We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for one night.”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Oldham
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“OK for one night.”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed there whilst attending a football match in Oldham. The hotel is well placed at the side of a main arterial junction to the motorway but you don't hear any noise from the traffic driving closely by. The reception is quite old fashioned and the receptionist was lovely, really helpful and professional. The rooms are standard but imho a little dark. They had a good size and comfy double bed in each, tea/coffee facilities and a small shower/toilet room with plenty of (cheap) gels etc which I didn't use as they smelled cheap and nasty.
The breakfast was extra for us and when we paid for it we were slightly disappointed as whilst there is a small selection of cereal and yogurts we both asked for the biggest 'Full English you do' and got an extremely small, barely cooked breakfast with the cheapest ingredients you could possibly find. Pretty poor really.
My advice, by all means stay at the hotel as it was convenient and pretty comfortable but go elsewhere for the breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid the breakfast if you are hungry and go to a local cafe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    148
    60
    28
    27
See reviews for
123
140
19
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have eaten at this Hotel many times in the last 10-15 years. Today was the best meal we have ever had there. Excellent service and the food was fantastic. The menu offers a wide variety, I had the mixed grill which I highly recommend. The children's menu offered 3/4 choices, they were excellent and presented beautifully. My three had scampi, fish n chips and lasagne and the portion sizes were very generous. The deserts looked very nice and went down well. I could not find any fault with anything.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnshelltinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

When I walked into this hotel I was quite impressed with what I saw. It was very pretty and very very clean. The staff were very very friendly which definitely made the experiance better.
When we walked up the stairs and through the door to the rooms, there was a damp stale smell in the corridor, thankfully this did not go through to the rooms. The room itself for a double room was really small. The shower room was quite small and the shower door did not open fully as it was blocked by the toilet. the sink area was quite small too. I was disappointed there was not a bath. The bathroom door did not shut. The Iron was leaking and it was broken, it is very very old. The bed was very springy and the nights sleep was not comfortable. I must reiterate the staff were very friendly!! Bit disappointed that breakfast is only til 10am on the weekends. I wish I had read that before.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leena1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My friend and I decided to try afternoon tea at the Victoria Hotel. The staff where extremely attentive, the food delicious, the environment great if you just want a good old fashioned chin wag and the price extremely good value.
We will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My mum, daughter and myself had afternoon tea this afternoon(11.4.14) and wanted to express how much we enjoyed the wonderful afternoon. My mum is 80 today. The experience was wonderful, not just "here's your afternoon tea" and ignored throughout - it was an educational experience learning the history of afternoon tea and etiquette of the afternoon tea ritual from Matt in the restaurant.

The staff are absolutely wonderful, so attentive and friendly, nothing was too much trouble.

We were treated so well and we will certainly return again and again!! The whole experience and wonderful staff made my mum a very very happy lady (and also myself and daughter!!!)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndseyAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Only stayed one night ahead of a meeting nearby but found the staff and accommodation here excellent even though I arrived late in the evening. Room was really nice and the hotel is really well located for both the motorway and train station.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesm2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My 60th Birthday Party was held at the Victoria Hotel on the 8th March 2014. Between myself and the hotel staff, a lot of planning had gone into making the party successful. Over 60 guests sat down to a superb meal in the Elizabethan Room, everything was piping hot, the Service was smooth and unhurried. The Bar staff and waiters were both professional and courteous for the whole of the party.There was a large party of us who stayed the night in very comfortable rooms. Even the maids in the morning were pleasant and asked about the party. Breakfast was excellent. What else can I say? The whole of the celebrations were absolutely first class and I would not hesitate in recommending this venue for parties or accommodation. So many of my guests have commented on the wonderful party. Roll on my 70th!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 187069Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldham
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
1.5 mi away
247Hotel
247Hotel
#10 of 12 in Oldham
372 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Oldham
Travelodge Oldham
#8 of 12 in Oldham
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
255 reviews
3.0 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
1,624 reviews
4.8 mi away
The White Hart Inn at Lydgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: Hollinwood Avenue | Chadderton, Oldham OL9 8DE, England (Formerly Bower Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Oldham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 5 miles away from both Manchester City Centre and the beautiful surroundings of the Yorkshire Countryside, The Victoria Hotel in Chadderton is your home away from home. Along with the scenic setting, multifaceted outlets and extensive investment plans in order to bring back the 1800 Victorian style neglected by previous owners, our aim is to become not only a hotel everyone returns to, but a local landmark as well. We offer 67 bedrooms including 28 club rooms, an exquisite function room that perfectly blends Victorian and modern styles, a relaxing restaurant and lounge bar, a stunning terrace and landscaped garden perfect for saying "I do", and a large parking with space for 110 cars. All of this enables us to serve your each and every need, whether you are coming for an idyllic weekend with your loved one, a family reunion, or hosting an event for up to 200 people. Moreover, we are located just off the M60 motorway, a link road to many Manchester attractions including Manchester Airport, The Trafford Centre, Media City, Old Trafford Football Ground and many more. The Victoria Hotel also acts as a Training Academy for focused and ambitious young individuals seeking an apprenticeship in various areas of Hospitality and Catering Industry. The apprentices are trained on site to an elite standard as we aim to help improve the service in the local community, as well as support the local economy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bower Hotel Oldham
The Victoria Hotel Oldham, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing