We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely Venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Smokies Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Smokies Park
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Oldham
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I had my wedding reception at the hotel after I got married abroad, and I had the most amazing night. The room looked amazing, the food was delicious and the staff smiled all night long. My room was large and very comfortable and from the minute I entered the hotel to the moment I left nothing was to much trouble. The general manager even helped me with my dress to my room. Amazing!!! Thankyou :D

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky_1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear vicky 1997

Thank you for your kind comments. I am so pleased we were able to help in making your wedding party special. I remember you and the evening well and glad I was able to help you with your dress.

I shall pass on your comments to the team and hope we see you again soon

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    198
    84
    22
    23
See reviews for
109
147
19
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed here for one night. Great hotel rooms are spacious very clean. Staff are all very friendly. Would definately stay again. Definately a bargain too! Didnt expect it to be so nice for what I paid.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danniec89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear danniec89

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased to hear that you liked your stay with us, finding your room spacious and clean, the staff friendly and all good value for money.

I do hope we see you again soon

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We chose this hotel to hold both our wedding ceremony and evening reception taking into consideration the close proximity for both families and ourselves.

I stayed in suite 501 both the night prior to the wedding day and on the wedding night. I cannot fault any of the staff. The girls on reception each time we visited the hotel whilst planning our wedding and on the day of checking in were always polite and friendly, ignore recent reviews stating otherwise. Our room was huge and had contemporary decor. The bed was very comfy. Noises mentioned in previous reviews i.e. squeaking doors and bathroom noises were not heard by ourselves. We obviously didn't want our room cleaning whilst I was getting ready for the ceremony, but this was still offered and when declined, we found a bag outside our door with fresh towels and toiletries, which was nice!

If you're planning a wedding here, I couldn't recommend it highly enough. As stated above, the girls, Kayleigh and Natalie, could not have been anymore helpful when arranging our big day. We had our ceremony in the Crompton Suite and our evening reception in the Medlock Suite. Both beautiful rooms. Our guests commented on our intimate the Crompton Suite was for a wedding ceremony. We held our wedding on 28 December 2013, and so the Narnia decor which was used for Christmas parties was still in situ and was a surprise to our guests! I had breakfast both mornings and it was lovely.

The Wedding breakfast meal was amazing. I've not heard a bad comment. Everyone has commented on how lovely it was and how hot it was when served. They had quite a few waiters/waitresses on and everyone got their meals fairly soon! The waiters/waitresses could not have provided a better service! Likewise, Katie, our wedding coordinator on the day, was truly amazing. Could not thank her enough for making the day go so smoothly, helping with the music choices, timings, and taking into consideration each request I had!

Being local to the hotel, we have visited on numerous occasions, whether it be just for a cocktail at the bar or for a meal or carvery. The benefits card comes in handy! I have never once had a problem with the wines and wouldn't really expect to see a full list nor age of wines in a hotel rated as a 3*. I see a hotel of this type more as a homely hotel, with friendly faces and very welcoming, and they have always gave us this impression whenever we have visited. The food is of a very high standard.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alysonkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Alyson Kirk

Thank you so much for all your kind words. It makes me very proud to hear someone say all this nice things about our hotel and team. I am so pleased we were able to help in making your special day just as you wanted. I love the pictures you posted and am so pleased you and your guests enjoyed the Narnia themed décor and props.

I will pass on your kind comments to the team, especially Katie, Natalie and Kayleigh

Sounds like we will see you again soon

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We always check trip adviser prior to booking hotels, and take little notice of some of the rather picky reviews, although we would also report concerns. This week we stayed at Smokies (Oldham) on a family visit to the town. We found the staff very pleasant and the twin bedded room to a good standard. The breakfast was excellent. We will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Peter B

Thank you for you review of our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were looked after well by the team. I would also like to thank you for your comments about picky reviews. We are not perfect and do make mistakes but I am very pleased and proud to say that they are far and few between and not from a lack of caring or trying. Everyone is entitled to their view but very picky reviews can often be a very unfair reflection of a business.

I welcome feedback and to be honest need it to improve. I always encourage guests to report any issues they have whilst they are in the hotel, so we can fix them there and then.

Thank you again and look forward to you staying with us again

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins#
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Staff seemed pleasant & helpful at reception, not the brightest of bunch, the bar seemed ok, staff again seemed "passable"

The bedrooms were all clean, even though I had to swap rooms, and my 2 colleagues both had to complain about their rooms, Downside of the bar was not being shown a wine list & age of wines and worse,
some of the staff, especially in the restaurant as been before are a bit too friendly, and think it OK for them to speak to us by our first names... errrr nooo you don't fella...

Rooms and beds are spacious and comfortable. (all have irons and boards, but not all have kettles and cups etc, so thats a tad irritating) Major irritation were the numerous doors within the corridors which gave out a horrendous squeal when other guests headed to breakfast. Impossible to sleep through the horrendous, frequent high pitch noise right outside my room. and some are pulls and some are pushes, and when carting a few bags or coffee's and a bag it makes it a difficult journey

Breakfast wasn't to bad, defo better than some places I have been I can assure you of that

Check out was poor. No 'niceties' nor 'have you enjoyed your stay'. Just a little sign that taking your money is the main priority.

I asked for a receipt 3 times for a meal I forgot to get when paying for a meal, I was promised would get one, or they would call my room, they never did, then was asked to get it from reception, and they cant do it, then was passed to the bar and the journey started again, I was promised it on email, and again as yet no joy and asked twice.
Showers are poor, either water is 1000 degrees or cold,
Room Tip: ask for the best they have available, as none are really worth the monies unless you get a decent rate

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravingeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Raving Eddie

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that you had some issue during your stay and I shall be addressing these, especially the shower and doors. I was surprised by some of your comments concerning the team. Whilst I appreciate that how one is addressed is personable to that person, we have so many regular guests that wish to be called by their first name. We aim to have a very friendly, home from home environment, which I feel is very important for our guests whilst away from home. I don't feel the team would use a first name without being invited or without reason to believe that was what the guest wanted. It seems iT deeply offended you for which I am sorry.

I also found your comments about your check out at reception surprising. Stef, my reception supervisor checked you out and I can't remember such a comment about her service. Check out can be very busy and we want this to be as quick and efficient as possible as our guests more often than not are in a rush. Paying the bill is a major part of check out and it is not part of our service that I have had any reason to review as the majority of our guests praise our service.

In terms of the missing receipt, I understand this has been resolved. You raised it with reception on Wednesday and it was dealt with Thursday.

I felt your comment " not the brightest of bunch" about my team was very disappointing. Not sure comments like this in 2014 are very PC. I really value feedback but comments like this damage ones credibility and it is so far from the comments you left in August about how great the team are????

I wish you had asked to speak to a manager during your stay, if things were so wrong and we could have helped you

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

First impression of the hotel was not too bad. The hotel bar was average but the food in the bar was good and good sized portions. They had spare ribs on special and i will highly recommend it.
Overall the evening was OK but the trouble started at bedtime.
The extractor fan in the bathroom does not turn off when you turn of the lights so that was going all night. I shut the bathroom door but you could still hear it. Also, outside in the corridor the electronic doorstop was beeping continuously all night. There was a little card on the bed saying that one can call reception any time if you have a problem by dialling 0. Unfortunately there was no phone in the room so I could not take them up on that offer. I also did not fancy visiting reception in my pyjamas so i ended sleeping with my head under the pillow...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mornster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to hear you liked our bar and the spare ribs.

I am so sorry about the extractor fan in your bathroom and the bleeping noise in the corridor then not being able to contact reception due to there being no phone in your room. I shall get maintenance onto these issues straight away.

Thank you for letting me know and hope this does not put you off staying again

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldham
4.7 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
1.9 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oldham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Oldham Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
247Hotel
247Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oldham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Oldham (Broadway) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Smokies Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Smokies Park

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Smokies Park
Address: Hotel Smokies Park Ashton Road | Bardsley, Oldham, Oldham OL8 3HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Oldham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Smokies Park 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Manchester on the A627, between Oldham and Ashton-under-Lyne, with Manchester City Centre and Manchester Airport only a short drive away. Each of the delightfully furnished and spacious en-suite bedrooms are complete with 32" Flatscreen Freeview TVs, direct dial telephone and Free Wi-fi, hairdryer, garment press and tea and coffee making facilities, Free Parking and all the facilities you would expect from a modern, comfortable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cancelon, HRS, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Smokies Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oldham
Best Western Smokies Park
Oldham Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hotel Smokies Park Oldham, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing