We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening meal”
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely evening meal with our family, two adults and two children. The food was hot and tasty and came very quickly, although we were there just before that started serving food at 6pm. Very cosy and relaxed atmosphere with friendly staff.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Noreen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

Should have noticed when I booked that there was no car park but that was my mistake. Room 'creaked' a bit as the hotel is so old but that was part of it's charm. I felt that the evening menu may have been reduced as I visited out of season but was ample for an overnight stay. The breakfast was excellent and I would stay again as everyone was so friendly

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stay here when we go to Cheltenham races. Just on way back from a great little break. Ralph's breakfasts can't be beaten and the food he cooked last night was excellent too.. The pizza was amazing.. Always look forward to staying there and will be back in March...... We will follow your progress on Facebook. All the best Andy & Lynne

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wealthwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the swan. Slept well, everything I needed was provided, the staff were helpful and welcoming and the location is superb.
Breakfast was delicious and ample. I stayed for three nights and looked forward to breakfast every morning.
For me the room was too hot but I was able to turn the radiator off and open the window and I'm sure that most people would be glad of the warmth.
My family live locally and we were having a big reunion so I farmed myself out to the hotel to free up some space. I'm very glad that I chose the Swan and would have no hesitation in staying there again or recommending it to friends or family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed one night with friends. Owners very welcoming and friendly. Rooms basic but very comfortable. Tea making facilities plentiful. Could have done with more shelf space in bathroom but that was the only criticism to be made. Our room had a fabulous view of the river. Food amazingly good, best breakfast I've had in ages! There was a Halloween Party and everyone had made such a big effort - fantastic!

Room Tip: Room 3 overlooks the river Severn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I had such a nice time with my elderly mum recently. room so comfortable and she really appreciated the heating in the room. lovely location with nice local shops and easy access to ledbury and pershore. I have also visited with friends for drinks on the waterfront earlier in the year such a beautiful riverside location. staff really lovely, friendly and so helpful. breakfast completely delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karencunningham60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Simply stunning location that retains its historic charm while providing a high standard of services. From the room, to the food to the staff, we were simply blown away at how good the stay was. I doubt anyone would be disappointed staying here. Thank you to the owners, keep up the great work.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton upon Severn
0.1 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Upton upon Severn
154 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
991 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#10 of 10 in Malvern
21 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pershore
623 reviews
5.4 mi away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Tewkesbury
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Address: Waterside, Upton upon Severn WR8 0JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Upton upon Severn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upton upon Severn
Price Range: £69 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the quaint English town of Upton upon Severn, The Swan Hotel with its stunning riverside setting warmly welcomes you to take a break in the beautiful Worcestershire countryside. The 17th Century building offers a tranquil retreat from 21st Century living, with cosy en-suite rooms that combine character and charm with modern day functionality. The Swan Hotel prides itself on it traditional pub cuisine and selection of cask conditioned ales. Centrally located in the Heart of England, The Swan Hotel is an ideal base for both business and pleasure with easy access to the motorway network and the Three Counties Showground, Malvern, Worcester and Tewkesbury all within a 10 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing