We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restaurant review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hogarths Stone Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have often visited the restaurant at Stone Manor over the past 40 years and always enjoyed an enthusiastic welcome, excellent service and good food. On recent visits, following departure/retirement of a number of longstanding restaurant staff, and the arrival of a new restaurant manager, we have noticed a significant deterioration in the standard of service. in our opinion, whilst the food remains at a high standard, the current restaurant manager does not deserve to be employed in the role in such a prestigious restaurant. He has no rapport with his guests nor his staff and appears to continually be flustered - are customers a nuisance to him?.
The sooner that a competent and efficient manager is appointed, the sooner your regular / local clients may return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank barntgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, General Manager at Hogarths Stone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment following your dining experience with us. I have asked for a report in what appears to be a lack of standards in the service on this occasion and whilst it would be unfair for me to comment on an individual member of staff I have taken on board all the information and will investigate further. I will pass on the Chefs your comments regarding the food. I can only apologise if this has spoilt your enjoyment of visiting the BEST WESTERN Stone Manor Hotel I would welcome the opportunity to prove that we wish to provide our all guests with the best standard of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 875 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Lovely stay, food was AMAZING! perfect for a wedding, weekend away or for a business traveller. Only thing was the outdoor pool is under maintanance and it was boiling hot when we were there, would have been nice to use it. The grounds are stunning and would make gorgeous wedding pictures. Well maintained and clean rooms. Staff were friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizibee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, General Manager at Hogarths Stone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your comments following your stay with us. I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and that your meal was particularly good. We are very lucky to be surrounded by our lovely grounds. I can only apologise that the swimming pool is closed but it was only when we started our works to get it ready for the summer that we discovered a large crack had appeared in the pool and under the ground. I will pass on your comments to all our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the BEST WESTERN Stone Manor Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We received an email on a Friday from a hotel booking form ---special offer --- £39 p p one nights accommodation, 3 course dinner, a glass of fizz before the meal and a full English breakfast the next morning-- interested ---yes we were! The room was good, large bed, air con (a must on the hottest weekend of the year) one of the best showers I've used in a long time and staff that were attentive and helpful. The meal was very good and the service was excellent. there were 3 weddings taking place that night as well but the service didn't seem to suffer at all!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junior58_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, General Manager at Hogarths Stone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your comments, whilst your comments were very kind I don`t belive your break was with ourselves. Is it possible that your stay was with another hotel with a similar name? Unfortunately we only had 2 weddings on the one day and we are not currently running that offer.
We would however like to welcome you to the BEST WESTERN Stone Manor Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Although I live in Kidderminster, I must confess it is years since I dined at Stone Manor. Best Western have certainly raised the bar. The food was beautiful with a good choice, service was very prompt and the staff were extremely pleasant and obliging. After our meal coffee was served in the lounge and we were not hurried, the grounds are beautiful to walk around. All in all a really satisfying dining experience, we shall certainly go more often now.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank BillyBigelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, General Manager at Hogarths Stone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Many thanks for your comments following your recent visit to dine with us. I am so pleased to hear of guests that have returned to the hotel after many years. I will pass on your comments to all of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the BEST WESTERN Stone Manor Hotel for what will be many more pleasant visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Beautiful building and location but room was old and tired. I sank a foot down when i sat on the bed, thought the bed must be broke but the other bed was the same! Food was good but after the bad service we received at the restaurant the night before we ordered room service the next night. The meal arrived so much quicker! We had waited one hour for our food the night in the restaurant. We had made reservations and when we told the gentleman at the desk he just waved us in and left us to find a table. One person brought the menus someone else took the order, no one asked if we wanted wine or drinks. No explanation of why our meal took so long to arrive as everyone else around us (who arrived after us) was eating. Food was good but when paying over £100 for a meal for four you expect better service.

Room Tip: Had a leisure break rate. Poor room might be why had cheap rate. Room had a joining room door and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, General Manager at Hogarths Stone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your comments following your stay with us. I am sorry that you feel we fell short of our normal level of service, I can only apologise for what appears to be a lapse in our normal standard. I will certainly look into the delay in sending out you meal on the night you dined in our restaurant. I have noted your comments regarding the bed, which again I will look into.
We would like the opportunity of welcoming you back to the BEST WESTERN Stone Manor Hotel to prove that this was an isolated incident.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Very pleasant stay; staff very helpful and attentive, nice food, good facilities, lovely location and grounds. The bed could have been a bit more comfortable, but possibly because our bed at home is very nice. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, General Manager at Hogarths Stone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your comments made after your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on these to all of our staff. We do like to ensure all our guests are made to feel very welcome. I have noted your comment regarding the bed and will look into this, It can be a little tricky when staying in hotels if the bed is not the same as that at home. Some guests prefer a firm mattress whilst some prefer a soft bed. We look forward to welcoming you back to the BEST WESTERN Stone Manor Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank jonboy467
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
James R, General Manager at Hogarths Stone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone
3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
967 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brockencote Hall Hotel
Brockencote Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chaddesley Corbett
681 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
509 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
15.4 mi away
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Callow End
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hogarths Stone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hogarths Stone Manor

Address: A448 Kidderminster-Bromsgrove Road | Kidderminster, Stone DY10 4PJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Stone Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Stone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stone
Price Range: £61 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hogarths Stone Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Hogarths Stone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hogarths Stone Manor Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing