We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Wedding reception followed by a beautiful Valentines Meal.”
Review of Old Rectory House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Rectory House
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Redditch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Pam and her wonderful staff did us proud again. We had the most perfect wedding reception and breakfast three years ago. First time back for Valentines Night meal. The service was so attentive and friendly and the food was amazing. The white chocolate box and sole were beautiful. My wife loved the steak and duck pate. Planning to return in June, can't wait! Brought back lots of memories. Thank you Pam and Mike.xx

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Davva1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Old Rectory House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

I have used this place a few times over the years. I stumbled upon it when looking for a hotel that I could use to place international clients for a Redditch based business. I normally avoid independent hotels because if find them too personal, I prefer the anonymity you get with the larger service providers. I was so impressed with this place I ended up also using it myself. Style wise, they have really pulled it off to a very high standard. It is a perfect combination of professional with a personal touch that is not overdone or chincy. Each room is individual in its size and style. Very clean, comfortable and they really have thought of every little detail with regard to the service they provide. Architecturally it is beautiful, well set in a quiet location and for the boffins amongst you the frontage was styled (so I was told) by Sir Christopher Wren, as he apparently used to reside there. There are conference and personal Dining room facilities, a cosy bar and a nice orangery style restaurant. Every morning you are greeted with “what can I get you for breakfast sir”. A very bold boast me thought....But on the 4 occasions I have stayed, I have yet to catch them out with my bizzar breakfast requests. A very classy and quiet place. Only one negative (too small to mention) is that you need to drive through a pretty gloomy housing estate to get there. However, once you are on the grounds you get the middle of the country feel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We got married at The Old Rectory on Saturday 25th January 2014 and it was by far the best day of our lives. We couldn't have wished for better service from all of the staff, especially Pam, Mike and Jackie who did their very best to make us and all of our guests feel special. We stayed overnight and the rooms were immaculate and beautiful, and the full English breakfast was so delicious the next morning!
Pam was our photographer and she was amazing; she was extremely polite to all of our guests so everybody was happy to pose when she asked them to. Unbelievably our photos were ready the next morning! We were presented with a beautiful photo book and canvas at 10am, there were also other copies for our family to buy which was really convenient. The photos themselves are amazing, Pam is a true professional.
The house was decorated so beautifully, Pam organised all of our flowers which were fantastic. The food was really tasty and filling, a lot of our guests commented on how wonderful it was and everybody cleaned their plates. We hired The Johnson Brothers to entertain everybody on the evening - they are so talented - they just had two microphones and two guitars and they created such a brilliant atmosphere. They played a mixture of old and new songs (that everybody could sing along and dance to) and the party was amazing because of them. The whole day was just faultless without a hitch and flowed so well. The hotel itself is warm, cosy, immaculate, steeped in history and an ideal venue for a wedding. I highly recommend it to anybody looking to get married we couldn't have wished for a better day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizK84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here again on Saturday night to share dinner with a group of work colleagues. The hotel, which has ten rooms is set in beautiful gardens and is an olde world building with bags of character and very homely. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the owners and staff are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommotomlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Yesterday, sadly, we attended a friends funeral and the Wake was held at The Old Rectory, Redditch. Although I've lived in Redditch all my life and had heard what a delightful place this was, I had yet to visit there. Well, what a pleasant surprise, it is tucked away just off 'the beaten track and reminded me of a small part of'Old England', charming. The inside was absolutely lovely, especially the gorgeous Conservatory where the funeral party was held. The whole setting was perfect, and I immediately though what a wonderful venue it would be for a Wedding, seeing all the Thank you cards on display, it seems that I was right! There were a great many from grateful Couples and their families who'd enjoyed a dream of a day! The staff were excellent,, on hand all the time both friendly and efficient. The Buffet was really good with something for everyone's taste and very tasty, we all agreed. I shall definitely be recommending this charming Old Rectory, (also beautiful setting for Photographs)Quintessentially English...hope I get to visit again very soon,.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TESSY68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Attended the wedding of Susan and Tony Colesbury's wedding, what a beautiful venue and great attention to detail by Pam and Mike that made their day such a success!. They certainly offer a very personal touch far beyond expectations, the food was served with such professional
manner. Congratulations to you and your team, will certainly recommend your hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Joy397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Over recent years Pam, Mike and the staff have helped to arrange different types of events at the Old Rectory ... my father's funeral reception, my mother's 90th Birthday and our Christmas Wedding on 7th December 2013. The location and amenities are perfect for any type of occasion.
My husband and I couldn't have asked for more from all the staff on our Wedding day. Nothing was too much trouble, everyone was so helpful. The old Rectory Hotel is a beautiful period building set in idyllic surroundings. It has a warm, welcoming and homely feel to it. Our guests experienced a cosy drawing room with open fire to relax in, a perfectly decorated conservatory for our Wedding breakfast, excellent food throughout the day with a perfect room for evening entertainment. Our bedrooms had loads of character and personal touches each designed for individual requirements and the following morning received a first class breakfast. Christmas came early for us - Pam and the staff decorated the whole hotel with Christmas trees and lovely seasonal decorations. Thank you so much for making our Wedding day so special. It was perfect and we will never forget the superb hospitality from Pam, Mike, Jackie, and all the staff. Looking forward to popping in soon for tea and cakes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank York111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redditch
1.8 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
2.2 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#3 of 7 in Redditch
2,014 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Wood Norton Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel
#2 of 11 in Evesham
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch
2.3 mi away
Meadow Farm
Meadow Farm
#7 of 7 in Redditch
362 reviews
12.0 mi away
Brockencote Hall Hotel
Brockencote Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chaddesley Corbett
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Rectory House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Rectory House

Address: The Old Rectory Ipsley Lane | Ipsley, Redditch B98 0AP, England (Formerly The Old Rectory Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Redditch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redditch
#3 Family Hotel in Redditch
#5 Business Hotel in Redditch
Price Range: £78 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Rectory House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOUSE Discover our hidden gem and enjoy a truly memorable stay or event experience! The Old Rectory House Hotel is a privately owned quintessential English country house hotel in Redditch. Tucked away in the Heart of England, The Old Rectory House offers a relaxing & comfortable venue for work & play. Our quintessential Elizabethan & Georgian House radiates charm & peace, providing the perfect setting for all family occasions including weddings, christenings, birthday parties and funeral receptions and ideal for conferences, business meetings, seminars, training sessions and team building events. THE ORANGERY Our beautiful restaurant is open Wednesday - Sunday for breakfast, lunch & dinner. Advanced bookings are highly recommended to secure a table as we do get very busy. THE DAMSON COCKTAIL LOUNGE sit back and relax in our quirky cocktail lounge open for drinks 7 days a week. THE GROUNDS Our house sits in the heart of three acres of wooded gardens, with hundreds of plants and trees. Many of our larger trees including the stunning English Oaks, the Portuguese Laurels and the Weeping Ash were planted over 200 years ago. With our very own croquet lawn at the front of the house, its landscape is a perfect setting for picnicking, partying, pampering and pondering, and although it can feel blissfully set apart from the bustle of everyday life, it's within remarkably easy reach of many of the Warwickshire & Worcestershire's most exciting highlights. The team at The Old Rectory House know the estate and area like the back of their hands, so whether you need a recommendation for a picnic spot, directions for a nature walk, or a map for an all-day ramble (marked with the best local pub stops, naturally), just pop into the House for a chat. THE LOCATION The Old Rectory House Hotel is situated within a short drive of many major English tourist attractions including Shakespeare’s birthplace in Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwick Castle, The NEC, Resort World, NIA, The Cotswolds and Birmingham Bull Ring Shopping Centre. It is also a short walk from the Arrow Valley Country Park, a beautiful lake and country park where you can take an easy stroll, have a serious jog around the lake or arrange to go fishing and sailing. Birmingham International Airport, Resort World, NEC & Gentings Arena can be accessed by car within 20 minutes using the M42 motorway network which is 5 minute drive from the hotel. Bicester Shopping Village is only 55 minutes from the Old Rectory Hotel London is only 1 hour 30 minutes by train which makes our hotel a perfect retreat for holiday international tourists. THE HISTORY The Old Rectory House Hotel is probably the best kept secret in the Worcestershire county, it has stood on this site for several hundreds of years and has a wealth of historical connections. The house lies between the original Roman built Icknield Street, which runs along the far boundary, and the monastic carp lakes at the rear of the property. The Doomsday Book lists a building on this site in 1086, during which time Lady Godiva's son was Lord of the Manor. The Great Grandson of Sir Christopher Wren lived in the house for over forty years and made a number of alterations in that time. He completely modernised the original Elizabethan house in 1812 by adding a Georgian facade to the front elevation of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Old Rectory House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rectory Hotel
Old Rectory Redditch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing