We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday Night Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Oldham
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Saturday Night Comfort”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My Saturday night stay was extremely comfortable and quiet, affording me a good rest as requested from their pleasant reception staff. The room was excellent, with a modern flat screen TV complementing a comfortable bed and excellent shower. Comparable with a 4* hotel. The staff were cheerful and extremely helpful and gave you a warm welcome. I asked for a quiet room and it certainly was.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank rods350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear rods350

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you got a restful night, finding your room nice, comfortable bed and powerful shower.

Whilst we are a three star hotel, I was pleased that you found us comparable with a 4 star. We do strive to be the best we can be and the team here are certainly 5 star (in my opinion).

Hope we see you again soon

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    211
    89
    23
    24
See reviews for
119
164
21
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Checked in today by a lovely receptionist who warned us that our extra bed hadn't been put in yet but was on it's way. Room lovely, big and clean. Lovely lady arrived with the bed and informed us that the sauna and steam room were out of action (main reason for choosing the hotel). She knew how to resolve our issue and offered us a complimentary bottle of wine and ice (after I banged my head helping with the bed). Wine was served by another friendly lady. (I'm from London. Not used to the friendliness). We then had some lovely food in the restaurant. Lovely relaxing night after a hard days shopping. Even with no sauna. I'm leaving this review before we have checked out as you could have the rudest staff on tomorrow (doubtful) and I'd still give 5 stars. Your staff are your biggest asset! Room 209 xxx

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larnaworwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Larna Worwood

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Firstly, I was very touched to hear your comments about the team. I am a true believer that a business is nothing without the right team. You can have great food, a great hotel but without the team it stands for nothing.

I am sorry the Sauna was out of order during your visit and for thank you for being so understanding.

I shall pass on your kind words to the team and hope we see you again soon

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I travel to Oldham regularly on business and always stay here despite the fact that there's a hotel right next door to the office I work in!

The two main strenghts of this hotel are the excellent staff and the fantastic food in the restaurant.

The staff are always polite, friendly and always make me feel welcome whenever I stay and seem genuinely pleased to see me when I haven't stayed for a while. Nothing is ever too much trouble.

The food in the restaurant, eat@Smokies is some of the best food I've had in a hotel, and I've stayed in hotels with Michelin restaurants. The quality and quantity of the food is always excellent and the staff are flexible enough with the menu to accommodate for personal taste (i.e. "Can I have the steak, but with an extra mushroom instead of the tomato?") Breakfast in the hotel is always excellent too.

The rooms, while maybe not up to the standards of a high end city centre hotel are comfortable and welcoming and contain everything you'd expect a nice hotel room to have. I've stayed in the suites a couple of times too and they are also very nice.

I always look forward to a trip to Smokies and would recommend it to anyone who needs to stay in the Oldham or East Manchester area or just wants to visit the fantastic restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Paul M

Thank you so much for your complimentary review. I am very proud when I hear such comments about the team and hotel. I shall pass on your kind words to the team, who I know will appreciate the feedback.

We have made many improvements to the hotel over the past 2 years and this will continue with more refurbishments of our bedrooms, bar and public areas.

The chefs take a great deal of pride in their work and I am pleased to hear your high praise, especially from someone who dines out as much as you.

Thank you again

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Ecellent value for money, frendly helpfull staff (which is not that common these days). Comfortable, spacious rooms with good food served in the resteraunt. What more can you ask for? Will definitly be using hotel again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Michael D

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am so pleased that you liked your visit, finding the staff friendly & helpful, your room comfortable & spacious and you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant.

We really like to look after our guests and offer them great value for money. I do hope we see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This was my first visit to the Smokies and would have no hesitation to return. Staff were very helpful, room was comfortable and the restaurant was superb!! The menu gave lots of choices and, as far as value for money goes, will take some beating. An absolute gem and I am already looking forward to my next visit!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Stuart M

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit, finding the staff helpful, bedroom comfortable and restaurant superb. We are passionate about our hotel and restaurant taking great pride when we receive comments like yours.

Thank you for staying with us and come back soon

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I had my wedding reception at the hotel after I got married abroad, and I had the most amazing night. The room looked amazing, the food was delicious and the staff smiled all night long. My room was large and very comfortable and from the minute I entered the hotel to the moment I left nothing was to much trouble. The general manager even helped me with my dress to my room. Amazing!!! Thankyou :D

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky_1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear vicky 1997

Thank you for your kind comments. I am so pleased we were able to help in making your wedding party special. I remember you and the evening well and glad I was able to help you with your dress.

I shall pass on your comments to the team and hope we see you again soon

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldham
5.5 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Oldham
504 reviews
1.7 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
247Hotel
247Hotel
#10 of 12 in Oldham
372 reviews
6.4 mi away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
255 reviews
3.2 mi away
The White Hart Inn at Lydgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Smokies Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Smokies Park

Property: Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
Address: Hotel Smokies Park Ashton Road, Oldham OL8 3HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Oldham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Smokies Park 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Manchester on the A627, between Oldham and Ashton-under-Lyne, with Manchester City Centre and Manchester Airport only a short drive away. Each of the delightfully furnished and spacious en-suite bedrooms are complete with 32" Flatscreen Freeview TVs, direct dial telephone and Free Wi-fi, hairdryer, garment press and tea and coffee making facilities, Free Parking and all the facilities you would expect from a modern, comfortable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Agoda, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Smokies Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oldham
Best Western Smokies Park
Oldham Best Western
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park Oldham, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing