We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dean B Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 247Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
247Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Oldham
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dean B Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have just returned from a weekend stay at the 247 Hotel we had to go up North as my mother in law is very poorly and we needed to travel the 300 mile journey from the south where we live me my husband daughter grandaughter and dog were made very welcome the staff were very friendly and the room was huge and spotless we will definitely be staying there again so convenient to Oldham Rochdale and Manchester and the hotel is the cheapest we have ever stayed in up there so glad we could take our dog for £4 per night ! Who could beat that price .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, Guest Relations Manager at 247Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave a comment, it is much appreciated. We look to offer the best service we can and improve in all areas. We hope to see you again and all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    111
    62
    35
    71
See reviews for
73
102
26
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have stayed at the 247 Hotel and the previously named Travelodge Hotel over the past few years and can give an honest opinion of the hotel in it's present state and the transition from a Travelodge owned hotel.

The staff are friendly and will go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay.
For e.g., I booked my Niece, Nephews and great Nieces (from E.Sussex) into the 247 to attend a family funeral late last year. They told me that their accommodation was great, clean rooms and the staff were very flexible on allowing more time to vacate their rooms (obviously, if they're very busy then flexibility can be negotiable at a cost).

Improvements since the 247 Hotel people took over are:

Free Wi-Fi in every room and in the dining area (used to have to pay for the Wi-Fi...so much per hour/day)
Reasonably priced drinks, e.g., presently they are selling John Smith's bitter at £1.50 a pint and the usual price per pint is around £2.30 which is fairly good.
Breakfast is cheaper (used to be £7.50 and now around £5.00/£6.00)
They've also started making bacon butties + coffee for £2.50...sounds good.y

My criticism is that you can't order snacks, a range of sandwiches (with chips/salad?) during the day...we don't all want a main meal....

I remember this hotel when it was known as The Avant Hotel with a conference suite attached.

It seems the new owners are in the process of refurbishing the exterior and interior of the conference suite, which makes sense as there is a lack of conference/training rooms in Oldham.

There is a swimming pool also attached...not sure what the new owners are going to do with this as it's currently closed but was frequently used under the Travelodge name.

Erm...that's about it....except that I don't understand the 'serious' negative comments being made...e.g. a complaint from a lady about being treated differently because she was Asian....I've never experienced this, maybe some people have their own agenda. (and...Amina B....it's Asian not "Asain")

I have no interest in this hotel other than I stay here regularly. It's a budget hotel but well run by new staff and great staff from the (old) Travelodge days....

Room Tip: For photographers, try and get a room 317 - 323 looking towards Manchester...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, Guest Relations Manager at 247Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave a comment. It is much appreciated. We love having you! We are also looking into doing sandwiches during the day too! Thanks for leaving a review and all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I have recently booked a hotel in 247 hotel in Oldham. Where can I start my experience from. Firstly I am asain let's get that clear first.

As I was booking a room the guy I dealt with a was racist guy nothing new this isn't the first time I've experience because everyone that works there is all the same.

It literally took me 15 to check in this is ridiculous. I had to pay for a room as well as put a deposit towards the room.

What was very upsetting was every time any asains books rooms the service providers always book the rooms on the first floor and make several different excuses such as, All Rooms are are booked!
(as if)
I had no choice still had to book the room. however as I checked out after 5 hours a English lady wanted to book a room and straight away she had the choice of which ever room she would want to pick.

This clearly shows how racist the service is towards asain and not English upsetting and disappointed.

TRAVELORGE WAS ALOT BETTER with 100% of customers choices as well as treated equally..
Until 247 hotel took over!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, Guest Relations Manager at 247Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave feedback. I apologise for the issues you raised. We have taken steps to allow shorter periods of time to check in. In busy times the rooms available can be limited, especially depending on the room type. I assure you we do not discriminate against any ethnicity, religion or sexuality. We welcome all people. We do hope to see you again in the future. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oldham hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Have stayed a few times before when it was Travelodge and it was better back then. Positives: Room was mostly clean (dust and cobwebs in bathroom corners). Slept well. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Negatives: Would not recommend eating the food they serve. My lasagne was so hard I could barely cut through it with my knife (it had obviously been reheated in the microwave for this to happen). Breakfast staff member was rude and not very customer focused. Overall my 2 night stay was ok, however, the way I was spoken to at breakfast left a sour taste in my mouth and my money going elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HB896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, Guest Relations Manager at 247Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave feedback on tripadvisor. We appreciate all comments left, as it gives us the ability to improve. Firstly, I apologise on the slow response, however we have made action on these comments immediately. Secondly, I apologise for the issues you raised and I assure this is not the level of service we wish to deliver. I have raised the issues you experienced with the relevant departments, and I assure you that we have taken steps to improve the quality and service. We do hope to see you again in the future. All the best!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisborough Green, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Really clean and really friendly hotel . The receptionist (Sharon?) was so welcoming and very helpful and friendly whenever we saw her = a great assett to the hotel. Perfect position for Manchester and Oldham. Reasonably priced. No complaints and will happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Disabled room 306 perfectly functional and very clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jogee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, Guest Relations Manager at 247Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave us feedback on tripadvisor. We appreciate all comments, and we hope to see you again. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is ideal for a night out in Oldham or a couple of nighs stay. No its not luxury but what do you expect for the price? They even provide you with a travel toothbrush/toothpaste which is somthing i havnt found in even the most expensive of hotels !

I shall definately be staying here again

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SarcySarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, Guest Relations Manager at 247Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We hope to see you again. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

A basic hotel , perfect for a few nights stay . 25-30 mins bus to centre of Manchester (bus stop right outside ) you get what you pay for and for £25-£30 a night for two of us we have no complaints.
Rooms very clean , buffet breakfast for £5 (bargain) reception friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sianyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, Guest Relations Manager at 247Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all comments. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldham
1.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Oldham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Smokies Park
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Oldham (Broadway) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Oldham Central Hotel
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
5.3 mi away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 247Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 247Hotel

Property: 247Hotel
Address: Manchester Street, Oldham OL8 4AS, England (Formerly Travelodge Oldham Manchester Street)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Oldham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 247Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your 247Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Oldham Manchester Street Hotel Oldham
247Hotel Oldham, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing