We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All these reviews are spot on - what a great place!”
Review of Pool House Retreat

Pool House Retreat
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upton upon Severn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pool House Retreat
London, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All these reviews are spot on - what a great place!”
Reviewed 15 May 2011

My husband stayed here whilst he was working at the Malvern showground, and myself and my two young children joined him for a night- the house is simply beautiful - such comfortable beds, huge rooms, great views of the river, lovely breakfast- and the most memorable element is the exceptional welcome from the hosts, Tia was amazing and so kind, nothing was too much trouble- my children absolutely loved finding the freshly laid hens eggs and enjoyed them for supper when we got home! it's a perfect house for a group of 8 people to hire for the whole weekend, such a treat to stay somewhere so special and very reasonably priced too. my advice is don't hesitate to book a stay here, doubt anywhere around the area is as welcoming and provides such fantastic accomodation for the price.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_UKGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
31
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We stayed at the Pool House Retreat for one night as we were attending a party in the next village. The house is set in beautiful surroundings and Tia & Steve are extremely gracious hosts and very welcoming. We stayed in the Colonnial Suite which was spacious and beautifully decorated. The bed was king size and comfortable. The rooms and House were spotless and we cannot believe that Tia and Steve are able to keep cream carpets looking like they are new. Altough there are not tea and coffee making facilities in the room, this is on demand and is bought to the room whenever you want. The back massage which is part of the package price was lovely.

We were meeting friends in Upton before going to the party and Steve very kindly drove us to the hotel, he also offered to collect us from the next village at the end of our party if we were unable to get a taxi, it is these little extras that make all the difference. The breakfast catered for all tastes, was fresh and could not be faulted. We would recommend the Pool House without hesitation and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britbok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2010

A whole group of friends, with little ones and big ones, all hired the house for the weekend. What an absolute gem of a find. Within close proximity of the town, we found we could walk from the B&B into town (Though would not recommend on many glasses of wine, as it is dark.)
Our hosts were warm and welcoming to all the madness and chaos that we brought in, but so friendly and helpful at all times. We loved the spa treatment that was included and the fresh afternoon tea was AMAZING! What a great stay, beautiful beautiful bedrooms, so luxurious.
For a great weekend for all, little ones, middle ones and big ones, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahjbTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

A wonderful stay at a delightful location for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. A building of superb character in a great location. Our room was beautiful and the service was attentive but not intrusive. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmaldevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

After our second stay stay at the Pool House, we decided that it would be a great place to celebrate our staff Christmas party and our business's 5 year anniversary. Tia was very accommodating with all our requests and gave us a very reasonable deal.
The entire event which included lunch, treatments for everyone, dinner and a night in the fantastic rooms- was a fantastic success and we were very impressed once again with the service and quality of everything.
Thanks for making our celebrations so special.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drewnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrscornishpirate
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We were fortunate to have stayed at the Pool house in a group for our works Christmas do. The house is beautifully finished and well appointed. The hosts were very welcoming and Tia's cooking is lovely. The food was quite exceptional and plentiful. Killer breakfast for our poorly heads the day after the night before! This was ideal for a group of colleagues as we could happily spend the evening in the lounge together. Very comfortable and warm despite the freezing December weather. It is ideally located for Upton with easy access to town and the river. The spa is lovely too. Delightful, will be going again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrscornishpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2010

I stayed at the Pool House for a work's Christmas party and it was fabulous. The venue is beautiful, and they decorated it very tastefully, turning it into the perfect Christmas wonderland. The staff/owners are lovely, and will do anything to help and make you feel welcome. Food was also great, all homemade and very very tasty. The four poster beds very comfortable, and the rooms spacious and classy. Gorgeous open fires and a warm friendly atmosphere throughout. I also recommend booking in for a spa treatment and getting the most out of the facilities. I can't say enough to praise it and do it justice. It's was a day and night to remember, and I'd hope to return there again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Touffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton upon Severn
3.8 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
0.5 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#1 of 2 in Upton upon Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton upon Severn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Star Inn
The Star Inn
#2 of 5 in Upton upon Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bluebell Farm
Bluebell Farm
#5 of 5 in Upton upon Severn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pool House Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pool House Retreat

Property: Pool House Retreat
Address: Pool House Hanley Road, Upton upon Severn WR8 0PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Upton upon Severn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Upton upon Severn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Queen Anne Country House beside the banks of the River Severn. All rooms feature four-poster beds and ensuite bath and shower. Why not have afternoon tea on the lawn or pamper yourself at our on-site Spa. A short walk from the town of Upton and close to the wonderful Malvern hills. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing