We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Oldham
Manchester England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

First time here and it proved to be excellent value. A really attractively furbished modern hotel. y Although in an urban setting it is near to one entrance to Daisy Nook Country Park . Efficient friendly local staff. Lovely room even though just a Standard Grade. Had the TV had a DVD player it would have been perfect. Tasty breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Paul B

Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you found it value for money and our standard rooms of a good quality. I am sorry that our TV's don't have a DVD player but I shall give it consideration next time we change them. I shall pass on kind comments about the team and breakfast.

I am glad you enjoyed Daisy Nook Country Park which is near to the hotel.

Hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    207
    88
    22
    24
See reviews for
114
160
21
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

When I'm in the Manchester area there is no choice for me! I normally book an executive room which are great value. Very clean comfortable room with some great features.
The restaurant is fantastic, try the ribs to start and the steaks, cooked as you like them and so tender!
Staff are so friendly I really enjoy my stays.

Room Tip: Executive room are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Chris B

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and to hear that we are your favourite BEST WESTERN is praise indeed. All BEST WESTERN hotels are very unique and different but we all take great pride in looking after our guests.

We are slightly different from other hotel chains in the fact that whilst we have to all deliver high standards, we have the flexibility to do it with our own personality and not be constrained by too many rules that can get in the way of treating our guests as individuals.

I am so pleased that you found your room clean and comfortable, the restaurant fantastic and the staff friendly.

I know you stay with us often, which gives me great pride that we consistently deliver these standards

Thank you again

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel has a family because we went to a wedding there. Great clean rooms and staff were also very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend if you are in Oldham because they cater for old and young

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Jackie B

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and to hear that you and your family enjoyed their stay. We really enjoy looking after our guests and try our best to give them a home from home experience, as it can be difficult for family's being away from their own home.

I shall pass on your feedback and hope we see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights on business, the room (ground floor, had a note saying they had a water leak recently) was clean & fine although lit by lamps, no "main" light. Reception, bar and restaurant staff superb and food (breakfast & evening) excellent. car park outside can get busy but parking is available around the "back" as well. there is a Tesco express about 1 mile away, and a pub just over the road. Already booked again for next week.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moorlander1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Moorlander1969

Thank you for your review of our hotel and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. It is even more pleasing to hear from a guest who stayed with us for 3 nights and to know that we got it right throughout the whole stay.

I am very proud of the team and shall pass on your kind words.

Thank you and look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Damp smell in room found note tucked away explaining it was a water leak. Room was clean. Noise from other rooms and hallway was like walls and door made of paper. Got woken up 3 times from people in hallway one of them noisy drunk. Won't be staying here again also next door is a bar so parking could be awkward.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Jim O

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. The damp smell your experienced was due to an unforeseen water leak from another bedroom which created the bad smell in the corridor. We are in the process of replacing the carpet in the bedroom that had the leak and the corridor outside it. Such events are very rare and we do our best to rectify them as quick as possible.

I am also sorry about the noise you experienced during the night. We do have a night team on duty to manage such issues, who can be called upon at any time to help our guest. They do their best to proactively manage other guests behaviour but this can sometimes be a very difficult job, especially when they have been drinking.

I do hope you give us 2nd chance as these issues are not a far reflection of our hotel but totally understand your disappointment.

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Dear staff at Smokies Best Western hotel we'd like to say that 'excellence is an understatement' for your staff performance, venue, facilites, hospitality, canopes, buffet, bacon butties, breakfast and effort! At our wedding on 12 April 2014 both Kevin and myself and all our family and friends (190 in total) from start to finish had the best day we have ever experienced. We'd like to say a special thank you to Sarah for managing the day and Kayleigh for organising our day and a massive thank you to all your staff for making our day so perfect. All staff were kind, considerate, really helpful and always had smiles of their faces. We couldn't have asked for a better day as it was more than we could ever have asked for. We'd recommend you to any of our family and friends who wish to have a special day or event or a stay in Oldham.

Many thanks from the bottom of our hearts Mr & Mrs Box :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B5ECY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear B5ECY

Thank you so much for your review as it was very touching to receive such praise. I am so pleased we were able to help in making your special day one to remember for you and your guests.

I shall be passing on your kind words to the team who looked after you on the day and Kayleigh who organised it.

I would like to wish you all the best and hope we will see you again for any future celebrations.

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The plus side. Everyone very helpful and the room was great. Normal access very good and we had Continental Breakfast both days of our stay and I've got to give the manageress full marks for attention to our needs.
The minus side. We both have disability badges and the disable bays are round at the rear of the hotel about as far away from the entrance as is possible. Access is through the fire doors which are normally shut and there is no means of calling the front desk for help. I had to call the hotel on my phone to open the door...............this is not good practice though the staff are there like a shot. But, suppose you don't have a phone or the number to call :-(. If there were a bell push to call the desk it would solve the problem.

Room Tip: The Receptionist seems to anticipate your requirements when the room is allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Frank B

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased you were well looked after and that you liked your room.

I am sorry that the disabled parking bays are not ideally located and have added 2 just outside reception since your visit. I was pleased that the team reacted quickly to help you would like to thank you for raising the issue.

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldham
2.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 12 in Oldham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Oldham Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Oldham (Broadway) Hotel
2.0 mi away
247Hotel
247Hotel
#10 of 12 in Oldham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.7 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Smokies Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Smokies Park

Property: Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
Address: Hotel Smokies Park Ashton Road, Oldham OL8 3HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Oldham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Smokies Park 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Manchester on the A627, between Oldham and Ashton-under-Lyne, with Manchester City Centre and Manchester Airport only a short drive away. Each of the delightfully furnished and spacious en-suite bedrooms are complete with 32" Flatscreen Freeview TVs, direct dial telephone and Free Wi-fi, hairdryer, garment press and tea and coffee making facilities, Free Parking and all the facilities you would expect from a modern, comfortable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Smokies Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oldham
Best Western Smokies Park
Oldham Best Western
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park Oldham, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing