We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slightly high in price, but very nice”
Review of Stone's Cafe Bar

Stone's Cafe Bar
Ranked #4 of 382 Restaurants in Bury
Price range: US$1 - US$26
Cuisines: Cafe, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are situated approximately a mile outside of Bury,opposite Fairfield Hospital. There is free customer only parking for up to 12 cars at the rear of the property. Cash, debit cards and most major credit cards accepted. We serve a range of meals including breakfast, lunch, Sunday roasts, main meals, hot & cold buffet (in house or off site). Vegetarian and gluten free options available. Also hot and cold beverages including coffees, teas and alcohol.All the food is freshly prepared, and there are a sele ction of home made food cakes & Afternoon Teas (Traditional, Prosecco & Hot)
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“slightly high in price, but very nice”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Fojnd Stones after taking a client on a hospital appointment. Decided to stop and have lunch. Staff very nice saw us to a table, ordered in good time, and plesant service. Ordered Jacket with Steak and Onion, which my client said was lovely, and Im on somewhat of a clean eating diet, which inwas quite limited for choice. Selected the Olive, Hummus & Feta sharing board, which was perfect portion for 1 person, slightly pricey, and would have expected more had I been sharing it. Lovely all the same. 2 Cherry bakewell tarts for dessert, very nice. Presentation of food great, spotless inside & toilets, would recommend :-)

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Owner at Stone's Cafe Bar, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding customer service, presentation, food, overall cleaniness of the restaurant and toilet facilities. We pride ourselves in setting high standards here at Stone's.

With regards to your comment "slightly higher in price" for the sharing starter of mixed olives and hummus platter. A lot of our customers actually comment that the portion size is good value, at £6.95 for 2 people to share as a starter or for one person as a main course.

Thank you for posting a photo of the mixed olives and hummus sharer platter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    43
    16
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb service at Stone's!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit to Stone's and we enjoyed it as much as the first visit!
Amazing homemade tortillas definitely would recommend as a starter to share!
Perfect club sandwich beautifully presented with gorgeous home made chips!
Desserts to die for! Creme brûlée like I've never tasted.
Visit Stone's you won't be disappointed the staff can't do enough for you. We'll be back!!!!!!

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Owner at Stone's Cafe Bar, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you again for your lovely comments. It is a pleasure to serve you and your family when you visit us.

We are proud of our home cooked food. I have passed your comments onto our Head Chef, Hayden for the tortillas and club sandwich. I personally want to thank you for your lovely comments about my crème brûlée.

We look for to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sue - Brilliant”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Another great time at Stones. Eaten evening meal, breakfast, lunch and coffee and cake. Brilliant every time. Lovely atmosphere, very friendly and and superb food. Well done! Will be there again tomorrow. Can't wait

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Owner at Stone's Cafe Bar, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
It's always a pleasure to welcome you to Stone's whether it's for a coffee and cake or a 3 course meal.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What can you say but excellent”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Absolutely perfect. Lovely food , lovely staff. Lovely all round. Can't wait to go back . Food excellent would highly recommend

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Owner at Stone's Cafe Bar, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for commenting on your recent visit, we are pleased to had an excellent visit.

We look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Have just enjoyed yet another good meal at stones The quality of the food is superb, presentation excellent and the staff are very attentive without being overpowering. Being a vegetarian it's good for me that a local restaurant can produce should good tasting food. The meat eaters in the party all said food was top notch also. It is a place I look forward to revisiting time and again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Owner at Stone's Cafe Bar, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are glad you enjoyed your recent visit as much as the other times. It is particularly pleasing that you enjoy our range of vegetarian options.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stone's Cafe Bar also viewed

Bury, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 
Bury, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing