking louts at all and all aged in our 30's to late 50's - a very well behaved bunch who just wanted to have a great wedding at a great venue.

As such I hate to say this but, I would not recommend this venue to any couples looking for a wedding location. Your guests deserve to be treated with respect from hotel staff, especially when paying over £100 for a room. Not good at all. Customer awareness course perhaps required here?

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MorpheusA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2007

Our wonderful friends got married here, and what a delightful venue, with mulled wine on a cold Friday afternoon. The male owner was a lovely man and showed us to our very disappointing and poky room 9, for £125.00 a night myself and my husband were really disappointed, it seemed we had the smallest room our of all our friends, with a bath as well!!

When the DJ finished around 11:30 p.m.one of the waitress came up and said ' are any of your residents?' when we said yes she said 'good, cause we need to lay the tables for breakfast now, so you'll have to clear this room'!!, otherwise you won't get any breakfast', nice being as our friends had spend thousands of pounds having their wedding there. Once we where in the lounge, only because we'd been kicked out of the function room!! the lady owner kicked non residents out!! (she was really rude to them). She then cleared our glasses!, and told us to leave. Your probably thinking we are teenagers, but no - our ages range from 35 to 55!. I also had a glass of wine from the loyality bar, but there were no wine glasses so I used a tumbler, and it was 3/4 full, she came in and snapped, 'I'd say that was a double wouldn't you?' so the next morning we were charged £12, expensive glass of wine.

This women is in the wrong trade, she rude and abnoxious, I could go on, you've got to feel sorry for her husband though as he was lovely man.

Personally I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone, and I will put as many negative notices on as many websites I can find. The amount they charge for poky room is disgusing!

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank keepthemsafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank SelimTosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer Nr.1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Asma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Latelounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAL_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redditch
1.8 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
2.2 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#3 of 7 in Redditch
2,123 reviews
7.8 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Brockencote Hall Hotel
Brockencote Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chaddesley Corbett
690 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kings Court Hotel
Kings Court Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alcester
642 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Rectory House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Rectory House

Address: The Old Rectory Ipsley Lane | Ipsley, Redditch B98 0AP, England (Formerly The Old Rectory Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Redditch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redditch
#3 Family Hotel in Redditch
#5 Business Hotel in Redditch
Price Range: £83 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Rectory House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOUSE Discover our hidden gem and enjoy a truly memorable stay or event experience! The Old Rectory House Hotel is a privately owned quintessential English country house hotel in Redditch. Tucked away in the Heart of England, The Old Rectory House offers a relaxing & comfortable venue for work & play. Our quintessential Elizabethan & Georgian House radiates charm & peace, providing the perfect setting for all family occasions including weddings, christenings, birthday parties and funeral receptions and ideal for conferences, business meetings, seminars, training sessions and team building events. THE ORANGERY Our beautiful restaurant is open Wednesday - Sunday for breakfast, lunch & dinner. Advanced bookings are highly recommended to secure a table as we do get very busy. THE DAMSON COCKTAIL LOUNGE sit back and relax in our quirky cocktail lounge open for drinks 7 days a week. THE GROUNDS Our house sits in the heart of three acres of wooded gardens, with hundreds of plants and trees. Many of our larger trees including the stunning English Oaks, the Portuguese Laurels and the Weeping Ash were planted over 200 years ago. With our very own croquet lawn at the front of the house, its landscape is a perfect setting for picnicking, partying, pampering and pondering, and although it can feel blissfully set apart from the bustle of everyday life, it's within remarkably easy reach of many of the Warwickshire & Worcestershire's most exciting highlights. The team at The Old Rectory House know the estate and area like the back of their hands, so whether you need a recommendation for a picnic spot, directions for a nature walk, or a map for an all-day ramble (marked with the best local pub stops, naturally), just pop into the House for a chat. THE LOCATION The Old Rectory House Hotel is situated within a short drive of many major English tourist attractions including Shakespeare’s birthplace in Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwick Castle, The NEC, Resort World, NIA, The Cotswolds and Birmingham Bull Ring Shopping Centre. It is also a short walk from the Arrow Valley Country Park, a beautiful lake and country park where you can take an easy stroll, have a serious jog around the lake or arrange to go fishing and sailing. Birmingham International Airport, Resort World, NEC & Gentings Arena can be accessed by car within 20 minutes using the M42 motorway network which is 5 minute drive from the hotel. Bicester Shopping Village is only 55 minutes from the Old Rectory Hotel London is only 1 hour 30 minutes by train which makes our hotel a perfect retreat for holiday international tourists. THE HISTORY The Old Rectory House Hotel is probably the best kept secret in the Worcestershire county, it has stood on this site for several hundreds of years and has a wealth of historical connections. The house lies between the original Roman built Icknield Street, which runs along the far boundary, and the monastic carp lakes at the rear of the property. The Doomsday Book lists a building on this site in 1086, during which time Lady Godiva's son was Lord of the Manor. The Great Grandson of Sir Christopher Wren lived in the house for over forty years and made a number of alterations in that time. He completely modernised the original Elizabethan house in 1812 by adding a Georgian facade to the front elevation of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Old Rectory House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rectory Hotel
Old Rectory Redditch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing