We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms OK, more of an event location. Great service.”
Review of Deanwater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deanwater Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2013

A wedding/event venue some miles south of Manchester on a country road. Nice setting with gardens, neighbouring sheep paddocks and a lake/pond or two. Reception/bar/restaurant appears to be an old converted farm house. The main event suites, dining room and bar area are well appointed. The rooms are in a variety of 2-storey wings (presumably of more recent construction) fanning out from the main area. Lots of sets of little steps up and down to get to your room, no ramps or elevators so don’t take a heavy bag. The room was pleasant and quiet (couldn't hear the band at the wedding party we left early back in our room at all), queen bed. The bathroom had little space to put anything other than a small glass shelf and the window sill. Shower worked well, water hot. Heating efficient. WiFi 5 GBP per day (I’d rather they just included it in the room rate, like hot water, TV or heating!). Weak signal in our room, but Ethernet cable worked fine.

Excellent food and service in the restaurant, and at the wedding function we were attending.

The hallways could do with a bit more maintenance and sweeping/cleaning.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor of one of the room blocks, pretty quiet. Couldn't hear the party in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank transcon_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

The hotel grounds you cannot fault, bedroom very clean and tidy and a great price for B & B what I did find slightly annoying was having to wait for the bar person to reappear !!! Whilst we were there early doors we ordered a drink for 3 out of the 4 of us that were present and told the bar person there was 1 more to come. He disappeared. My colleague was then left for a good 10 mins without a drink and this happened at various times throughout the evening ( not to the same colleague!!). The food in the restaurant was tasty and hot but again the service was disjointed with service disappearing On the whole would recommend this hotel but bear in mind you may have to wait

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheppypeppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Stayed here for a family gathering (wedding). The first evening meal was really bland, the service was poor; we had to keep asking for condiments, drinks, utensils.

Breakfast was brilliant. Wedding breakfast was absolutely fabulous.

The rooms were nice and bright and very warm. There were oodles of hot water for a nice soak in the bath, and a nice shower too.

The rooms were not serviced on one day.

There is an extra charge for wifi, which I think these day is terrible!

TV reception was poor.

Nice grounds.

The light switches awkwardly placed, and the bath had hairs in it

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Razor1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I arrived to talk to the RAeS Manchester Branch, and thought the venue was excellent . The meal after the lecture was very good ; my room in the annexe was the same, and it had a bath = bonus .....
The hotel isn't that easy to find for strangers , and those with Sat Nav (Which I don't have), should use SK7 1RH to find it (Not post code SK7 1RJ), but was situated in a pleasant environment well away from noisy roads . Wilmslow near by is rather posh with a good mix of shops, as I drove by.
The hotel is a short ride away from several railway stations for those using the train.
Overall , I was warm & comfortable , well fed , and would happily stay again.

Room Tip: I couldn't fault my room in the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian-engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Stayed with wife and 3 year old to be with grandparents for their birthday celebration THERE. No family rooms are available at this hotel, but parents assured an additional bed would be put into a standard double room (for an extra £20). On arrival in the room for bedtime WITH SLEEPING toddler, saw that the "bed" was just a narrow sunlounger mattress laid on the floor - right against the (very hot - stayed in February) room radiator, as no space elsewhere! Not really an acceptable compromise, and really took the shine off parents celebration.

Room Tip: Check room before payment if additional space for children required, to check this has been provided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5ticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Very spacious conference room with attached lounge, Calm setting. Private coffe and lunch in lounge. Restaurant with enjoyable above average pub fare. Highly recommended budget choice. However many power cuts (experienced from two visits).

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed here last weekend for a friends wedding. The front door isn't the front with reception round the back. The main hotel, bar and dining room is in the style if a Tudor hall complete with a minstrels gallery and suit of armour. There is a large car park to the rear so plenty of parking. The wedding was in recent extension hall. This was transposed from the wedding area to the dining area very smoothly and efficiently whilst we had a champagne reception and photos in the adjoining second bar and gardens. Food and service was good. We ate in the restaurant first night and the bacon and black pudding stack was lovely. Burger was a little dry especially the bun. Breakfast was adequate and filling with croissants cereal and toast with a cooked breakfast to follow. 2 bacon 1 sausage 1 egg and mushrooms. Black pudding was not available even though I asked. Service was a little slow Saturday morning indicating that they struggle with large numbers or they forgot about us..!
The rooms are not attached to the main building and although it is possible to get from the restaurant without getting wet it was not immediately obvious until the following night.
The rooms are in what appears to be a 1960s -70s box in a dog leg shape that reminded me of something out of crossroads. The rooms are well appointed but a little dated with boxed in fluorescent tubes on opposite Walls.the room was large with a decent sized king. We also had 6 ft square entrance hall. Sprung loaded doors led to the ensuite and main room. Shower was over the bath but lacked water pressure but was still adequate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
1.6 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,615 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
146 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#6 of 15 in Stockport
522 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Handforth) Hotel
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Adlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deanwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deanwater Hotel

Address: Wilmslow Road | Woodford, Stockport SK7 1RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range: £71 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deanwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Deanwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deanwater Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing