We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but that was all”
Review of 247Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
247Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Oldham
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Hotel was clean, but that was its only good point. Awful looking from the outside and not much better in the rooms. The wardrobe had no doors on it, the hot tap worked if you waited five minutes, the kettle was also on a delay. Single zed bed sagged in the middle and the duvet was really thin and only one pillow each.

Staff were not very helpful when asked about local info, for example time of buses to Manchester only told to get them at the bottom of the road.

The hotel was full of youngster, banging doors at all hours and kept knocking on each others door constantly.

would not stay again, it was cheap but have stayed in hotels for the same price and they have been a lot lot better quality.

Room Tip: Best tip: Stay elsewhere if you want a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJA040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

We arrived an hour early. Check in took a few minutes the lady couldnt find our booking for 2 rooms? The hotel looks run down from outside and in parts inside but our room was ok. It was a fair size. Room 102 which has a window which over looks the service area. The bed was clean and comfortable. Plenty of pillows and spare duvets. Kettle tea coffee sugar and biscults. Hairdryer, Ironing Board although I didnt see the Iron Im guessing you have to ask reception for it? TV desk and chair. Dirty sofa bed. Carpet could do with a good clean to get the wine and other stains out. There is a wall heater which took a while to heat the room. The was noise internal and external which sounded like a generator? The were noisy inconsiderate people but you can get that anywhere. 20 minute car drive to the Apollo in Manchester. Plenty of free car parking. Cafe area with TV which we didnt have time to use.

Overall ok for an overnight the place good do with a clean and lick of paint in parts but for price it was ok.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimQueenofQuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with family. We arrived 1.30pm, check in was 2pm. Our room was ready but they wanted a £10 early booking fee. The hotel itself is dated and during our stay was full off stag parties. There was noise all night, banging, men swearing, simeone tried opening our door. Not the best night in a hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank bubbleso0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, Guest Relations Manager at 247Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on tripadvisor. We do seek to always be a family friendly hotel and we are sorry for the problems you had during your stay. Because of the disturbances from the few stag parties we have had, we are going to change our policies regarding stag parties. We hope to see you again on your next stay in Oldham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The room was basic but clean and fit for purpose, plenty of room for 2 adults and my 2 year old son. Staff were friendly enough and helpful to a point but the overall stay was appalling due to the other guests. We were on the 2nd floor and surrounded either side and above by a large group of people who were so loud it was shocking. They were slamming Doors, playing loud music and shouting & screaming. This went on for over 3 hours, til past 11 at night, even a call to complain and a member of staff telling them a baby was on the same floor stopped them. I know the hotel are not to blame for the guests behaviour but they could have had the foresight not to put a couple with a baby in the middle of such a group.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcb385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, Guest Relations Manager at 247Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for taking time to leave a comment on trip advisor. I do apologise for the noise caused by other guests. We do try our best to allocate rooms accordingly to suit the purpose of the stay (as in families and groups going for a night out in Manchester) but given most weekends we are full this can be very hard given the amount of rooms we have of a particular room type and the location of these room types. I will pass it on to the relevant departments about the possibility of rearranging room types to help facilitate better allocations. Again we apologise for the disturbance you incurred and we hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

A bargain hotel and a bargain price (when you book in advance - even when booked directly with hotel).

The rooms are various sizes from a double to king sized beds and triple / family rooms. A simple restaurant menu which is ideal when travelling, and staff even change it around to suit need. Has an inexpensive bar also.

Rooms clean and tidy, staff friendly and helpful. I've used this hotel regularly and they are happy to store belongings for a few days.

Towels ..... not always fluffly!!! (but you do get 2 sealed toothbrushes with mini toothpaste in your room (and they even have added a hot chocolate drink in now).

Room Tip: Not to difficult to get into Manchester City by bus or metrolink. Great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hoylel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, Guest Relations Manager at 247Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for taking time to leave a review on tripadvisor. I will pass that feedback about the towels on to our linen service provider. We wish you all the best and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed last night. Quick service at reception. Clean,warm room although very basic. Sleep disturbed due to so much noise outside the room from other guests. However breakfast was very nice, buffet style, reasonable choice of cooked or cereals and porridge . Ok to stay for 1 or 2 nights but no more.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qtiepie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, Guest Relations Manager at 247Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for taking time to leave a review on trip advisor. We apologise for the noise you experienced on your stay. We try our best to ensure guest noise is at a minimum in the hallways late at night. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

When we arrived we had to wait with our bags in the lobby for roughly 20 minutes before we could check in - we were cold and tired and just wanted to lie down. Pretty poor for a hotel.

During our stay our rooms were not attended to or serviced a single time (we stayed 3 nights). We did not have the 'do not disturb' sign up so expected them to be cleaned (it is a hotel, right?). Perhaps this is the norm, given we found what appeared to be public hair in the bed when we checked in. I can only imagine changing the sheets here is a rarity as is servicing the room. As a result we were also left with no tea or coffee for the duration of our stay - a shame as we were working long days and felt just like a cuppa upon returning each evening.

The stay was topped off by a complete lack of water during certain times within the stay. Unacceptable for the hotel and more closely matched with accommodation in a third world country.

On the plus side, the hotel offered to reimburse 2 night's stay, yet this was simply talk and to date we've never seen the money and are now pursuing this with Trading Standards.

The hotel's response when mentioning I would be documenting our experience on Tripadvisor - "hah, we couldn't care less". Pretty much sums up their entire attitude.

No doubt the hotel will be here shortly to deny my claims in their response.

Look elsewhere if you value cleanness, comfort and hygiene.

Room Tip: Avoid them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oldham hotels
1.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#4 of 11 in Oldham
535 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Oldham
Travelodge Oldham
#7 of 11 in Oldham
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Oldham Central Hotel
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Oldham (Broadway) Hotel
5.3 mi away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 247Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 247Hotel

Address: Manchester Street, Oldham OL8 4AS, England (Formerly Travelodge Oldham Manchester Street)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Oldham
Price Range: £35 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 247Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 247Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Oldham Manchester Street Hotel Oldham
247Hotel Oldham, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing