We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and beware of the steps”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Deanwater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deanwater Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
England
Level Contributor
380 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Quirky and beware of the steps”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

A very quirky hotel with what must be one the most worst in the UK for disabled clients and wheelchair users due to the amazing amount of steps and stairs in the hotel . The main sleeping block is like a throwback to the 70's resembling a spanish concrete bloxk with rooms off a maze of corridors and ...steps ! Bathroom not off main bedroom but off hallway behind front door , weird . Very freindly but eccentric staff with the hotel restaurant serving good wholesome food , very good breakfasts . Good value and all in all ok .

Room Tip: Request lower floor if you don't like steps !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick7p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    39
    31
    12
    6
See reviews for
29
32
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Davenham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Attending a recent funeral reception I was delighted to discover that my small dog could stay with me at the reception. This was first class and such a small gesture of service but went such a long way. Jumped up country pubs could do with remembering that too! Well done Deanwater.

Room Tip: Did not stay - daytime event only
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

On a recent visit to this hotel, I was informed that the General Manager was absent and I asked to speak with the Duty Manager. Her name was Sarah. The bar staff appeared too frightened to disclose her surname which was very unprofessional in its own right. Sarah was extremely rude in the way that she spoke to me. Her manner was appalling from start to finish and in all of the years that I have been visiting this hotel, I have never witnessed such rudeness and lack of professionalism. This is a lovely local hotel and I am concerned that such staff members can ruin a friendly relationship which has existed for plus 20 years.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ddi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

tried to book a group here - spoke to them and said plenty of availabilty - double checked dates. Made appointment to call travelled hour and half to see them and they were fully booked - staff didn't seem bothered - they must have looked at wrong page. Terrible service

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We spent a second New Year's Eve at the Deanwater with my sister and husband. This hotel is only six miles form home but the event is excellent and the offer of a double room with a bag breakfast for £50 per couple makes it easier than trying to get a taxi home. The rooms are very comfortable, modern and well equipped for a longer stay than we were bothered about. We asked for a ground floor room to provide easier access for my sister and this was reserved without problem.
The dinner dance was of equally high standard on both our experiences which is why we went back. Its never easy to provide a quality meal for 120 people at one sitting, but the chefs and waiting staff managed it very well and with a very pleasant and helpful service. The disco went on till 2.00 with a good selection of music for all tastes from Scottish tunes at midnight to sixties memorabilia and a bit of rave for the younger couples. All in all a good New Year's Eve experience.
We also used the hotel for lunches during the year and the meals and service are comparable with the many hotels and pubs that provide lunchtime fayre.

Room Tip: There are limited access facilities for disabled guests since the rooms are built over a sloping sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdenGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Impressive hotel from outside, easy to find, staff very helpful and courteous, we had Xmas lunch, superior food, each course served at well timed intervals, two bars, the tudor bar, one could order bar meals, we had strips of steak on a muffin, salad garnish with chips, which tasted beautiful. We had low floor double room which was warm and cosy, bath, shower, host tray, iron, ironing board, extra pillows and large Tv. Breakfast usual serve yourself cereals etc, cooked breakfast brought to the table. Altogether a very pleasant experience at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterMichael_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

we have stayed in this hotel on many occasions. the hotel is very cosy and has a certain english charm. also it is situated in the little town of wilmslow which is perfect if you want to have a quiet break but also take advantage of the numerous things that manchester has to offer (20 mins drive). the staff are very friendly and the rooms are clean and tidy. the food here is amazing and the menu has alot of variety.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
1.6 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
4.4 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#6 of 15 in Stockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
4.6 mi away
Wycliffe Hotel
Wycliffe Hotel
#4 of 15 in Stockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deanwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deanwater Hotel

Property: Deanwater Hotel
Address: Wilmslow Road | Woodford, Stockport SK7 1RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Deanwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Deanwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deanwater Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing