We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding to Remember”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Oldham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at this fine hotel May 8-12, 2014 and attended the wedding of two dear friends. We were very impressed by all of the staff. They were extremely knowledgeable, helpful, courteous and above all friendly, stopping often to chat with us about the local area and asking us about our part of the world (Niagara Falls, Canada). They treated us like friends as well as honoured guests. The hotel itself was charming and lent itself beautifully to a small wedding. The food was excellent. We especially enjoyed spending time in the lounge/lobby area with our friends. We would highly recommend staying at this hotel to anyone who will be travelling to this part of the world.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

My wife and daughter's second stay at The Victoria, which is very convenient for visiting family in the area. Again, great service, food and accommodation.
All staff are very attentive, friendly and efficient, especially Reception on arrival and departure. We would not stay anywhere else when visiting our family, so we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel exceeded all expectations! Conveniently located, with ample free parking at the door, the pleasant exterior leads to a refurbished lobby with a warm and cosy ambiance. This was confirmed by a delightful, efficient receptionist, who welcomed us, checked us in and directed us to our room in a manner that would not be out of place in a 4-5* setting. Our room was spotlessly clean, with very decent toiletries in the bathroom given the price point. But the truly standout feature here is the restaurant offering - the service, food and setting is exceptional. We were so impressed that we took the opportunity to speak with the proprietor, who advised that they are a training hotel, turning out hospitality professionals. And it shows! Service was prompt, friendly and attentive from delightful waitstaff. The food was INSANELY good - you would easily pay £25+ per plate in London for what here is £10-£15. The proprietor mentioned they will be refurbishing the restaurant around August 2014, with further ambitious plans across the entire property, so it is likely to improve further. In the interim, catch this hidden gem while you can! For us, we have found our "home away from home", and will never stay anywhere else in Greater Manchester!

Room Tip: We were in family room 102 (or possibly 103). This had two very comfortable single and one double b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonAliKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We recently celebrated our wedding day here and had many visitors come from various places, including the UK, Switzerland and Canada and stayed a few days at the hotel. The staff were so accommodating, and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was amazing, both in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner, and for the wedding itself. Rachel Wardyn was our event planner and handled everything for us so we didn't have to worry about the details of the wedding, as we now live in Kent. Matt, the Floor Manager ensured that the food flowed freely during the wedding breakfast and that everyone was served quickly and that the plates were cleared.
They made us feel very special, as well as all of our friends and family (even going to the extent of bringing our 5 year old niece a cake for her birthday and presenting it to her). Everyone was extremely friendly and they catered to all our needs.
Would highly recommend for any occasion or even just an overnight stay. Perfectly located with easy access to the M60, and Metrolink network. We will return for sure.

Room Tip: Friendly staff, great location, just off the M60.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 5ValJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed there whilst attending a football match in Oldham. The hotel is well placed at the side of a main arterial junction to the motorway but you don't hear any noise from the traffic driving closely by. The reception is quite old fashioned and the receptionist was lovely, really helpful and professional. The rooms are standard but imho a little dark. They had a good size and comfy double bed in each, tea/coffee facilities and a small shower/toilet room with plenty of (cheap) gels etc which I didn't use as they smelled cheap and nasty.
The breakfast was extra for us and when we paid for it we were slightly disappointed as whilst there is a small selection of cereal and yogurts we both asked for the biggest 'Full English you do' and got an extremely small, barely cooked breakfast with the cheapest ingredients you could possibly find. Pretty poor really.
My advice, by all means stay at the hotel as it was convenient and pretty comfortable but go elsewhere for the breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid the breakfast if you are hungry and go to a local cafe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have eaten at this Hotel many times in the last 10-15 years. Today was the best meal we have ever had there. Excellent service and the food was fantastic. The menu offers a wide variety, I had the mixed grill which I highly recommend. The children's menu offered 3/4 choices, they were excellent and presented beautifully. My three had scampi, fish n chips and lasagne and the portion sizes were very generous. The deserts looked very nice and went down well. I could not find any fault with anything.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johnshelltinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

When I walked into this hotel I was quite impressed with what I saw. It was very pretty and very very clean. The staff were very very friendly which definitely made the experiance better.
When we walked up the stairs and through the door to the rooms, there was a damp stale smell in the corridor, thankfully this did not go through to the rooms. The room itself for a double room was really small. The shower room was quite small and the shower door did not open fully as it was blocked by the toilet. the sink area was quite small too. I was disappointed there was not a bath. The bathroom door did not shut. The Iron was leaking and it was broken, it is very very old. The bed was very springy and the nights sleep was not comfortable. I must reiterate the staff were very friendly!! Bit disappointed that breakfast is only til 10am on the weekends. I wish I had read that before.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leena1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oldham hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
1.5 mi away
247Hotel
247Hotel
#10 of 11 in Oldham
384 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Oldham (Broadway) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Oldham Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Oldham
Travelodge Oldham
#7 of 11 in Oldham
170 reviews
6.8 mi away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: Hollinwood Avenue | Chadderton, Oldham OL9 8DE, England (Formerly Bower Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Oldham
Price Range: £42 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 5 miles away from both Manchester City Centre and the beautiful surroundings of the Yorkshire Countryside, The Victoria Hotel in Chadderton is your home away from home. Along with the scenic setting, multifaceted outlets and extensive investment plans in order to bring back the 1800 Victorian style neglected by previous owners, our aim is to become not only a hotel everyone returns to, but a local landmark as well. We offer 67 bedrooms including 28 club rooms, an exquisite function room that perfectly blends Victorian and modern styles, a relaxing restaurant and lounge bar, a stunning terrace and landscaped garden perfect for saying "I do", and a large parking with space for 110 cars. All of this enables us to serve your each and every need, whether you are coming for an idyllic weekend with your loved one, a family reunion, or hosting an event for up to 200 people. Moreover, we are located just off the M60 motorway, a link road to many Manchester attractions including Manchester Airport, The Trafford Centre, Media City, Old Trafford Football Ground and many more. The Victoria Hotel also acts as a Training Academy for focused and ambitious young individuals seeking an apprenticeship in various areas of Hospitality and Catering Industry. The apprentices are trained on site to an elite standard as we aim to help improve the service in the local community, as well as support the local economy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bower Hotel Oldham
The Victoria Hotel Oldham, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing