We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good honest food”
Review of Rozafa Taverna

Rozafa Taverna
Ranked #44 of 568 Restaurants in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$53
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good honest food”
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

I pop in after work and really enjoy my visits not a place for a special occasion though but honest and basic cooking

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geofhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    54
    19
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“love it”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

love it here ,food great and cheap great atmosphere nice staff ,always try to fit you in at last min top place

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“authentic greek restaurant a hidden gem”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

please dont be put off by the outside yes its a small entrance with stairs but once you get in you get a warm welcome with authentic greek food tony may tell you a joke and is very warm and friendly we have a laugh with him last time we had the meze we couldnt finish it its lovely home made food ... so much so next time im in there im going to ask him for his tatzki receipe,,,,,

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank l0nny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Ok, but over rated by many”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

After hearing much about this place I finally visited last Sunday with family. The place is indeed strange and at first glance you wonder what you will be getting for your money.
Service was ok but a little low, only 1 waiter working all the tables. The food was fine but certainly doesn't reach the standards of a fine dining establishment, presentation could also be improved upon. The waiter likes to deliver his quips as many on here have said but after the 1st few jokes he really is scraping the barrel and you really want him to stop.
To be fair the place was quite busy for a Sunday evening and several of the customers were clearly regulars so it seems to suit some people.
I think the high ratings are more to do with value/price than quality and although I wouldn't avoid going again there is definitely better to be had elsewhere locally.
Would probably rate it as "good" if it was available but not worth a very good IMO.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 18SCFC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spend your money somewhere else”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Very disappointing. The kleftico looked and tasted poor, smothered in a rich sauce that overpowered the lamb.... Swordfish overcooked,reminiscent of cardboard with garlic butter, slapped on plate with pile of rice, no garnish.......rest of our meal poor and bland, Cypriot wine at £15 a bottle for gods sake!! Tasted like a poor Sauvignon ..... Restaurant like an attic room with a bar and please don't get me started on the toilet........avoid.....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherry19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rozafa Taverna also viewed

Stockport, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Rozafa Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing