We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Guest House
Ranked #4 of 9 Bury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed here a couple of nights a week for 5 weeks and had the nicest time, I didn't want to go home! The rooms were great the welcome warm and both Helen and Russ very accommodating. Whilst working in Bury I stayed at a few establishments but when I finally found the Castle it was such a relief and I would now never stay anywhere else. Thank you Helen and Russ, and the dining room isn't tiny, its lovely and just the right size for the rooms you have!!! :) xx

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trixie7018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    17
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
22
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed here with a group of American college students and Riss and Helen could not have been nicer. When we drove up the neighborhood seemed a bit sketchy, but the welcome we got put us immediately at ease. Our arrival was managed well, the rooms were clean and well decorated, and the breakfast was freshly cooked and tasty. The dining area was a bit tiny and we had to eat in shifts. However, when we had an early departure to catch a plane a buffet breakfast was laid out for us and was much appreciated. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: The downstairs twin is lovely, but the owners are regularly reviewing the rooms and their standard o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Have stayed here a couple of times while working in Manchester. A little off the main drag at Bury but rooms are clean and of a decent size and owners very pleasant and helpful. More than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhinos2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

the welcome and the service is excellent. the room was large enough for four and well maintained with nice decor. the guest house is clean. the breakfast was ample. overall excellent monetary value. would be more than happy tostay again

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madhouseatwhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Well what can I say, this Guest House is one of the best I have stayed in, the hosts was very nice and friendly and the service I had was second to none, Helen and Russ was so friendly on my arrival. I stayed in the Guest House for the Manchester Pride 2013. The room was fantastic, and the breakfast was very nice and well presented, there was nothing to fault about this place, and I would definitely recommend it to family, friends and anyone else. Well worth the money. I will definitely stay there again.
Thank you Helen and Russ for making me welcome.

Room Tip: All the rooms was nice and comfy, to what I saw of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whiteoak34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Newly renovated to an excellent standard, this guesthouse really was like our home while we stayed. Russ and Helen offer such a warm welcome, nothing being too much to improve our stay, we felt fully at home. There was even the individual personal touch of a handwritten note to each room to remind all guests that the clocks went back! Rooms are clean, breakfast is individually cooked and delicious, there's a car park next door and Bury town centre was only a £2 taxi ride away. My fiancée and I stayed while finalising plans for our wedding, she stayed while having her dress fittings and we're using the guesthouse for our guests at our wedding. We'll stay here every time we come to Bury.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aljezur, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My whole family just stayed for the weekend for a family party, beautiful rooms and excellent facilities Russ and Helen went the extra mile to make our stay very comfortable, even mending a tear in my granddaughters outfit! Nothing was too much trouble for them and I would recommend anyone to stay here. The breakfast was excellent and just what was needed after a party lol. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: All rooms were equally good no outside noise and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taraha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel
0.9 mi away
Best Western Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel
3.1 mi away
Red Hall Hotel
Red Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walmersley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Mill Hotel, Ramsbottom
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Prestwich) Hotel
1.4 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Guest House

Property: Castle Guest House
Address: 7 Wellington Street, Bury BL8 2AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bury
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Castle Guest House Bury, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing