We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms. Poor dinner.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great rooms. Poor dinner.”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

huge room. V good staff. Great walk on the moor outside the front entrance.

Poor dinner - avoid the meal deal - DBB. The quality of food was poor & food over cooked.

Highly recommended hotel & thank u for great service & a smart room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EcoFarming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback, so sorry you didn't enjoy the food, next time you stay please see one of the management team to discuss any special requests you have and I'm sure the chef will accommodate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    308
    154
    61
    52
See reviews for
201
382
14
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

It was a depressing November day and I had recently returned from sunny Tunisia. Then the e-mail arrived from the Menzies's Hotels. I came across this small group two or three years ago and ~ I have been impressed as a 'value for money' destination. OK, it wasn't going to be in the sun, but a few days away in the UK after Xmas for a song was too much too resist. I chose this hotel as we used to live in the town. It is 4* and has a pool and from £35 a night for a room was a bargain. I chose between Xmas and the New Year. I added breakfast and dinner for £25 per person. A common denominator in the Menzies group is friendly staff and this hotel was not an exception. The room was on the small side, but with all mod coms and comfortable; the pool could do with a face lift, but is perfectly acceptable, there was adequate parking and as I already knew, plenty of interest in the area. The buffet breakfast was A1, although on the second day, the plates for the full English breakfast could have been warmer. While dinner was OK, I have had better there, but I put this down to the time of year. Whereas the waiting staff were totally acceptable, some members were a little below par (again I put this down to the time of year) and with some training the minor errors (I mean they were of no consequence, but, I expect better from a 4 star hotel) would have been eradicated. However, all-in-all a good stay. However, there is a good pub a few minutes away and next time I shall be investigating that for at least one evening.

Room Tip: The hotel is popular for weddings. I have stayed in the past on a Saturday night and sleep was distu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPA38210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your stay, whilst we are all for promoting the local community, don't go to the pub too often, we serve great bar meals and our drinks prices compare well with the local area. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

A group of us went to the party night on Friday 13th December which we usually do and normally have a fantastic evening. This time we were squashed into the room which had far too many people in it. As for the food the waiters came round with the turkey/beef then we had to wait for 10 mins for the vegetables and another 5 for the gravy but the time we had our meals they were cold and the portions were tiny. Then followed a fight - ok you can't hold the hotel responsible for this however the DJ was calling for security - they didn't have any. They had crammed so many tables in the dance floor was very small and could only fit about 40 people on however there were hundreds of people in the room. Later on there were 2 more fights one in the bar and one outside when the riot police had to come. All in all it was a very disappointing evening and not a scratch on what we normally have there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your review further to attending the Christmas Party last Friday, please accept my apologies for any disappointment with the food and service, portion size I believe to be subjective as we have not had any negative comments in this respect. I am sorry if the food was not hot enough, this is sent straight from the kitchen without delay.

I feel so bad for the guests who came to have a genuinely good time which was ruined by grown adults who have no idea how to behave in civilised society, how proud their family and friends must be!!!

One of our own staff was assaulted by a man who certainly should know better and I'm sad for the people who had their night ruined.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My family and I had Sunday Lunch here today - it wasn't bad value for money - 3 course carvery, with a 'gift' from Santa and a kids disco, but there were a few things lacking which would prevent be doing so again. The room was absolutely freezing as they had the air con on full blast (in the middle of December!) despite asking several times for it to be turned down, it only appeared cooler around desert time.

Starters were a little strange - either tomato and basil soup (which tasted like packet soup) or buffet food - strange pepper salad, coleslaw, prawns, bread rolls or chicken wraps (more like a sandwich bar).

The lunch was fine - meat was lovely, turkey, beef or pork but the veg, stuffing and potatoes were very obviously frozen and then fried/boiled so had little taste.

The kids had a disco, party games with sweetie prizes and a 'gift' i.e. cheap activity book from Tesco from Santa. Signed announced photo's with Santa were £10.00 each or you could take your own with your mobile.......errm, no brainer really!!

Pudding was nice - profiteroles, chocolate fudge cake or lemon pie with ice cream for the kids, waiting staff were a bit half soaked (young kids) with working out who had had what, and spent time wondering around aimlessly with puddings nobody had ordered.

We were asked at the end of the meal whether we would like coffee, we did but wish we hadn't bothered. Not only was it bitter but it hadn't been made clear to us it wasn't included with the meal and we had to pay extra for it - not happy.

Mediocre food which would not inspire us to try the restaurant - half soaked waiting staff and a freezing cold room with a friendly santa and rip off photo opportunity. Shame, not what we hoped it would be. We'd have been better off having lunch at home (with fresh soup and fresh veg) and the kids dancing to MTV.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlemisscantb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your comments, I'm sorry you were disappointed, I think "half soaked" is a little harsh regarding the staff but I appreciate this post may have been written in the heat of the moment. I'm glad you enjoyed the desserts and I hope we gain restore your faith in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here, there were 40 of us. We all enjoyed our stay. When we checked in our room was on the third floor and they had no lift so I requested a ground floor room due to the fact my mum wouldn't be able for the stairs and it was changed without any bother. All staff really polite and helpful. We attended their themed party night for dinner,the meal was lovely. Our room was nice and clean but the heating was on high that we were passing out with the heat. Breakfast was delish and there was plenty choice. All in all I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay and Christmas Party, I'm so pleased you had a great time. I have asked maintenance to look at the heating controls in the room to ensure this doesn't affect future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Picked up a good deal for a one night DBB stay. I would agree with previous comments that the hotel is looking a little tired in some areas but this did not spoil the overall experience. All of the staff were very attentive, the food was of a good standard and the leisure facilities were excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulM101058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on Trip Advisor, it's great to see you enjoyed your stay. Keep checking our website for future offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The guest room was large and comfortable with what looks like a recently refurbished bathroom. Rates were OK and the lounge food of a reasonable quality and price - as was the beer. Staff are welcoming and friendly.
However, who's heard of a 4 star restaurant running out of vinegar? Didn't the GM think of despatching somebody to the local store for a couple of bottles of Sarsons?
Apparently the hotel has just been transferred to Bespoke Hotels and the delivery system's changed. Eye on the ball chaps!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cshale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us last night. Please accept my apologies for the oversight with regard to the vinegar, you are absolutely right, there is no excuse and I have already taken measures to ensure this doesn't happen again. I hope we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stourport-on-Severn
3.0 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
3.2 mi away
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
2.9 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Kidderminster
Travelodge Kidderminster
#1 of 5 in Kidderminster
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor

Property: Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Address: 35 Hartlebury Road, Stourport-on-Severn DY13 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Stourport-on-Severn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stourport-on-Severn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with such a lot to offer the business, leisure and wedding guest. There is a lot of history attached to our Victorian stately home in the heart of Worcestershire. Set within 23 acres of wonderful grounds, the Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor is located 10 minutes from the M5 motorway and has plenty of on-site parking. Along with 72 comfortable bedrooms including family bedrooms, the hotel has lots of great facilities including a brasserie, a bar and lounge now showing BT Sport, a swimming pool, sauna, steam room, spa bath, gym, tennis courts, squash courts and foot golf. The hotel is a stylish wedding venue with capacity for 220 guests, which also has nine meeting rooms with capacity for up to 350 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Stourport Manor Hotel Stourport On Severn
Menzies Stourport Manor On Severn
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor Stourport-On-Severn, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing