We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful western”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Oldham
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“wonderful western”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here in an executive room which was lovely, It was on the 3rd floor which had lovely views from the windows it was also very quiet due to there only being 3 rooms on this floor, I have to say all the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, the breakfast was also excellent, Thankyou to all for a delightful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happyholidayer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Dear happholidayer8

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I was so pleased that you liked you room and found the team here extremely pleasant and helpful. We do pride ourselves on looking after our guests and are always humbled to receive such high praise.

Hope we see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    207
    88
    22
    24
See reviews for
114
160
21
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Good standard hotel (we were staying over weekend for wedding) staff efficient and helpful, room clean and well-equipped, bar meals excellent and happy to serve us at 9.30pm, good cooked breakfast in the morning. Highly recommended.
Only negative was it was very hot in room, but we did have thunderstorms/heatwave!!! so can't blame hotel.A fan might be good in the rooms.

Room Tip: Even though weddings in hotel, not a lot of noise really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Dear Alicat13

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and shall pass on your kind comments to the team. I am sorry about the heat you experienced in your room and would like to thank you for being understanding. We don't have fans in the room but they are available from reception, should you stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington (uk)
Level Contributor
172 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Finding a good hotel in Oldham seems difficult; having stayed at the very poor Holiday Inn in the area I went to another brand in the Best Western and booked the executive room to increase my chances of a decent stay.

On arrival I found the hotel OK, the entrance was well presented and the staff on reception were friendly enough. After that what I found was a hotel which was probably good in the 1990s but was looking sadly worn. The room I had was spacious and reasonable but was a bit dated and not really what I would class as an executive room.

I did have some trouble at the hotel over my payment, as I had booked rooms for me and two business colleagues and paid on arrival only to receive a call to say I had only paid for one of the two nights we were staying – which was incorrect and which I challenged. I was told that this would be looked into and I would be contacted with an update. I never heard anything further following that call.

In terms of the restaurant and bar this was again OK but nothing spectacular. The barman was not particularly friendly and was quite keen to pack up in the evening. In terms of the restaurant the food was fine, but as usual it was menu full of unhealthy fried options. I had a salmon dish with green beans and the green beans were fired in a deep fat fryer with batter!! I really wish those responsible for catering and menus in these places paid more attention to producing more healthy options – keep the bad stuff by all means, but please give us travelers half a chance to look after ourselves.

On the whole this hotel is fine, if you are unfortunate enough to need to go to Oldham for a night or two but really its nothing special!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graemeboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Dear graemeboro

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you didn't really enjoy your visit to Oldham or our hotel. Best Western hotels pride themselves on being individual and I feel that whilst our hotel is not a new build, it has plenty of personality and charm. We pride ourselves on looking after our guests, which is well demonstrated from the many reviews we receive.

I have respond to your review on our tripadvisor restaurant site, concerning your meal. The dish you ordered from our specials was served with tempura battered green beans, as described. We have a fantastic menu with great choice and are always happy to swap and change items on the menu to meet the needs of our guests.

Hope you give us another try when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My Wife, my son and I stayed for one night; we were attending a wedding at the Hotel. Nice room and friendly staff. Hotel allowed us an extra hour to check out due to the wedding. Breakfast was extra £9 each! Car park is quiet cramped.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samtraveller021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Sam traveller 021

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you had a nice stay and that you liked your room, the late check out and the guest service you received.

Our car park can get busy at certain times but we do have a large overflow next door for such occasions. I of course take on board your feedback about the price of breakfast. It does include an all you can eat hot and cold buffet, hot & cold drinks. Often places advertise breakfast at a far cheaper price but bolt on charges for toast, drinks etc, which soon adds up to a higher price than we charge. I prefer an open and honest pricing, with no hidden charges.

Thank you for staying with us

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Had our wedding at Smokies 12/7/14 and it was just a perfect day. Ceremony, wedding breakfast and evening reception all in the Crompton suite....Staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble....Special thanks to Kathryn, servers and chefs who looked after us that day. Many of our guests commented on how good the food was, especially the evening buffet. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to family and friends in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOHN_Bucky7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear John_Bucky7

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your wedding with us and I am so pleased you had a great day and that we were able to make it special for you. I shall pass on your kind comments to the whole team, especially Kathryn and the head chef.

Don't now be a stranger, come and see us again soon

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stay in Best Western's regularly for work however I was quite disappointed with Smokies after driving from East Sussex all the way up to Oldham (a long drive) I arrived at about ten to ten. I had already asked my partner to check what time they stop serving room service (10pm) and when I arrived I thought as I was nearing the 10pm mark I would just order some quick food when at reception. The man on reception called the kitchen and was on the phone making not impressed faces at me to which I then responded 'if it is going to be that much trouble I'll just go out and get something' anyway long story short I did end up getting my food however only after I was made to feel exceptionally bad about ordering (even though they state online and in the room that they serve until 10pm). Over all not a bad stay but really disappointed with the staff after such great stays elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Grace M

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and am sorry about the issue with rooms service, as it sounds that this spoilt what would have been a good stay otherwise.

I have talked to the head chef to ensure that his team deliver our promise of serving rooms service until 10pm as advertised. This is very out of character for us and hope you can except my apology.

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Booked this Hotel to stay for my sister in laws wedding last weekend. Having booked one of the Superior rooms we were disappointed that the mattress on the bed was very poor with springs sticking in your back.(they did give us another duvet to put under the bottom sheet). Although the room was clean the carpet had a number of stains on and the passageways and stairways up to the room are in desperate need of redecorating.
On both the Saturday and Sunday they had large wedding functions on and we were unable to get breakfast on the Sunday morning as there was a twenty minute wait for a table. I have never experienced this before and find it wholly unacceptable that having paid for a service it was not forthcoming. All in all possibly ok to stay in the week but I would definitely avoid this hotel at weekends.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room at the back of the hotel otherwise you will hear noise from the function rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Janet H

Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear of your disappointment. We are always maintaining our hotel and replacing items that need replacing and would like to apologise that your mattress was not up to standard and has now been replaced. The staircase leading to the superior rooms has also been redecorated

I am also sorry that you did not get too take breakfast with us. As you mentioned, we had large wedding parties staying with us that did make breakfast very busy, especially at the end of service.

Whilst all guests can dine at breakfast whenever they wish, I would recommend coming earlier when the restaurant is often quieter.

I do hope this experience has not put you off staying with BEST WESTERN again as these situations are very uncommon.

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldham
2.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 12 in Oldham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Oldham Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Oldham (Broadway) Hotel
2.0 mi away
247Hotel
247Hotel
#10 of 12 in Oldham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.7 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Smokies Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Smokies Park

Property: Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
Address: Hotel Smokies Park Ashton Road, Oldham OL8 3HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Oldham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Smokies Park 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Manchester on the A627, between Oldham and Ashton-under-Lyne, with Manchester City Centre and Manchester Airport only a short drive away. Each of the delightfully furnished and spacious en-suite bedrooms are complete with 32" Flatscreen Freeview TVs, direct dial telephone and Free Wi-fi, hairdryer, garment press and tea and coffee making facilities, Free Parking and all the facilities you would expect from a modern, comfortable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotelopia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Smokies Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oldham
Best Western Smokies Park
Oldham Best Western
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park Oldham, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing