We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Oldham
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“One Night Stay”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Me and my wife stayed for one night in the above we the staff very helpful and friendly, the room wasn't luxurious but very comfortable and clean. I would compliment the hotel on the meals we had both dinner and breakfast was superb and I might add if you order burgers or sandwiches I hope you have a very large appetite because they are huge very filling .I also would thank the staff for honesty as I left my credit cards in the desk drawer which were sent to my home at no cost to me by registered mail and I received them the next day. Well done Smokies staff you have our vote and we will stay again all the best to all Regards Mr & Mrs Newton Mansfield

Room Tip: My tip for staying is try them all we had ground floor double ( BRILLIANT)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Larry N

Thank you for staying with us and also taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit with your wife. I shall pass on your kind comments about your clean & comfortable room to the housekeeping team as they work very hard to keep high standards in our busy hotel.

I was also pleased that you found the team helpful and friendly throughout your stay. Finally, thank you for your review of our restaurant, enjoying both your evening meal and breakfast with us. I shall pass on your feedback to the chefs who take great pride in their work and will be very pleased to hear that you found your meals superb..

I am glad that we were able to help in returning your credit card.

I do hope you return again soon

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    208
    89
    23
    24
See reviews for
117
161
21
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Really nice clean hotel rooms were great size and bed was massive great shower also. Staff were very friendly especially the blonde receptionist is
And she was a hottie. Food was great. Would defo come back and stay again if workin in the area.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Heatpumpinstaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Heatpumpinstaller

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you found your room & bed were a good size and very clean. I shall pass on your comments about our friendly staff, especially the blonde receptionist.

I am also pleased you enjoyed your meal and that you would like to come back.

Thanks again

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We booked this because of its convenient location and were not disappointed, the room was clean and adequate, friendly helpful staff. We had problem with the heating in our room and were offered an upgrade free of charge to an executive room which was really great in fact we will pay extra next time to stay in this room it was lovely, jacuzzi bath, huge bed lots of nice little extra touches and a great view. The bar area was particularly nice with lots of big leather sofas I think I would have been quite happy staying in this hotel by myself which I do have to do occasionally. A very enjoyably stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkdimond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Pinkdimond

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that you found the hotel well located for your visit to the area. We are well situated for Manchester, as well as many areas in greater Manchester.

Whilst you booked with us due to our location, I am pleased that you found more reasons to stay again, finding your room clean, the staff friendly & helpful. I am sorry that you had problems with your heating but am pleased that your were looked after with a free upgrade.

As you mentioned, our bar is a very warm & friendly place to relax. We often think about having it totally refurbished but I would not want to loss that homely feeling.

I do hope we see you again

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desktop
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

STAYED HERE on Sat 19 Oct - fabulous hotel, spotless, very friendly and helpful staff, lovely restaurant and good food, rooms very comfortable although bathroom a little dated. Would definitely recommend and restaurants-visit ):

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear juliemac

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, finding your room clean & comfortable and the staff helpful. We are always carrying out refurbishments, with our bathrooms as part of that program.

I was also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us at eat@smokies. We have a new menu going live at then beginning of November, keeping all our guests favourites and adding some great new dishes.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for business meetings great breakfasts and friendly staff lovely rooms and handy for motorway.
Also been for Christmas parties again very good.
Good selection of beers and wines.
We have used this for business clients who all say how nice it is.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Steverodo

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stays with us and that every time the team are friendly, you like your room and enjoy breakfast.

I am very proud to hear that you bring your business clients to stay with us and they too are well looked after.

We are looking forward to hosting our " Narnia" Christmas parties and I would recommend you book on very soon if you want to come as many dates are filling up fast.

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Smokies Park is a great example of how a Best Western should be run. As a Diamond member of the rewards scheme, I am supposed to get an upgraded room whenever possible along with various other benefits. Smokies is the first Best Western I've stayed at that has actually honoured this agreement.

As a result, I stayed in an Executive room on the top floor. The room was spacious, clean and well laid out. The bathroom boasted a fantastic shower with plenty of hot water at a great pressure (be careful - you might take the skin off your back!).

Additionally, the restaurant offers excellent quality food in a pleasant atmosphere. It's a bit of an excursion to get to the restaurant from the main hotel - I've stayed here before and not realised that there was a separate restaurant from the bar - but just keep following the corridor and signs and you'll find it eventually. It's well worth the walk!

Room Tip: An Executive room is well worth the price - even better if you get the free upgrade from the Rewards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocketeer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Rocketeer007

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that we look after you and as a Diamond Best Western reward member we do our best to upgrade you. The Best western rewards scheme is free to join and the more you use any of the hotels the more points you get to use on a variety of rewards.

I was pleased that you liked your executive room, finding it clean, spacious, well laid out and a very powerful shower. I shall pass on your comments to the housekeeping team.

I am glad to hear that you visited our restaurant finding the food excellent, served in a pleasant atmosphere. Sorry to hear that on previous visits you were not aware of its location. As you mentioned you go through the hotel bar and there is a corridor down to the restaurant, which I would agree is well worth a visit.

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We got married here a couple of weeks ago and had our meal here & evening buffet & disco., we had a lovely time the staff are very helpful & friendly, the food was excellent as was the service throughout the meal, we had the Compton suite which was a lovely room also the complimentary bridal suite, all our guests praised the hotel and we would certainly recommend it for a wedding reception or party, cant praise the staff high enough they do a wonderful job.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubblesbonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Bubblesbonbon

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel and the service you received on your wedding day. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal and evening buffet in our Crompton Suite and all your guests were looked after.

The team here really enjoy looking after weddings and would like to thank you for letting us help make your day special.

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldham
5.5 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 12 in Oldham
498 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Oldham Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Oldham (Broadway) Hotel
2.0 mi away
247Hotel
247Hotel
#10 of 12 in Oldham
367 reviews
1.7 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Smokies Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Smokies Park

Property: Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
Address: Hotel Smokies Park Ashton Road, Oldham OL8 3HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Oldham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Smokies Park 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Manchester on the A627, between Oldham and Ashton-under-Lyne, with Manchester City Centre and Manchester Airport only a short drive away. Each of the delightfully furnished and spacious en-suite bedrooms are complete with 32" Flatscreen Freeview TVs, direct dial telephone and Free Wi-fi, hairdryer, garment press and tea and coffee making facilities, Free Parking and all the facilities you would expect from a modern, comfortable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Smokies Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oldham
Best Western Smokies Park
Oldham Best Western
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park Oldham, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing