We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bury
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel on Saturday 22nd February because we were in the north on a visit with family in Bury. The bedroom was very presentable, spacious and clean. I was disappointed that being part of the Best Western Group (lavender hotels) they didn't have any complimentary lavender spray in the room nor any hair conditioner, but the whole place was charming and quirky, the staff very friendly and helpful.
Our breakfast was delicious and nothing was too much trouble. I asked if it was possible to have a poached egg rather than the fried or scrambled on offer and it was cooked to perfection. The dark haired lady who served us was very friendly, efficient and professional. The leisure facilities were superb, very well equipped gym and 2 pools. Sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Lovely changing rooms with efficient hair dryers, spin dryer and complimentary cotton wool balls and buds. The only thing for me that lets it down badly is that the leisure facilities are in a separate building a short walk away. We would consider staying again and hope that the small detail can be addressed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    178
    120
    55
    32
See reviews for
128
170
15
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This hotel is charming, set in green grounds with a small lake, and excellent value for money. Most guests seemed to be men travelling on business.

I found the breakfast to be pretty good, certainly well served.

As far as I can can see this is the best hotel for miles around, and I wouldn't stay anywhere else when I'm in the area. And it's a really quiet place, well back from a minor road, so I always get a good rest there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uktraveller t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleckney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed for a few days whilst visiting relatives, room was comfortable and clean, the view from the window wasn't great, but we were hardly there so it didn't matter. Breakfast on Sunday was fully buffet, the hotel was almost full, the other two mornings the hot food was ordered and everything else was help yourself the quality and choice was great. If you get chance try and use the leisure facilities, my husband and son were very impressed.
Parts of the hotel are having work done but we were lucky and had a room at the other side. Would definitely stay here again.
The staff were all friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suerocks_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The hotel staff were excellent- very helpful as was the owner. I frequently stay in hotels in the Best Western group, which is my preferred choice. The setting was lovely and I will use this hotel again in the future for both business and personal stays.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Oh dear.

This hotel seems to be a collection of old worker houses bolted together to create a hotel. The entrance of the hotel is hard to find (Sat Nav will send you round the back with no access) and being poorly signposted, you'll probably find yourself driving round various car parks for 10 minutes before finding the right path! The hotels location is also quite drab and nowhere near as pretty as the photograph's make out; but you cant blame the hotel for its dreary surroundings I guess.

My room (66 if I remember correctly) was rather tired; not dirty, just old fashioned with a large unstable 4 poster pine bed (which had I have brought my better half, probably wouldn't have lasted the night without collapsing!) Sheets were clean though and I had a good nights sleep other than being awoken at 7.30am by a man outside with a large sledgehammer knocking the wall below my window down. Now I don't know about you, but if I was running a hotel, I wouldn't be having workmen with sledge hammers smashing concrete up outside peoples rooms at 7.30am in the morning! I took pictures of this for a later complaint!

Down at breakfast service was quick; but I have to say, being given just 1 sausage which was charcoal (and obviously re heated) underneath, with 2 rashes of bacon and the mushy dregs of a baked bean tin, didn't constitute a great breakfast.

Luckily I was staying here on a work trip; but had i have paid £85 out of my own pocket, I would have been sorely disappointed! Would I stay here again? Unfortunately not, however close it may be to my business visit, I would rather find somewhere more modern and less Faulty Towers. Sorry :o(

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chadley_chad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-Asher-Taylor, Manager at Best Western Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
I am sorry you found your stay disappointing we are currently investing heavily in the hotel, and we still have lots more changes to be made. The noisy work will be completed by the beginning of march. I hope you do change your mind and come back to visit us when we have revamped the hotel.



Yours Kindly

J Asher Taylor

Bolholt Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bury hotels

Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Despite the majority of the staff being great, having both of our nights sleep disturbed by drunken squaddies, the lack of response from the night porter phone number made us wonder about guest safety and emergency situations. The receptionist in the morning was apologetic but couldn't explain why the situation was allowed to carry on for up to an hour both nights.
Evening restaurant food was average, it had been a lot better on previous stays.
breakfast was advertised as up to 9.30 a guest arrived at 9.25 to be told the chef had packed up, seemed harsh! Expecially as it was very good.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jwb1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-Asher-Taylor, Manager at Best Western Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
I am glad that you found the majority of the staff helpful and I am glad you found the breakfast very good. We are making sure that when a guest comes down for breakfast at 9.25am they will recieve a breakfast. In regards to the RAF solders, we have written to their commanding officer to inform him of how disgraceful and inconsiderate their actions were. I do hope that you will come and visit our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury
2.2 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
2.6 mi away
Red Hall Hotel
Red Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walmersley
488 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Bury
Travelodge Bury
#7 of 7 in Bury
201 reviews
4.1 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,611 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel

Property: Best Western Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel
Address: Walshaw Road, Bury BL8 1PU, England (Formerly Best Western Bolholt Hotel & Leisure Club)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolholt Country Park Hotel, Bury, set in 50 acres of lakes and natural beauty on the edge of Manchester and situated within easy reach via excellent transport links allowing guests to explore the beauty of the Irwell valley, sample the delights that the newly regenerated Bury centre has to offer or the Trafford Centre. An excellent leisure facility is available to all our guests benefiting from two indoor heated pools and a state of the art gymnasium. We also free parking and upon entry you will greeted in a warm and friendly manner. Why not sample our delicious and mouth-watering menu whilst you enjoy our hospitality. We look forward to your stay and hope you enjoy your time with us at the Bolholt Country Park Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bury
Bury Best Western
Best Western Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing