We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Susan and Tony's Wedding on 7th December 2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Rectory House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Rectory House
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Redditch
Certificate of Excellence
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Susan and Tony's Wedding on 7th December 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Attended the wedding of Susan and Tony Colesbury's wedding, what a beautiful venue and great attention to detail by Pam and Mike that made their day such a success!. They certainly offer a very personal touch far beyond expectations, the food was served with such professional
manner. Congratulations to you and your team, will certainly recommend your hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    35
    5
    7
    7
See reviews for
59
52
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Over recent years Pam, Mike and the staff have helped to arrange different types of events at the Old Rectory ... my father's funeral reception, my mother's 90th Birthday and our Christmas Wedding on 7th December 2013. The location and amenities are perfect for any type of occasion.
My husband and I couldn't have asked for more from all the staff on our Wedding day. Nothing was too much trouble, everyone was so helpful. The old Rectory Hotel is a beautiful period building set in idyllic surroundings. It has a warm, welcoming and homely feel to it. Our guests experienced a cosy drawing room with open fire to relax in, a perfectly decorated conservatory for our Wedding breakfast, excellent food throughout the day with a perfect room for evening entertainment. Our bedrooms had loads of character and personal touches each designed for individual requirements and the following morning received a first class breakfast. Christmas came early for us - Pam and the staff decorated the whole hotel with Christmas trees and lovely seasonal decorations. Thank you so much for making our Wedding day so special. It was perfect and we will never forget the superb hospitality from Pam, Mike, Jackie, and all the staff. Looking forward to popping in soon for tea and cakes.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank York111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Have just returned from a retirement tea at The Old Rectory - excellent. Delicious food, including sandwiches, scones and cakes. Very professional service provided at all times. Beautiful, relaxed surroundings and very homely. Now looking for a good excuse to return!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahO504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel last week and we were made to feel so welcome by Pam and Mike.
The Old Rectory is a beautifully old fashioned hotel with modern facilities. Our bedroom was just lovely with open beams and loads of original features but really comfortable and clean
We will be back to stay again and would definately recommend the hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielknight2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

My family and all our guests had a wonderful time at my daughters wedding. This is a great venue. Pam and her team delivered a polished and professional service and made us feel very welcome.
The facilities are first class and all the rooms are full of character.The gardens are superb and provide infinite photo opportunities with a wide variety of trees and plants, the spacious lawn area
also was of benefit.All in all the wedding was a resounding success .
Thanks to the Old Rectory.

Room Tip: Go and see it first
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmariec123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Booked this quaint beautiful little place for my daughter Christening Tea. Couldn't have asked for a more beautiful setting. Firstly the owners were fantastic helpful and very professional, the food was simply Devine and the most important part..... The service was second to none a truly warm family feel with nothing but the happiness of the guests in mind. My family and I had a day to remember turely magical thank you so much to the owner Pam a day we will never forget. Highly recommended if your looking for a special family occasion with those extra touches money just can't buy xx

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KELLY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Tucked away, not so far at all from the rat race, staying at the Old Rectory was a truly excellent experience.
Very friendly staff, very relaxing atmosphere with buckets of old English character, both upstairs and downstairs!
Great bedrooms, very comfortable, with more than you will ever need provided, high quality breakfast in beautiful surroundings!

No no nonsense stay for the business traveler, but I would imagine a fabulous place to stay for leisure purposes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redditch
1.8 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
2.2 mi away
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Redditch North (A441) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Meadow Farm
Meadow Farm
#6 of 8 in Redditch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch
12.6 mi away
The Wood Norton Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel
#1 of 12 in Evesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Rectory House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Rectory House

Property: Old Rectory House
Address: Ipsley Lane | Ipsley, Redditch B98 0AP, England (Formerly The Old Rectory Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Redditch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redditch
#3 Family Hotel in Redditch
#5 Business Hotel in Redditch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Rectory House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOUSE Discover our hidden gem and enjoy a truly memorable stay or event experience! The Old Rectory House Hotel is a privately owned quintessential English country house hotel in Redditch. Tucked away in the Heart of England, The Old Rectory House offers a relaxing & comfortable venue for work & play. Our quintessential Elizabethan & Georgian House radiates charm & peace, providing the perfect setting for all family occasions including weddings, christenings, birthday parties and funeral receptions and ideal for conferences, business meetings, seminars, training sessions and team building events. THE GROUNDS Our house sits in the heart of three acres of wooded gardens, with hundreds of plants and trees. Many of our larger trees including the stunning English Oaks, the Portuguese Laurels and the Weeping Ash were planted over 200 years ago. With our very own croquet lawn at the front of the house, its landscape is a perfect setting for picnicking, partying, pampering and pondering, and although it can feel blissfully set apart from the bustle of everyday life, it's within remarkably easy reach of many of the Warwickshire & Worcestershire's most exciting highlights. The team at The Old Rectory House know the estate and area like the back of their hands, so whether you need a recommendation for a picnic spot, directions for a nature walk, or a map for an all-day ramble (marked with the best local pub stops, naturally), just pop into the House for a chat. THE LOCATION The Old Rectory House Hotel is situated within a short drive of many major English tourist attractions including Shakespeare’s birthplace in Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwick Castle, The NEC, Resort World, NIA, The Cotswolds and Birmingham Bull Ring Shopping Centre. It is also a short walk from the Arrow Valley Country Park, a beautiful lake and country park where you can take an easy stroll, have a serious jog around the lake or arrange to go fishing and sailing. Birmingham International Airport, Resort World, NEC & Gentings Arena can be accessed by car within 20 minutes using the M42 motorway network which is 5 minute drive from the hotel. Bicester Shopping Village is only 55 minutes from the Old Rectory Hotel London is only 1 hour 30 minutes by train which makes our hotel a perfect retreat for holiday international tourists. THE HISTORY The Old Rectory House Hotel is probably the best kept secret in the Worcestershire county, it has stood on this site for several hundreds of years and has a wealth of historical connections. The house lies between the original Roman built Icknield Street, which runs along the far boundary, and the monastic carp lakes at the rear of the property. The Doomsday Book lists a building on this site in 1086, during which time Lady Godiva's son was Lord of the Manor. The Great Grandson of Sir Christopher Wren lived in the house for over forty years and made a number of alterations in that time. He completely modernised the original Elizabethan house in 1812 by adding a Georgian facade to the front elevation of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Old Rectory House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rectory Hotel
Old Rectory Redditch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing