We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Quick Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leckenby's

Leckenby's
Ranked #12 of 360 Restaurants in Bury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$9
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are an English Tearoom situated in the heart of Burys Millgate Shopping Centre. We provide a full waitress service and we serve anything from light snacks to a three course meal and we specialise in Afternoon Tea. We serve a wide selection of loose leaf tea and freshly ground coffees as well as a range of alcoholic beverages including Champagne and Prosecco. We have a children's menu as well as several Gluten Free options on our main menu.p
Leyland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Quick Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Most pleasant ambience, well presented excellent food, very fair prices and all complemented by outstandingly pleasant and attentive staff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    65
    20
    5
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Number 2 in Bury?? Has some good points but overall just average.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Visited for lunch/afternoon tea, on the strength of the TA rating and several 'excellent' reviews. It is a pleasent enough place and the service was good, if a little protracted, on a quiet Wednesday afternoon but reviewers who rate the place as excellent must be inexperienced and create an expectation that is unrealistic. In my view the correct rating is average.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank junipeross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“pure class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

this restaurant is stunning and a touch of pure class that is unequalled in bury or any other restaurant...
the staff match the quality of this venue with politeness and care that is a refreshing change from the fast food outlets and cafes of todays standards.
what ever their pay is isn't enough as they are worth their weight in gold.......

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank navaster t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Leckenbys Tea Rooms Bury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I took two friends to Bury for a shopping trip ,And was wondering where to take them for lunch,as up until now not found anything really nice. I must say what we had here was lovely two of us had fish cakes served with salad and one had soup and a sandwich. Everything was lovely and nicely presented. the lady welcoming you in and all the staff did an excellent job. Having worked in catering myself i appreciate good food nicely presented. JW

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very nice all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

A friend told me about this little gem in Bury very classy and well presented tea rooms . All round excellent service and selection . Staff were first class very well run will visit again

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leckenby's also viewed

Bury, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 
Bury, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Leckenby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing