We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Stockton On Tees
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed 18 June 2011

This hotel is located in its own spacious and well kept gardens on a quiet country lane. The hotel has been recently refurbished and the whole pace is in good order. The room was clean, comfortable and had all the things which you would expect to find in a modern hotel i.e internet, flat screen tv, toiletries etc. The bathroom was clean and a reasonable size. The hotel has a very nice a comfortable lounge area with an adjoining bar and bar meals or sandwiches are available in both areas at a reasonable cost. The restaurant is not too expensive but serves "contemporary food" which means the presentation is nice but the quantity is small. However the food was very tasty and the service excellent although the place was very quiet. There are two pubs within 10/15 minutes walking distance which serve food so there is an alternative to the hotel restaurant for those who like a bigger, cheaper or more simple meal. The staff of the hotel were really nice, very proffessional and very helpful
A big plus is the free use of the leisure facility which comprises swimming pool, suana, steam room and gym and the location which is very close to all the local attractions.

Room Tip: Look for a room at the back away from the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norman28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStourportManor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Thank you for your review, which I think was most informative to fellow guests. I have always believed that getting the facilities right is one thing but more important is achieving the standards of service and friendliness of hospitality. Thankfully you review indicates that this was the case (although I wouldn't pretend to suggest that it always goes right!)

We hope to see you again soon. There's a lot to explore in rural Worcestershire and Herefordshire and, of course, Birmingham city centre is just 45 minutes' drive from here.

Best wishes

Patrick Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    299
    149
    57
    51
See reviews for
193
357
14
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cambridgeshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

A lovely hotel. comfortable, well mintained, clean rooms. heat ing is old so banged and crashed when heating up early in morning but not a problem. Staff were excellent especially reception girls. Breakfast was brilliant so was meals from lounge menu which our elderly parents had delivered to room. Our only complaint is that we were very disappointed with evening meal. only four tables occupied in restaurant. not wanting starters, we waited 40 mins for our main course only to find 3 slices of dried duck and 6 green beans. We were offered a roll but forgot the butter. didn't have the wine we ordered. and the trio cho pud was 3 lumps of choc and a square of choc mouse. Every table received an apology for something wrong. Unacepteble considering price. Hence for the other two nights we found a pub down the road that did a brill carvery for £3.99 and a big bowl of crumble.

Room Tip: lounge menu is better, ample food, cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wakely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStourportManor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Thank you for your review and "definitely visit again" is what we want all of our guests to say!

Although we shouldn't just dwell on the negative, it is by addressing this that we'll meet all of our guests' expectations. We have reviewed your comments therefore about dinner and, whilst there are differences with other guests' comments, I understand your thoughts. You'll understand too that we will not compete with the £6.99 carvery in the local pub (or for that matter the £3.99 carvery), because this comes down to the quality of the raw ingredients and the fact that everything is prepared on site here. We're very particular about choosing top end meats, fish and vegetables. That said, if our chefs aren't preparing our high quality ingredients well enough, that's a poor show. As I've commented to others, we constantly review our food menus and will certainly take on board the comments you've made.

It would be great to see you again here soon and thank you, once again, for your constructive review about Stourport Manor.

Best wishes

Patrick Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Just returned from a weekend break with our 12 year old daughter . We were very impressed with the service and facilities at the Menzies. The bedroom was small it had a double and an extra bed and the decor was modern and clean. We booked a package that included one nights dinner in the restaurant and we were pleasantly surprised at the high standard of the food and choice on the menu. The restaurant was busy and although very short staffed the head waiter was very attentive. The leisure facilities are a bonus it's a really good gym and nice pool . Steam room is a very dated but all in all a good leisure club.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStourportManor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Thank you for writing a review and for such good comments about the hotel and the team here. I've had a look through the handovers and rotas and you are right, we didn't anticipate the high number of guests choosing to dine in our restaurant on the evening you visited. It can sometimes be difficult to predict but I was pleased you were nonetheless left with a good impression.

Food is such a subjective matter and we constantly review menu items but maintaining quality and standards are our key target at all times.

We hope you'll come back again soon and enjoy another visit to Stourport Manor.

Best wishes

Patrick Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We arrived very late the evening, 10pm, and left early again, 9am, so we could not really appreciate all the hotel has to offer.

The staff was very friendly, professional and sharp, the room was very spacious and looked great. The breakfast was great and we really enjoyed it.

The only negative thing I have to say is that the bed was not one of the most comfortable we have slept in on our UK trip.

Overall a good hotel, but I wish we could have experienced more it has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abri_Coetzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStourportManor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Thank you for posting a review, particularly as it was a "whistlestop tour". I was glad that you were left with a very good impression of our standards and service.

With regard to beds, I have been monitoring this and conducted a full audit of the hotel. As this is such a fundamental part of our business, I'm now in negotiations with various suppliers to address this problem, so that on your next visit every aspect will be positive.

In the meantime we do look forward to welcoming you back to Stourport Manor and hopefully you can visit for a few days and discover the wonderful local area. Perhaps keep an eye on our website for special offers.

Best wishes

Patrick Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights from April 26th to the 28th. We only booked the night before we arrived and it was quick and painless and very family friendly (I'd tried 2 other hotels in other locations; one didn't have a family room and the other wanted to charge extra for a cot, but couldn't tell me what the charge would be!)
Firstly I'd like to say that throughout the stay the staff were very friendly and at meal times they were very accommodating of my daughter (as other reviewers have stated, the Irish lady at breakfast was very helpful). The leisure facilities are good and once again the staff are very friendly. Also, a cot with bedding was provided and set up in the room for my daughter.
However, upon arrival the window in our first room (room 8) was not secure and could have been opened from outside (not ideal when in a ground floor room), so I spoke to reception and we were moved to another room (room 14). However, the base of the bed in the next room was broken and we had to move again, this time to a first floor room.
Although we were immediately provided with an alternative family room on both occasions and apologies were made by the person on reception, unfortunately no offer was made to help us to move. As you can imagine, moving bags and a baby twice, plus carrying a cot upstairs is not an easy experience. Also,it would have been a nice gesture if the hotel had a policy of offering a free drink etc to guests inconvenienced by having to move rooms.
If it wasn't for this poor start to the holiday the 3 stars would be 4. However, the remainder of our stay was great.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JNZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStourportManor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Thanks for your review and you're absolutely right, we should have been much sharper when it came to you having to move rooms. In the light of this, we've discussed our procedures and, although we hope that guests having to move rooms happens on very few occasions, our Duty Manager will always be involved. In this way, we could have ensure that everything was selected correctly and I agree that a rewarding drink would have been the solution.

I was glad that otherwise you enjoyed your visit and I do hope that will come back again soon - maybe we could arrange a rather belated bottle of wine with dinner then?!

Once again, thanks for taking the time to post a review

Patrick Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s.wales
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Returned last night from Stourport Manor. Had a very relaxing weekend. Hotel was extremely welcoming from Natasha on reception to Ange the manageress. Hotel was very clean and cosy. Really enjoyed swimming before breakfast, it made eating the all you can eat breakfast buffet a little less guilty. We didn't need to eat again until the evening. The food was very good and there was a children's menu for our daughter.The second night we ate at The Bay Horse Inn just outside the hotel entrance, excellent food in cosy old fashioned surroundings.We asked how to walk into Stourport along the canal and we were given accurate directions, takes about 25 mins at a slow pace. We discovered the Bird in Hand pub alongside the canal. A good stopping point on the way back. Our daughter loved the free wifi which kept her occupied while we chilled.Often you are disappointed when you return to somewhere you have been before. But we weren't and will be returning again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squidicca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStourportManor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
Thank you for such a good review. I tend to agree with you that sometimes places aren't quite as good the second time you visit, so this was all the more pleasing to read. You can be sure that your comments have been passed on to all the staff at the hotel. Not only do I encourage everyone to read online reviews, but I also read them out at our daily meetings. It helps to prove that it's quality, hospitality, standards and service which will build the success of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and, once again, thank you for such a great review.

Kind regards

Patrick Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

My partner and I decided at the last minute to stay in the area and we weren't disappointed with our selection of hotel.
The property is a mixture of a period property with a modern extension. From the outset the staff simply couldn't do enough for you from the receptionist to the cleaning staff. I have got to say whether the friendliness is down to the area of the country or the training and standards set by the hotel, I don't know but it made our stay very special. We enjoyed the spa facilities and the buffet breakfast was plentiful with lots of variety from the selection of fruits, cereals and juices to the cooked selection. We decided not to eat in the hotel on the Saturday evening and ventured literally 5 mins down the road to the Bay Horse pub - oh my god - fabulous, very cheap and again 2nd to none customer service. We had a shared starter, a main meal each, a shared pud and several large drinks!! lol and the total bill was only £36 - my partner had had rib eye steak as a main!!! Both the hotel and pub are highly recommended!! Well done and thank you so much

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amanda0668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStourportManor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
What a review and so long as we carry on delivering our standards and hospitality as well as you described, we'll win a lot more friends. There's nothing more for me to add other than to sincerely thank you for such an excellent review.

We hope you'll visit Stourport Manor again soon,

Best regards

Patrick Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stourport-on-Severn
3.2 mi away
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
2.9 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Kidderminster
Travelodge Kidderminster
#1 of 5 in Kidderminster
380 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor

Property: Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Address: 35 Hartlebury Road, Stourport-on-Severn DY13 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Stourport-on-Severn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stourport-on-Severn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with such a lot to offer the business, leisure and wedding guest. There is a lot of history attached to our Victorian stately home in the heart of Worcestershire. Set within 23 acres of wonderful grounds, the Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor is located 10 minutes from the M5 motorway and has plenty of on-site parking. Along with 72 comfortable bedrooms including family bedrooms, the hotel has lots of great facilities including a brasserie, a bar and lounge now showing BT Sport, a swimming pool, sauna, steam room, spa bath, gym, tennis courts, squash courts and foot golf. The hotel is a stylish wedding venue with capacity for 220 guests, which also has nine meeting rooms with capacity for up to 350 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Stourport Manor Hotel Stourport On Severn
Menzies Stourport Manor On Severn
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor Stourport-On-Severn, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing