We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of The Red Lion hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Red Lion hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Bury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have just returned from The Red Lion after a two night stay including a birthday meal for a friends 60th birthday. It was wonderful, with the accommodation, food and service all first class. The staff, led by the marvellous husband and wife management team, could not have been more welcoming, friendly and efficient. The rooms are very comfortable and the food served including our dinner and breakfast were delicious. Many thanks and we will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fran008Birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable 4 night stay at the Red Lion, which is located in the Village of Hawkshaw, north of Bury and about mid-way between Bolton and Ramsbottom.

My room was comfortable, spacious and in immaculate condition. It was a pleasure to stay in rooms where you can walk around the bed without banging into other things, even when my suitcase was against the wall on the folding trestle. There are also facilities to make tea and coffee which are replenished daily. I slept very well in a very comfortable double bed which wasn't too soft. The bathroom was equally spacious.

There was a nice atmosphere in the bar where 4 of J.W. Lees’ hand pumped draught beers were available and all were in excellent condition. My favourite was the MPA (Manchester Pale Ale). The friendly bar-staff were very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about all the drinks on offer.

I ate in the pub restaurant each night. The food was very tasty with good portion sizes, I must say that the staff were brilliant and able to give recommendations and were always smiling.

Breakfast each morning was cooked to order, the Bury black pudding was notably good.

This Red Lion represents the best in accommodation, good food and great beer at a very reasonable cost. I cannot recommend this pub highly enough.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Impudicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Bedroom clean spacious with a large bathroom.Service very good, staff welcoming and at a very busy time searched for mislaid property. A good choice of well presented food. A full English breakfast included.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMAC502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Visited on 28th for a meal with mum and dad who stayed over as they live in Disley and mum has been unwell. The bedroom they were allocated was fabulous very clean and spacious. Our meal in the restaurant was great , staff always attentive , food great. Atmosphere very friendly , and a great place to take friends and family. Credit to the management for running such professional ship. Great experience, we will be back in January for another meal.

Tracey Hamblet

Room Tip: Penthouse as it has a double bed with a curtain across with a further two single beds which would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traceyhamblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We are staying here for 2 nights and the room is superbly comfortable with a great bathroom, lovely furnishings and a fantastic bar and restaurant downstairs. We have stayed here several times before an the service has always been excellent. Good value for money and highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Grania2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

A lovely welcome by efficient and friendly staff. The rooms are all themed and decorated to a high standard, good quality toiletries. I particularly liked the fact that the room facilities had been thought through, the furniture, mirrors, chairs and electrical sockets were in the right places. A particular problem for a frequent traveller is sufficient and easily accessible sockets to charge phones, laptops etc not to mention a comfortable area to plug your hairdryer in. Attention to detail makes all the difference.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and l have eaten here on many occasions without any complaints . The staff are very professional, friendly and very efficient. We have to travel about 8 miles for the privaledge of eating here. The menu is varied and good quality well prepared.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoulashburyLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury hotels
2.8 mi away
Best Western Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel
4.9 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Travelodge Bury
Travelodge Bury
#7 of 7 in Bury
224 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club
1 mi away
Loe Lodge
Loe Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hawkshaw
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion hotel

Address: 81 Ramsbottom Road, Bury BL8 4JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bury
Price Range: £88 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Lion hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Red Lion hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Bury, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing