We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall - Pretty Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overall - Pretty Good”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

My finance and I stayed here as part of a deal which included an overnight stay plus 2 course evening meal. Although in need of a bit of a spruce up in places, the hotel was very clean and the staff friendly and welcoming. Our original standard double room had a bit of damp and mould that made it smell musty, but we swapped over without any issues and were given a free upgrade to one of the hotel suites. Again, whilst a little tired in places, the swimming pool and leisure facilities were a nice addition to our stay. Our evening meal was excellent - the slow cooked blade of beef was delicious.

My only quibble - there must have been a run on the hot water in the morning, because there was none left for my shower.


The group that owns this hotel should splash a bit of cash on this place - it has the potential to be lovely. Having said that, for the deal we had it did represent good value for money and we would recommend this hotel to other potential guests. We stayed in the main part of the hotel - there is a more modern 'annex'. We didn't see the inside of the latter, but our advice would be to confirm that you are room booked in the original manor building....

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeJayW888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    299
    149
    57
    51
See reviews for
193
357
14
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Had a one night stay here in August. Appeared quiet but it was a Sunday night.
Used the pool & spa facilities - very nice and luckily not too busy. Pleasant staff there whom were chatty, polite and made us feel welcome.

Nice room which was in the new extension. Comfy bed and there was a small annexe which had a sofa bed made up for our 12 year old with his own TV. Needless to say, he was delighted with this. The staircase towards the new extension smelled damp and on looking up, damage was on the ceiling and this was the cause of the awful odour. We managed our cases ok but lots of people may not have done and there was no offer of assistance with our luggage. There is no lift so you have to carry your cases up a staircase. Nice bathroom in our room which was very clean and in very good condition. We were at the back of the hotel and on the Monday morning, there was an awful racket from the laundry lorry collecting all the linen at approx. 8.45am. We were already up but had I not been, I wouldn't have been too amused at all.

We had sandwiches and fries in the hotel bar on Sunday. It was nice but extremely overpriced. Approx £30 for three baguettes and two small bowls of fries. The bar area was very quiet and at these prices, I'm not surprised. The fries were stone cold on arrival which at £2.95 for a small bowl is not acceptable. However the very nice waiter got replacements for us which were lovely. Drinks were also very expensive.
We had breakfast included in our room rate. It was very nice. Not a huge choice of cereals etc. but what was there was fresh and nicely presented.
Good hot buffet & lovely tea / coffee. Breakfast is definitely worth having.
Would visit again but would not choose to have food due to the cost. Check in & out very smooth and well organised. All the staff were very pleasant and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front ideally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights 9th and 10th of August and I was a little unsure what we might get as we had purchased a package ,two nights with breakfast and an evening meal on the first night plus a cream tea on the second day. Well we weren't disappointed ! We received a lovely welcome on Saturday and were very pleased with the room which was bigger than we had expected. The evening meal was lovely as was the reception in the dining room . The grounds provide enough space for a stroll and we used the pool on two occasions. Once again we felt very comfortable using these facilities which were clean and attended by friendly helpful staff.The breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice and good service. The hotel is located near to some lovely walks and we were very quickly walking down a disused railway line joining the canal and then along the banks of the river Severn ,after a lovely ice cream in the very lovely canal basin,watching barges going down through the multiple locks. I see that some reviewers comment on the age and decor, well I must say that as we walked to our room we felt a little concerned however as you can see we had a great time ,spacious clean, and great service throuought our stay ! Oh and after a rather long hike (returning a little later than planned ) we asked for our free cream tea-- a very apologetic member of staff told us that they were out of scones! Would we like cakes instead? Oh no we're on diets and exercise hence the long walks. So off he went and returned with two lovely club sandwiches with salad and frills , we were well pleased ! I think that sums up our stay, well done staff and management you got it right for us x.

Room Tip: Our room was quite large with a small table and a sofa bed so was probably a family room also it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank grahamparker90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here while on a works do. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel could do with some modernisation but was very clean. We both enjoyed our stay and the breakfast in the morning. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Enjoyed stay, food was excellent, staff excellent, rooms were clean, only negative was the room needed a makeover, a little dated and worn, didn't spoil our stay. Close by to Stour port village , lovely shops and gardens

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My Wife and I stayed at the Stourport Manor over the weekend 26th to 29th July 2014 for our wedding anniversary. The hotel is situated a few minutes walk from Stourport on Severn and is located in nice wooded surroundings overlooking the valley.

Overall the stay was very good however there were a few small things that if sorted would make it a better experience. We had booked on a weekend package deal which included bed and breakfat, dinner one evening and a cream tea. We also managed to get an extra night for the same price.

On the whole all of the staff are very polite and helpful except one particular female member who was extremely rude - whilst we were exploring the hotel near the dining room which is next to the main bar she asked me if she could help - fair enough. When I said I was just looking thankyou and waiting for the barman she said that she could serve me - my response was "Oh can you also serve at the bar?" as I thought she was working in the dining room. Her sarcastic response "Yes I think I can I am 25". Not a good start, wish I had said something at the time too shocked. Reception staff were very helpful and went out there way to fulfil all our requests on arrival.

The food both at breakfast and the dinner was good with a reasonable menu choice. Dinner was arranged for night of our anniversary, big thank you to the management for providing free glass of bubbly for our anniversary dinner. Dinner was nearly spoilt by kind genleman who thought it appropriate to remove his footwear and walk around dining room barefoot - his wife/partner then got stroppy when we asked him to put his shoes back on. Manager confirmed that this was against hotel policy and someone should have told him before us - bit late. Buffet Breakfast very tasty and not too busy.

The room was booked as a superior room which incurred a £20 per room per night supplement - unfortunately at the time of the booking we were not aware that room 69 was over two floors - lounge and toilet downstairs and bedroom and wardrobes etc upstairs. Stairs very narrow and winding whcih meant movement difficult. Toilet and upstairs could do with some redecorating as decor is getting old, cracked tiles and broken window. Main issues was no air conditioning or a fan. View not very good as room over looked top of other hotel rooms. Bed very comfortable. If I had known at the time of arrival that the wife had upgraded and it cost £20 per night I would have asked for another room.

The maid kept the room tidy as possible but did not provide enough tea/coffee makings as we had to ask every day for extra - if the hotel know the room is booked for two or more nights this needs to be passed onto housekeeping so that enough supplies are available.

As I have said we still enjoyed our stay despite the little issues above, the hotel is situated in a good location for the Severn Valley Railway at Kiddeminster. Stourport is also a very nice town with an old fun fair. Just a shame that these small issues prevent the hotel being a lot better.

Room Tip: Room 69 is a superior room but does not have a good outlook as you look over building tops. It is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KizzilovesMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I booked a weekend break as a surprise treat to celebrate our anniversary. Decided on Stourport Manor as it was close enough to 'dash' to after work and an area we have never been to before.

I spoke with the hotel before arrival to arrange flowers and wine in our room upon arrival. Check in was extremely efficient and the flowers that the hotel had arranged were beautiful. The room was large, clean and well maintained, although I guess the bathroom will be due for a revamp in the near future.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night as well as breakfast on each of the 2 mornings. The food choice, quality and service was excellent and unrushed despite dining quite late on our day of arrival.

Stourport Manor has excellent facilities with a pool, sauna, spa, steam room, gym and tennis courts for the active ane great relaxing areas with a good selection of books and games.

All in all we had a wonderful weekend and are already thinking of when we can return and explore more of the surrounding area

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stourport-on-Severn
3.2 mi away
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
2.9 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Kidderminster
Travelodge Kidderminster
#1 of 5 in Kidderminster
381 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor

Property: Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Address: 35 Hartlebury Road, Stourport-on-Severn DY13 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Stourport-on-Severn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stourport-on-Severn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with such a lot to offer the business, leisure and wedding guest. There is a lot of history attached to our Victorian stately home in the heart of Worcestershire. Set within 23 acres of wonderful grounds, the Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor is located 10 minutes from the M5 motorway and has plenty of on-site parking. Along with 72 comfortable bedrooms including family bedrooms, the hotel has lots of great facilities including a brasserie, a bar and lounge now showing BT Sport, a swimming pool, sauna, steam room, spa bath, gym, tennis courts, squash courts and foot golf. The hotel is a stylish wedding venue with capacity for 220 guests, which also has nine meeting rooms with capacity for up to 350 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Stourport Manor Hotel Stourport On Severn
Menzies Stourport Manor On Severn
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor Stourport-On-Severn, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing