We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Restaurant in Bury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jewel In The Crown

Jewel In The Crown
Ranked #79 of 360 Restaurants in Bury
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bury, Lancashire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant in Bury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I've been going in to the Jewel in the Crown for about five years now and I've never had a bad meal there. The food is very tasty and reasonably priced, the staff are all very friendly, and it's nice to see the manager walking around and engaging with the customers whilst they're waiting for their meals to be cooked. If you like Indian cuisine and you're in the Bury area this is the place to head to.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    52
    21
    15
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Favourite curry house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Jewel is a family favourite and we always try to go once a month for our curry 'fix'. Staff are lovely, friendly and very accommodating. Never had a bad meal there and I've had my fair few!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheesedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Wasn't that impressed. Given fre poppadoms and offered free spirits which I assume was to make up for the average food. Lamp chop starter was awesome but the fish tikka was dry. Mixed grill wasn't anything special. Not bad as fuel but nothing more.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Would_I_Go_Back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Food ok, wait to be served unacceptable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

I have visited this place a few times, and always vowed never to return, however I found myself there again. The food this time was good and no complaint with the food, however the service was unacceptably slow. The table was booked for 20:30 we arrived on time and we shown to our table, then totally ignored until 21:30 when they brought some popadoms and chutney and took our orders, it was then almost an hour before our starters arrived and 23:00 before we were tucking into our mains. Very poor

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank d19mes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
176 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very good Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

A really nice place for Indian food. We had a very good dinner at the place with authentic Indian food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noid42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jewel In The Crown also viewed

Bury, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 
Bury, Greater Manchester
 
Bury, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Jewel In The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing