We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no night porter cover” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“no night porter cover”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Despite the majority of the staff being great, having both of our nights sleep disturbed by drunken squaddies, the lack of response from the night porter phone number made us wonder about guest safety and emergency situations. The receptionist in the morning was apologetic but couldn't explain why the situation was allowed to carry on for up to an hour both nights.
Evening restaurant food was average, it had been a lot better on previous stays.
breakfast was advertised as up to 9.30 a guest arrived at 9.25 to be told the chef had packed up, seemed harsh! Expecially as it was very good.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jwb1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-Asher-Taylor, Manager at BEST WESTERN Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
I am glad that you found the majority of the staff helpful and I am glad you found the breakfast very good. We are making sure that when a guest comes down for breakfast at 9.25am they will recieve a breakfast. In regards to the RAF solders, we have written to their commanding officer to inform him of how disgraceful and inconsiderate their actions were. I do hope that you will come and visit our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    165
    115
    52
    32
See reviews for
122
162
15
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Well where to begin, after a couple of previous experiences at this hotel from when I used to live locally I suggested myself and my parents stay here for a weekend while visiting my 3yr old who would be staying with us in the hotel, the hotel itself is warm and welcoming with the attached sporting facilities excellent for what we needed, the first night at about 3am we were awoken by a group of younge lads shouting swearing and banging on their door as they had returned without their keyholder! after trying to call the night staff, for 45 minutes to no avail I went once my daughter had woken and told them to shut up which they did, the second evening again, at 3:30 am the same idiots wake everyone up drunk banging swearing shouting only this time after a hour trying to call downstairs with a crying child I just put the tv on for her and watch tv! at 5am they quieten down and can get her to sleep! In the morning it emerges that this group of lads had infact managed to vomit throughout reception and carry on causing havoc with no interuption it seems because they were RAF employees out of wokingham! (possibly why the night staff were nowhwre to be found when we all called down!)

all in all it completely ruined the weekend and what we were hoping was going to be a wonderful weekend with my daughter!.

staff (other than the inept night chap) were lovely, apologetic, and tbh the fact they were so good at there jobs was the only reason we stayed after the first night!
in closing we will not be returning and instead opting to stay at the the village hotel in bury!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-Asher-Taylor, Manager at BEST WESTERN Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
I sincerely apologise for the disturbance that was made by the RAF soldiers, we have written to their commanding officer to explain how disgraceful and inconsiderate they acted while they stayed at our hotel. I do hope that your daughter was feeling ok the next day and not too grumpy. I also hope you will visit us again and give us a chance to make amends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bury hotels

Cornwall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Outstanding Hotel,with Top Class Leisure Facilitie's.Would NOT Hesitate to return.Hotel Grounds are incredible and Staff are Extremely HelpfulThe leisure Centre has two Top Class indoor Pools ,Numerous Spa Jacuzzi's a Steam Room a Sauna.It also has an Enormous Gym Fitness Area.Withjout Doubt the largest I have ever seen or been in.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Terence O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights between Christmas and new year and really enjoyed our short time there.. We especially loved the leisure club with the saunas and jacuzzis and swimming pools! The room was clean and loved the big bath!
Bar prices a tad expensive but
Overall a brill stay

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.E.lincolnshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The hotel is a little dated, the restaurant / breakfast area was really nice. A special mention to Sarah who served our breakfast, she was really kind & helpful. Gave us some great local advice for places to visit with the children. We visited them all and had a great day, thank you. She went above & beyond, the reception staff by contrast were a little less interested. The pool is a few minutes walk across the car park which I didn't realise from the website. Can only use the smaller pool with children, but it was good. The rooms was cosy a little small for a family of 4. Could do with coat hooks and more storage in the bathroom, no shelves to put your stuff. The bar staff were really friendly and it was a pleasant area to relax & have a drink.
Can't say it was a child friendly hotel though as advertised on the website. There was no sign or mention of the FAB free welcome pack, no kids activities, ice cream was a bowl of vanilla, no choice of flavours, sprinkles, etc... There was nothing at all for the children to do fortunately ours were happy running around - annoying the other guests !!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarefootAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We got B & B for only £34 in total for 2 of us per night (Friday & Saturday) on the Best Western Winter offer, so I was a bit sceptical about what to expect. But I was pleasantly surprised, it's a nice place, room was clean, a bit dated, but all worked ok. Dinner was not great, but not bad either, pretty average. Breakfast was better though, with a good selection & tested good.
Would I stay again, yes, to be honest at that price it's a bargain!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Mollys_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We booked this really last minute and drove up from Suffolk on the same day for a 2 night stay. We arrived about 20 minutes before the restaurant closed but no problems. The service and food was lovely and just what we needed after a 5 hour drive! (Ann, the restaurant manager was lovely) Breakfast was a cold buffet with a hot breakfast delivered to your table. Again we couldn't fault it. The quality of food and service is great. As much as you want too. Cereals, toast, pastries, fruit etc. We didn't have time to use the spa unfortunately but it seemed to be popular. The only downside is that the rooms are perhaps in need of a refurb. We were comfortable and warm etc but it all looked a little tired and dated although clean. We took our 2 small dogs too and they told us they loved it :) Our remote control was missing which reported and got one delivered within 10 minutes. Nothing was too much trouble and service was always with a smile. The staff here are a credit to their management.

Room Tip: For us 35 was good. Far enough away from reception so no noise and at the back so no traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel
2.6 mi away
Red Hall Hotel
Red Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walmersley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Mill Hotel, Ramsbottom
4.1 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Prestwich) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel
Address: Walshaw Road, Bury BL8 1PU, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Bolholt Hotel & Leisure Club)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolholt Country Park Hotel, Bury, set in 50 acres of lakes and natural beauty on the edge of Manchester and situated within easy reach via excellent transport links allowing guests to explore the beauty of the Irwell valley, sample the delights that the newly regenerated Bury centre has to offer or the Trafford Centre. An excellent leisure facility is available to all our guests benefiting from two indoor heated pools and a state of the art gymnasium. We also free parking and upon entry you will greeted in a warm and friendly manner. Why not sample our delicious and mouth-watering menu whilst you enjoy our hospitality. We look forward to your stay and hope you enjoy your time with us at the Bolholt Country Park Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bury
Bury Best Western
BEST WESTERN Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing