We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Location.."perfection"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pool House Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upton upon Severn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pool House Retreat
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Location.."perfection"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Stayed here with my wife & daughter for a family wedding nearby at Birtsmorton Court. the Pool House is a credit to its owners.set on the banks of the river severn.lovely gardens,lovely setting & great hosts who make the stay even more delightful. who cannot do enough for you,& make you feel at home. It felt like we were staying with friends..would love to go back again some day

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkMasterson1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
31
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

A lovely room, in a beautiful house, set in lovely riverside gardens, with perfect hosts, all made for a memorable stay. I would strongly recommend this establishment to anyone looking for something really special.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ordk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This year we had no special reason to return but our past experiences had been so enjoyable that we decided to book in just for a couple of nights away. I think I've said as much as I can about this location but the delight continues and if anyone wants a relaxing break then this is the place. Since we had nothing in particular to celebrate on this visit we took the opportunity to have a stroll into Upton Upon Severn. It's about 10 minutes walk into the center and we found it a charming place. Tia can give you some up to date advice on local restaurants but we decided upon al fresco. With two bags of fish and chips we went to the riverside and they have certainly transformed it since last year. With the new flood defence system completed there are some charming garden areas with lovely views of the river and plenty of seating to just sit and watch the water and boats go by. We then had two glasses of very nice wine at one of the riverside pubs followed by a slow stroll back to our most excellent accommodation.

Room Tip: As I've said before, if you can get a river view but my wife has looked at all the rooms and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmaldevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balcombe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed recently with friends to attend a local wedding. We needed a six-seater taxi. Having been let down by one firm,Tia went to great lenghths to secure an alternative. Such attentiveness was typical. We had a delightful stay in a beautiful location.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank john i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

My daughter and I stayed here on a birthday trip, using both the spas facilities and the house to accomodate us overnight. This was a lovely treat and we were made very welcome. Had an enjoyable nights sleep and a sumtious breakfast the next morning. Tia and Steve are lovely people and I felt they truly do care about their guests and their experience staying in their lovely home.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FinFinalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We chose to stay here while visiting Worcestershire and this was based largely on the reviews given on this site. We were definitely not disappointed! What a beautiful house, gorgeous room, excellent hospitality, wonderful massage! Steve and Tia are perfect hosts - friendly but inobtrusive and we instantly felt at home. We will certainly be returning in the near future. Thank you for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oak Suite which was beautiful but we did not see the others to be able to compare o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichandSheena_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Our second visit to this wonderful retreat. This time for a birthday with champagne by the river and a relaxed evening meal with lovely food and fine wine. There was nothing to criticise and nothing was too much trouble. Felt relaxed and treated as really welcome guests. Cannot praise Pool House too highly.

Room Tip: Oak suite and Blue suite overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmaldevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton upon Severn
4.8 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Wood Norton Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel
#2 of 11 in Evesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
5.4 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Old Street B & B
Old Street B & B
#1 of 6 in Upton upon Severn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pool House Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pool House Retreat

Property: Pool House Retreat
Address: Pool House Hanley Road, Upton upon Severn WR8 0PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Upton upon Severn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Upton upon Severn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Queen Anne Country House beside the banks of the River Severn. All rooms feature four-poster beds and ensuite bath and shower. Why not have afternoon tea on the lawn or pamper yourself at our on-site Spa. A short walk from the town of Upton and close to the wonderful Malvern hills. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing