We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break for couple”
Review of White Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Lion Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“weekend break for couple”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

What a great relaxing break we had, hotel room was clean and plenty of room.
We had room 108 (twin courtyard room).
No stairs to climb and a few steps from the car park, good if you have heavy bags
to carry.
Staff very friendly and efficient.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    43
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
54
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My father booked a meal for 12 of us for his 80th birthday, the staff at the hotel were all fantastic nothing to much trouble, we decorated the table as a surprise and they were very helpful. On arriving that night they had reserved us seats in the lovely comfy lounge and had decorated the tables with 80 confetti, what a lovely touch and now for the food it was out of this world everything we ordered was cooked to perfection from steak to duck. The starters were tasty and the puddings were melt in the mouth. I can't wait to return to eat here again. ABSOLUTLEY FAB

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Having attended the Upton Jazz Festival over the weekend, we wandered into town on the last night and walked into the White Lion at 20.00 hours 'on spec' to see whether food might be available. Being very civilly greeted, and ushered to a table (the place seemed to be very busy but we were welcomed with no delay) and the full menu was still available.

A good quality meal, well cooked and presented, with very attentive service and no indication that we should 'move on', despite the fact that other last minute diners were requesting meals, and well worth a visit. Although we didn't check, it may be a good place for a weekend stay during one of the many Upton on Severn Festivals!.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Meal with friends cosy friendly atmosphere not rushed helpful and willing to please staff.
Excellent good quality food fresh and cooked to order. If I had to criticise more vegetarian choices could be introduced.
Parking at the rear in case u are new to upton upon Severn.
Wine list reasonable and good ales.
Very comfy chairs / seating in the dinning room.
We will return.


Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domaso, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

It's the second time I'm going there and I found it adorable as it's. Traditional Hotel with Pub and Restaurant at high level.
Family management
Food have not a great selection, but what is available it's rellay good, great flavors combination and nice presentation transforme a simple dinner in a really special event.
Pub connected allow to wait the dinner and talking with local people mixing with them and knowing their story.
Absolutely suggested and I will bring also my wife next time.
Rooms are little but confortable in this old house from 1510. Fantastic

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikinTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I used the hotel for business and I would rate this as a below par 3 star hotel. Whilst the food is good served in a nice restaurant with a comfortable bar area area the rooms are a let down. Firstly they are very small and the bed was uncomfortable possibly due to a cheap mattress and flat old pillows. The room was reasonably clean but the cleaner had only cleaned around things leaving dust etc on skirting etc. The Wi Fi was useless in the room which is frustrating when trying to work
and send emails I wish I could say something about Breakfast but this was very bland and disappointing.

I accept the hotel is old but it has no atmosphere and could be easily improved with just a few tweaks.


  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philandmandy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times now on business, the staff are very friendly and the food is lovely. My room was clean, tidy and very comfortable. The bar area is very nice and serves some nice real ales.

The price was very reasonable, cheaper than so called budget hotels

Will definitely stay again

Steve Derham

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton upon Severn
0.1 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton upon Severn
184 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
927 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Tewkesbury
511 reviews
6.1 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
5.8 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Malvern
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lion Hotel

Property: White Lion Hotel
Address: 21 High Street, Upton upon Severn WR8 0HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Upton upon Severn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upton upon Severn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — White Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lion Hotel, Upton Upon Severn, Worcestershire. Dating from 1510 the hotel offers award winning cuisine, bed and breakfast and comfortable accommodation in the heart of this lovely riverside town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing