We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant”
Review of Deanwater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deanwater Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Stayed here with some colleagues for work purposes and I was pleasantly surprised. It's not part of a chain and is family owned and it shows - the little things that make the difference, nothing is a bother and the staff are always willing to help and whilst some of the staff are young they are attentive, good and always willing to talk. It is definitely unique and that's good, it's an old building and I mean old 15 hundreds or something and then bits have been added on over the few hundred years or I guess with a relatively modern accommodation section. The setting are fantastic very peaceful and quiet. It's not got all the mod cons of some of the larger chains but as a venue for a do it looks great and seems to be busy with weddings etc and as a stop over can't fault it.. I would go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MStendec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed at the Deanwater Hotel whilst in the area for a friend's wedding. I guess they are able to keep busy as they host a lot of weddings (well, three that I know of over Friday/Saturday this weekend - and I'm sure that's not unusual!) and are reasonably close to Manchester Airport, but the room rates are a little high considering what's on offer.

The motel-style room was comfortable enough, if a little basic, and the décor very dated, but there is no way to dim the lights (only to choose which of several wall mounted lights to have on), it's not possible to deadlock the front door, water "glasses" in the room are plastic, and it's not really of the standard I'd expect for a £95-130 a night hotel. Added to that, the checkout time of 10.30 is a little early and the tone of the notices reminding you of this do not give the impression that it's worth asking for a late checkout...

Next time, I'll pay a little more and stay with one of the larger chains...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarkAWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Stayed here while attending a friends wedding; the wedding itself was very well organised and efficiently run, making it an enjoyable day for all. The room was comfortable, well appointed with a huge bathroom, spotlessly clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Stayed at the Deanwater over the weekend whilst attending a friends wedding, the older part of the hotel as seen from the road and predominently advertised on their website contains the reception area, function rooms, restaurant and bar. The accommodation part of the hotel is motel style located around the back of the original building at the end of the car park.

Unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate so we were unable to use the beautiful hotel grounds for the wedding photos, the country location makes the hotel a quite place to stay. The terraces behind the function rooms are well maintained and a lovely place to wander and sit outside and enjoy some fresh air during an event.

Our bedroom overlooked a small overflow car park and mature trees, beyond which lay the river and farm land. The motel style accommodation may not be old fashioned and in keeping with the traditional style of the main part of the hotel but has been designed well and to my opinion works well. Upon entering the bedroom you have a small entrance way, one door leads to the bedroom and the other to the bathroom. This space means that you are not immediately attached to the corridor to the other rooms and when late night revelers return to their rooms, their noise is muffled and helps with the peaceful atmosphere of the bedrooms.

The bathroom contained an electric shower over bath, toilet, sink and fluffy towels and neutragena toiletries. The water pressure wasn't great but the temperature stayed constant.

Our bedroom contained a long desk with two stools/chairs, a mirror, hairdryer, draw units, double bed, trouser press, tea tray, tub chair & large wardrobe. The long desk ensured plenty of space to get ready and there was still plenty of room to move around. We had a good nights sleep and enjoyed our breakfast in the main restaurant the next day.

We would recommend this hotel for anybody looking for a quite hotel with friendly staff, whilst there isn't much immediately surrounding the hotel the road connections mean it is easy to get to lots of nearby attractions quickly and there is a folder in the hotel bedrooms recommending places to visit.

Thank you to all the staff who helped make our friends wedding a lovely event with lots of happy memories.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeaRoseBakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Attended a family wedding here and overall it was ok. Grounds lend themselves to photos. nice sunny terrace and food better than average. However it was frustrating to find a quirk that meant they were unable to take cards at the bar. Bit like a Torguay guest house, they would accept drinks being charged to a guest room and then (presumably) accept credit card payment on check out - so they have the facilities but have not joined the dots. The stinging bar prices meant that the 60 quid I had in cash soon disapeared and we were left drinkless for a good part of the evening.

Customer facing staff were generally very young and polite - but no help with the above apart from directions to a cash machine about a mile away.

I can't reccomend the hotel as I did not stay there - but the motel style room block looked ok from the outside.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonLMacclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I was nervous about attending a course at this hotel on my own. I needn't. have worried.
The staff were all very friendly. I didn't feel awkward dining alone. The room was nicely decorated and I had a view over the fields.
The course was well organised and everyone complimented the lunch.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loz051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

I booked this hotel because of it's close proximity to a business meeting I was attending the next day in Poynton on 25th January.

What you see on the home page of their website is the impressive old house, which I understand is a wedding and conference venue, but the hotel itself was a disappointing motel-type affair 'round the back.

The bathroom was clean enough, but with acres of fake beech-effect furniture, plastic flowers and faux plastic chairs, my bedroom had the distinct look and feel of a retirement home and I definitely won't be going back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L4dge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
1.6 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,639 reviews
4.4 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#6 of 15 in Stockport
525 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#9 of 15 in Stockport
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
4.3 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
1.8 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#2 of 5 in Wilmslow
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deanwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deanwater Hotel

Address: Wilmslow Road | Woodford, Stockport SK7 1RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range: £69 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deanwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Deanwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deanwater Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing