We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff, Nice Food and comfortable rooms.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deanwater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deanwater Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Staff, Nice Food and comfortable rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

I was nervous about attending a course at this hotel on my own. I needn't. have worried.
The staff were all very friendly. I didn't feel awkward dining alone. The room was nicely decorated and I had a view over the fields.
The course was well organised and everyone complimented the lunch.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loz051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    38
    30
    12
    6
See reviews for
29
31
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

I booked this hotel because of it's close proximity to a business meeting I was attending the next day in Poynton on 25th January.

What you see on the home page of their website is the impressive old house, which I understand is a wedding and conference venue, but the hotel itself was a disappointing motel-type affair 'round the back.

The bathroom was clean enough, but with acres of fake beech-effect furniture, plastic flowers and faux plastic chairs, my bedroom had the distinct look and feel of a retirement home and I definitely won't be going back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L4dge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

Very comfortable room, bed was first class, Shower was lovely and hot. Staff all very friendly, great meal.

Stayed over new years eve and attended a very well organised dinnerdance

Bathroom needs a blind..

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y201499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

A hugely overpriced hotel providing cramped basic motel style accommodation under the pretext of "country retreat". The rooms are dreary, the bar and lounge area cramped and and the young bar & dining room staff slow and obviously untrained.

The breakfast was very average

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rosinante_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

Stayed here courtesy of parents in law (thankyou) for a family wedding so cannot comment on price. Myself and husband had a spacious double room at far end of complex and our teenage children had a twin next door. The bed was supremely comfortable and the room decor nice.The room overlooked a stream and open countryside at the back. The bathroom was sizable however would have liked a proper blind or curtain over window as I felt a lack of privacy with light on. Toilet roll was the cheapest ever too but apart from that everything else was great. We were made to feel very welcome by the girl on reception even though we had arrived before our rooms were quite ready. We ordered sandwiches from the bar at lunch. These were very nice and reasonably priced. The wedding went without a hitch and there were plenty of staff to cope with our large party of 150 day guests. The wedding meal was good and there was plenty of it. Despite the numbers of guests (there was another wedding on at same time) it was very quiet in our room and we slept very well. In the morning there was a good cooked breakfast available plus a range of lighter options and the service was friendly and efficient. This hotel is well organised and friendly and I would recommend for a wedding venue.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vebeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

The location is nice. The approach and flowers outside is cute. The receptionist was fine.
The room smelt damp and stuffy, even after opening the windows. The beds squeeked. The breakfast was adequate. The staff were young kids more eager to talk to each other than deal with guests.
This is Stockport; you could do much worse

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dzonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2008

If you're looking for a hotel with lots of facilities & star ratings this probably isn't for you but to quietly celebrate my parents' diamond wedding anniversary it fitted the bill very well. It is comfortable & unassuming whilst the staff were very attentive & helpful.

The bedrooms are in another building a few yards from the main hotel. Whilst initially this seemed a slightly surprising arrangement it had the advantage that the rooms were therefore slightly bigger than is sometimes found in hotels of this age.

Other comments can be found in the Cheshire Forums section of Trip Advisor.

  • Liked — Helpful staff
  • Disliked — The bath/shower could be more disabled friendly
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian28Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
1.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
4.2 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#5 of 15 in Stockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
3.4 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
3.4 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Prestbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deanwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deanwater Hotel

Property: Deanwater Hotel
Address: Wilmslow Road | Woodford, Stockport SK7 1RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Deanwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Deanwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deanwater Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing