We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20 years of food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Hart Inn at Lydgate
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Oldham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The White Hart is celebrating 20 years of being at Lydgate and we have been eating there on and off for 15 of them. In that time we have had very few meals that we did not enjoy. Sat night we ate there and had a very good meal. For starters we had rabbit pate, vegetable à la grecque and crab ravioli both excellent, then braised ox cheek, serrano ham, potato butter, kale and slow cooked pork neck with an apple sauce. Also excellent although the mains did not come with any thing substantial which for the price could be included rather then having to pay for side dishes. Pudding was chocolate, peanut butter, caramelised bananas, delicious but I did take some issue with as the "bananas" actually consisted of two pieces. A bit mean I thought. Overall good food and good service and will return again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 518dkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

Visited the Brasserie with friends, there was four of us in total. We had a reservation for 8.30PM, arrived early and had a drink in the bar. We were then shown to our table and were presented with the menus. The menu is not a very big menu, and I would suggest that if you are a picky eater, this is not a menu for you. Very very good standard of food and presentation. When our dishes arrived we all had something quirky on our plates that we did not recall reading on the menu, unless we missed it... I found that the menu was worded slightly ambiguously, which is really not needed. The service was efficient, however I would say that at time it was over the top and forced. The restaurant is very nice, has plenty of parking, maybe a struggle if there is a function on. I will definitely return to this restaurant and it is fairly local.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CL232012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Visited for a anniversary meal with my partner, Monday afternoon very quiet and cosy (perfect for me) Amazing food & service. Set in an picture perfect location! Food presented beautifully and tasted just as good as it looked too! V.happy! Will be returning again very shortly!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Daniellemary123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Just over a year ago we started our search for a very special wedding venue. A place that could accommodate all our family and friends and that would work with us in creating something tailored to our tastes and imagination - a little different from the usual ceremony, sit down meal and evening booze up and disco.

We met with Charles, the White Hart's owner, back at the start of the year. After confirming which dates were available we outlined our wedding vision - a winter wonderland theme with a Christmas markets feel throughout the reception, stalls lining the room with an exciting selection of foods from different cultures and traditions for people to browse and sample rather than a sit down 3 or 4 courses and coffee. Charles not only took on board the concept, he enthused about it and on the spot started sketching out ideas and plans.

The hotel's main function suite, the Oak Room is a wonderful space - modern built (therefore well equipped and flexible) but in a solid and traditional style in keeping with the old part of the building - the original White Hart Inn which still functions as a top quality pub. Light and airy with a central skylight and oak beams, it was large enough to accommodate everyone - up to 250 in the evening - and a great canvas for our wedding designer, the exceptional Mat Hepplestone of Red Floral Architecture, to play with and make sparkle with our white and crystal wonderland theme.

Massive praise must go to Charles' team. Our main contact, Clare, was patient, very approachable and detailed in her planning in the face of, at times, some fairly challenging calls from our side. Her calm expertise ensured that as the day came close, the final touches, the room bookings and a variety of other requests that could have been testing for the venue at any time of the year, let alone smack bang in the heart of Christmas function season, were all handled in a very friendly but professional and helpful way.

On the day itself, Phil was the venue's champion and a total legend. There were a number of highly pressured moments in turning round the room, ensuring all the stalls were out and continuously stocked and managing what was a fairly novel concept in food delivery. At times we saw Phil and his staff were pushed pretty hard but he and they coped brilliantly - he was fantastic at ensuring things ran smoothly and maintaining his cool in reassuring me they were in control.

The menu was devised and interpreted by the White Hart's head chef, Michael. We had 7 stalls placed around the room - including a roasted meat carvery, seafood, winter warmer soups, Greek dishes, curry, heritage cheeses and breads and desserts. It was a triumph - so brilliantly executed. Every stall had 3 or four different offers - the seafood included fine English oysters and gravadlax - the greek stall had a melt in the mouth large leg of kleftico (slow roasted lamb) and mousaka- the curry stall had a naggaaland lamb dish that was one of the best I've ever had - the carvery had succulent roast pork and beef and the passion fruit creme brûlée from the dessert stall was heavenly.

On the face of it may sound like a glorified buffet - but it was so much more. People were encouraged to slowly graze - there was no random plate stacking, in fact we didn't supply large plates on the tables, but each morsel and helping was provided with its own individual plate or bowl and most people flowed around the room chatting, mingling and sampling from every stall as was the plan. Even though the stalls were regularly topped up over the three hours of the reception, the one Achilles heel to the concept was that some of the stalls were just so popular as the food was so good, people queued endlessly and snapped up the plates so quickly the kitchen struggled to cope - even so we got few complaints as there was more than enough. It made the whole affair fluid, exciting, sociable and an absolute pleasure. We know that Phil and the kitchen behind him were working like a steam train at full speed to keep up and we thank them so much - but the day was swanlike - graceful and easy in public with the staff expending huge energy behind the scenes.

As was the plan, the evening reception was really just an extension of the daytime - a few of the tables were moved for the band and the dance floor and a flood of new guests arrived - and were still able to browse the stalls for the food and enjoy the ambience.

The whole day revolved around the Oak Room - it would have been possible to hire the dining area next door as well, but the room was large enough for all our guests and we judged at the time that the extra cost wasn't necessary. This did mean that there was limited space outside in the entrance and cloakroom area (which has seat) for a few of the older guests to be able to get away from the main room and the hustle, bustle and music - the pub area was pretty busy in the evening too - but this was a minor thing. If you are thinking of hiring the venue and think you need a more relaxed space as well, the dining area may be something to think about.

After the main function was over, we retreated into the pub area (with its fine selection of real ales, wines, whiskies and a well presented traditional, cosy, gastro-pub setting) which was kept open for us and our staying guests until around 3am when the last stragglers finally retired.

There are some very attractive, if not extensive, garden areas around the Oak Room which were idea for some of the photographs - and also an interesting contrast of some views over the Saddleworth moor area on two sides and several miles down the valley to the distant Manchester city centre from the front.

The hotel rooms, located in the older part of the building are very comfortable and well equipped in traditional decor and style. Not overly large, but all with a good range of facilities - we spent very little conscious time in ours to be honest, but got a wonderful night's sleep after the exertions of the day in a comfortable bed, as did all of our other resident guests.

To complete the excellent service and special touches, everyone from our party who stayed the night was provided with a gorgeous traditionally cooked breakfast in a private area of the restaurant - including menus printed with our names.

Overall we had the most amazing wedding day - a huge thanks to the White Hart and it's exceptional team. It's a top quality venue with great pride and passion about the service it delivers and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a wedding venue, fine restaurant, quality place to stay while visiting the area - or simply a decent pint of beer!

They turned our dream into a reality - we got our winter wonderland wedding.

Andrew.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andrew_Sl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I'm going to keep this brief...

We used the White Hat as the hotel for my family and friends during my wedding weekend. We did not have the wedding there (thankfully), but filled 80% of the rooms.

1. They kept free the wedding room in case they got a wedding. They didn't and then just gave it to one of our late confirming friends, not even thinking to offer it to us.

2. The rooms were so hot it was unbearable. No air conditioning, just a couple of fans from reception we enough apparently!

3. We were told the hotel bar was open until we left. That didn't happen. At two o'clock the bar staff were so drunk they asked us to leave. That's right, drunken bar staff!

4. In the morning we were told we'd all be having a full English as that was "easier for the chefs", when one of our friends stated they were vegetarian she was told that they'd "see what they could do, but no promises". Granted, the food was fine, but the staff were untrained and arrogant.

5. After being totally unsatisfied with our stay we complained in person and by letter and were not given anything other than pithy, pompous responses.

An awful hotel, with delusions of grandeur. It's snobby management coupled with arrogant (when sober) staff make this place worse than an inner city Novotel but without the finesse and charm.

AVOID.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
8  Thank andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We normally spend Christmas Day with family but this year they are away, so myself my husband and daughter booked into the white hart. The service was superb from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The menu was 6 courses and the food was excellent from the cauliflower cappuccino to the passion fruit soufflé. my daughter who is 11 ate every course that was served to her, she especially liked the lemon sole with crab bisque and said its the best christmas dinner she's ever had. I liked how they got children involved and didn't leave them out, she was also given a present at the end of the meal. I would highly recommend christmas dinner at the white hart, and hopefully go again next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank taylor667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We went to a wedding at this hotel on the 27th September. Just wanted to share how superb everything was. The service was brilliant and the standard of food was exceptional. The food was hot and not overcooked like many of our wedding experiences have been. They did an evening buffet which had unusual and very tasty dishes. Would recommend to anyone in the area looking for a wedding venue.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizsargeant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldham
4.3 mi away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
269 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Gate Inn
The Gate Inn
#1 of 1 in Diggle
66 reviews
3.3 mi away
Saddleworth Hotel
Saddleworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Delph
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Oldham Central Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Broadoak Hotel
The Broadoak Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
189 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Inn at Lydgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Inn at Lydgate

Address: 51 Stockport Road | Lydgate, Saddleworth, Oldham OL4 4JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Oldham
Price Range: £135 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hart Inn at Lydgate 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and refurbished in all areas, this traditional Coaching Inn offers a Brasserie with log fires, a bar full of cask ales and an enviable wine list. Or try the Cocktail Bar and Dining Room for the chef's tasting menu. The AA rates the rooms as Gold Standard 4 star in the 2017 Guide and the kitchen is recommended in the Good Food Guide 2017 (Joint 3rd best Restaurant in Greater Manchester) Michelin Dining Out in pubs guide 2017 - Inspectors Pick Michelin Hotel and Restaurant Guide 2017 with two separate listing for the Brasserie and Dining Room The AA Restaurant Guide 2017 two rossettes We hope you enjoy our hospitality. Charles Brierley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The White Hart Inn at Lydgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart At Lydgate Hotel Oldham
The White Hart Inn At Lydgate Oldham, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing