We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grains Bar Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gate Inn(Diggle)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
247Hotel(Oldham)
US$53
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Clough Manor(Denshaw)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
56
29
14
10
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
29
14
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull englishroom was cleana great staylovely hotelblack puddingattending a weddingstayed here for one nightcouldn't do enoughwould stay againensuitepubkettlemealhelentaxisaddleworth
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Having just returned from Honeymoon we wanted to place this review as soon as possible to express our huge gratitude and heartfelt thanks to Pat and All her wonderful staff who gave us the most fantastic Wedding Day and Evening Reception at The Grains Bar Hotel. Not only is the location breathtaking but the standard of support, organisation, accommodation, and food was marvellous in every way!! A perfect weekend for all our guests, Pat and her Team worked tirelessly to make everyone welcome and to give us all the most memorable Wedding Day!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Having just experienced a weekend stay at Grains Bar attending my cousin Lynnes wedding to Paul Martland I cannot praise the owner and staff enough. They ensured we could check in early to get ready for the wedding, the room was beautiful and really clean, Everything about this Hotel was superb. Food was excellent and everyone worked so hard to make it a great day for all. The surrounding countryside and location was superb. We would recommend a trip there to anyone and you wont get a better welcome with all your requirements being met.

Room Tip: All rooms were equally as good
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This is like the set if a" Big Fat Gypsy Wedding " Rubbish and scrap metal everywhere. There were hideous plastic flowers everywhere.The Booking was messed up, the room was very scruffy and the bathroom was not clean, there was a all pervading smell of stale urine. The extractor did not work and the bedroom windows were locked shut hence the stale stink. Fire alarms were not working and Fire Doors were propped open, there was a chair blocking the Fire Exit The Breakfast took over 45 minutes to appear and was disgusting, sausage from Aldi or Lidl,, a tiny slice of tomato half a mushroom with horrid hash browns and a sea of slimy beans , Oh yes and it was almost cold.. Certainly not worth £78 . Take my advice avoid like the plague,

Room Tip: Do not stay here
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nicolas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Arrangements were made for a small family reunion and my uncle booked to stay the night, on arrival a young lady greeted us and we explained we were meeting a relative who hadn't yet arrived, we were made very welcome, having wondered off to look at the lovely views, returning we found my mother with a mug of coffee chatting to Pat like they had known each other for years.
We had our reunion in the lounge/bar area upstairs which was very comfortable, the evening meal was a lovely home cooked meal, cottage pie, homemade chips with gravy, green beans and for pudding apple pie with cream or icecream.
Can't comment on the rooms as we were unable to stay the night and was disappointed to have to leave, the staff were really nice and looked after us brilliantly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benidormgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I stayed here recently which was a last minute arrangement due to work commitment.
On arrival i was greeted by a young lady who was extremely professional in her job,yet made me feel like i was family.
The room was spotless with amazing views over the moors,and very competitively priced.
The food there was very good also,well presented and good value for money.
The staff that work there are some of the nicest people i have ever met,nothing was ever too much trouble for them.
If your looking for somewhere in the area with a home from home feel,then you will definitely not be disappointed.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews