We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Gamrie in Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
Reviewed 4 April 2009

My husband and I stayed two nights. It is a lovely hotel in a charming rural location. Our room was a good size and was very clean, as was the en suite. The facilities included a gym and swimming pool. The only disappointment was the quality of food and selection in the restaurant wasn't great. The breakfasts were the usual full English option but we had th hang around waiting for the bacon etc. to be replenished. That said, I had a lovely stay and we found it to be good value for money. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gamrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesMorgan, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, 20 May 2009
Thank you very much for your kind review. Please accept my apologies for the quality and provision of food in the restaurant and the delay for bacon in the morning at breakfast. We have now completely overhauled the menu and restaurant operation and we now offer a much larger selection of dishes for starters main courses and desserts. I do hope you will return to try out our new menu!! Thank you again.

Kind regards

Charles Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    276
    142
    51
    50
See reviews for
186
317
14
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

My husband and I stayed for two nights in March. The bar areas are pleasantly decorated and spacious. The food was good at breakfast and the one dinner included in the package but a price of £21.95 per person was quoted by reception if we wanted to eat there the second night. We thought this was expensive, especially as we had read in previous reviews the cost was only £10.00 per person in November.

The room was cold when we arrived as the heating was not on, even though the weather was very cold. When we told reception, we were just told the heating is programmed to come on at 4 o'clock, with no apology for the cold room! The least guests should expect when arriving at a hotel is that their room is warm and welcoming. There were two drawers broken on the dressing table and one light wasn't working. We didn't bother to report these, after reporting the cold room and not getting a good response. During the night we had to put a towel at the bottom of the single glazed window, as it was very draughty!

At breakfast, there was loud music playing and I asked if it could be turned down. I was told it wasn't possible to turn it down and would it be a problem if it was left as it was. The service was very good from the staff but we felt let down by this.

Stourport is not a pleasant-looking town but we enjoyed a trip on the Severn Valley Railway from Kidderminster to Bridgnorth. Having stayed at other Menzies hotels, we don't think we would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wirralean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesMorgan, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, 22 May 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review Menzies Stourport Manor Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed the food at breakfast and then again at dinner. With regards to your comments about the price - we have now changed the menu so that there is no longer a fixed price menu - you can choose to have anything from just a starter to a full three course meal. The price of £10 for three courses was in fact linked to an offer which you could take up if you booked dinner at the time of booking your bedroom.
We now ensure that lights and heating (where appropriate) are switched on in bedrooms prior to arrival, to ensure guests can relax and be comfortable as quickly as possible. Please also accept my apologies for the maintenance issues in your bedroom, which have now been rectified.
Stourport town is continually undergoing re-development, in order that it can become as beautiful and inviting as its neighbours, Bewdley, Worcester and Great Malvern to name but a few.
Thank you once again for your constructive review.

Charles Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2008

We have just returned from a lovely relaxing weekend with friends at the Stouport Manor. The hotel has recently undergone major refurbishments and looks great. We were greeted at Reception by Debbie who was very helpful and friendly, recommening the Severn Tandoori Restauant in Stourport, booking a table for us and sorting out a taxi.
We booked a meal in the restaurant for Saturday night which was superb - a three course meal with coffee for £10.00 per person.
The pool and leisure facilities are very good with the use of Jaccuzi and steam room it was very relaxing.
Overall we had a fantastic weekend and would thoroughly recommend the Stourport Manor

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keentraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2008

We chose this Hotel for its location as we were meeting some friends for the weekend and the fact that Menzies group were offering some great deals. On reading some of the reviews we began to be a little concerned about our choice. However all I can say is all our worries were unfounded.
The hotel has recently been refurbished, all the public rooms and bedrooms were of a very high standard, easily 4* grade and compared favourably with all the other well known chains in which we have stayed. Breakfast was first class, comprising full English and cereals, fruit juices etc all very tasty.
Our package included dinner and although the choice of dishes was not extensive it was well cooked and presented and the service was good. Previous reviews mentioned weddings-there were 2 weddings on the Saturday we were there but at no time was this detrimental to our stay, in fact we felt it added a buzz to the atmosphere.
We and our friends found all the staff friendly and helpful at all times.
This was the kind of country hotel, with open fires and afternoon tea that you dream of finding on a chilly Autumn weekend but rarely do. I would have no hesitation in staying in this hotel in future.

  • Liked — Quality rooms and friendly helpful staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2008

We stopped at the hotel for one night only, wish it had been for longer. The hotel was great, everthing about it was perfect, the room was large and comfortable, all the areas in the hotel were clean and tidy, the meals were good, just one thing in regards to evening meal, we could have done with more vegetables. The leisure facilities were great, especially for our grandaughter, and it was excellent value for money, and we are definately going to go back and stay again.

  • Liked — Plenty of room inthe bedroon, and good facillities.
  • Disliked — Not enough veg on the evening meal
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2008

I organised a party of seventy-four anglers to stay for two nights and we all thought the hotel was excellent. The rooms and food were very good and the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — The friendly, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Detours caused by some rooms being decorated.
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JimEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2008

We booked this hotel for the weekend for our first anniversary it was dissappointing from the outset. When we arrived all the facilities that clame to make the hotel four star were shut. So we vistited their "spa" where i had booked a massage for me and my husband to then get phone call from the called in therapist the night before saying that she was ill and if i wanted to call the other therapist to ask her to come in because she was " in too much of a hurry" to do it her self. We then dicided to vist the pool and steam room, the pool was shut as they we cleaning the pool with chemicals at 4.00pm. We we got the the steam room the machine was taped under the seat with red gaffer tape with no cover over the hole where the steam was coming from therefore when entering the room i burnt my leg of this. I went to reception to report this and the girl on reception said she would take a note of this, she didnt even ask me my name. The bar is overpriced, when we ordered beer this arrived off we took it back and he said sorry but i dont know how to change the barrel he also didnt seem to know what a white wine spritzer was.
When we arrived back home i called the hotel to inform them that i was completely unsatisfied with my stay and the manager was extremely rude and very dismissing of my complaints he's excuse was "well what do you expect if you book over the internet!".

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsklamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stourport-on-Severn
2.9 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
4.0 mi away
Brockencote Hall Hotel
Brockencote Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chaddesley Corbett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
3.4 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bewdley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor

Property: Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Address: 35 Hartlebury Road, Stourport-on-Severn DY13 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Stourport-on-Severn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stourport-on-Severn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with such a lot to offer the business, leisure and wedding guest. There is a lot of history attached to our Victorian stately home in the heart of Worcestershire. Set within 23 acres of wonderful grounds, the Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor is located 10 minutes from the M5 motorway and has plenty of on-site parking. Along with 72 comfortable bedrooms including family bedrooms, the hotel has lots of great facilities including a brasserie, a bar and lounge now showing BT Sport, a swimming pool, sauna, steam room, spa bath, gym, tennis courts, squash courts and foot golf. The hotel is a stylish wedding venue with capacity for 220 guests, which also has nine meeting rooms with capacity for up to 350 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Stourport Manor Hotel Stourport On Severn
Menzies Stourport Manor On Severn
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor Stourport-On-Severn, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing