We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very busy but great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Oldham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very busy but great service”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed here over the park life weekend and it was great lovely staff who didn't mind dealing with drunk idiots till the early hours of the morning hotel is clean and tidy and the bar serves decent grub

Room Tip: Dont go here when there are any music festivals or gigs in Heaton park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Rob S

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, finding the team helpful and effective looking after other guests who had been drinking until the early hours. It is very hard to look after all our guests who are with us for many different reasons but we do our best.

Thank you for your kind comments

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    207
    88
    22
    24
See reviews for
114
160
21
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Best Western Hotel in Oldham.
The staff were really friendly and couldnt do enough for me. They happily came to my room when I had a problem using my security card to enter my room and then show me how to use it to operate the lights. The bedroom was excellent and the bed was so comfortable I had a good 3 nights sleep. The food was really good too. I would recommend Best Western to all who need overnight accommodation while staying in the Oldham area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Alan G

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel and I was so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Sorry you had problems using your key to enter the room and then use the lights but I am glad that reception were on hand to help you.

I am pleased you found your room comfortable and that you had 3 good nights sleep. I shall pass on your kind comments to all the hotel and kitchen team and hope we see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stay in Smokies Park most weeks on business. This is a really nice hotel if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Oldham/Ashton and even Manchester. Rooms are large and well furnished. I suppose furnishings are a matter of taste , but are certainly more homely than the rather bland Premier Inn type accommodation. Wifi is available in most rooms(it can be patchy) and is free of charge. No problems with wifi access in bar or restaurant. The restaurant provides good food of the steak/chicken/burger variety. However the chef usually has two or three specials each night which can be very tasty. I've had Pork in an Orange sauce and peppered chicken in a bed of rice, both of which have been really good and would be worthy of a hotel with more stars. Breakfast is buffet style and really superb.The fried eggs are lovely and runny with nice whites ie not over fried and plastic like some other hotels! Bacon is lovely and crisp and non greasy. I've stayed in quite a few hotels and the breakfast here cannot be beaten if you are looking for the standard English breakfast. I believe they will also do porridge for you. However the main point is that the staff are very friendly. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: They have executive rooms which certainly have nice bathrooms, however I find that the standard room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell196201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Russel 196201

Thank you so much for your kind review and for choosing to stay with us on so many occasions. I feel your title " A great homely Hotel", describes us very well, as we always do our best to treat guests as individuals and try and give them a home from home feeling whilst having to be away from their family.

I am so pleased that you enjoy dining with us in the evening and at breakfast finding the food good and the staff friendly.

I shall pass on your kind comments to the head chef who takes great pride in his main menu and the daily specials.

Thanks again

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed overnight following a wedding function. There was a lovely atmosphere at the hotel and the staff were very helpful adn friendly throughout. Our room was spacious, lovely and clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: Our room was located on the second floor, facing towards Ashton-under-Lyne town centre. The outlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Anne H

Thank you for your review and I hope you enjoyed the wedding you attended. I am so pleased you liked our hotel finding the staff friendly and your room spacious & clean.

I do hope you come back to visit us again

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed here overnight while visiting the Etihad stadium for Rugby League's Magic weekend. Was in a convenient location and we were pleased with our rooms, they were spacious, clean and comfortable. Toiletries were provided as were tea and coffee. The staff were friendly and helpful. I can't comment on the food as we didn't eat there but we did have a few drinks after the game and the bar area was, again, clean and a comfy place to sit. I mistakenly thought I had left my mobile phone behind in the bedroom after checking out and, when I rang the hotel, they were so helpful - going to check if they could find it and offering to post it on for me if they did . Top service :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Andrea062

Thank you for your review and I hope you enjoyed the rugby magic weekend at the Etihad stadium. I am pleased that you found the location of our hotel convenient to get to the stadium and that your room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We always do our best to help guests, if they loss anything and hope you have since found your phone

Sorry to hear that you did not get a chance to dine with us, hopefully next time.

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

me my wife and daughter stayed there Saturday 17-05-14 went for the rugby weekend the room was large clean and very comfortable , the staff were more than helpful , we also ate there the wife got a burger that could feed 3 very tasty and great value thank you to all the staff will be back.

Room Tip: get a room on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Steven M

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and team. We take great pride in receiving such feedback, as it is nice to know our effects are appreciated.

I am also glad you found you stay good value for money, especially the burger your wife had.

See you next time

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldham
2.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 12 in Oldham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Oldham Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Oldham (Broadway) Hotel
2.0 mi away
247Hotel
247Hotel
#10 of 12 in Oldham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.7 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Smokies Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Smokies Park

Property: Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
Address: Hotel Smokies Park Ashton Road, Oldham OL8 3HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Oldham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Smokies Park 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Manchester on the A627, between Oldham and Ashton-under-Lyne, with Manchester City Centre and Manchester Airport only a short drive away. Each of the delightfully furnished and spacious en-suite bedrooms are complete with 32" Flatscreen Freeview TVs, direct dial telephone and Free Wi-fi, hairdryer, garment press and tea and coffee making facilities, Free Parking and all the facilities you would expect from a modern, comfortable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Smokies Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oldham
Best Western Smokies Park
Oldham Best Western
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park Oldham, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing