We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Deanwater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deanwater Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I use this hotel frequently on business and, thanks to the recent refurbishment, completed last week, its an even better place to stay.

The bedrooms are spotless, the beds great and the showers always hot.

The staff are excellent, always going the extra mile and I've used the conference facilities too which are great.

Food is very good indeed and overall the hotel provides everything required , and more.

Just wish they would re-open the swimming pool :-)

Room Tip: If you sleep lightly, ask for a room away from the stream. It may keep you awake!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Deanwater Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is motel style accommodation . Our room had been completely refurbished and reappointed . It was clean and comfortable. unfortunately the peeling paint, rusty railing ,cigarette butts and general run down feeling as you approach your room really lets this establishment down . Having said that the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. The dining room and bar area are cosy and friendly , but the food is very average.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetoholiday044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel is a very good choice for a wedding reception, good food, service and lovely settings for photo's. The red coated toastmaster ( Roger I think his name was) was a real asset to the occasion. He was a great help to our son, who was doing the photo's and was prepared to 'go the extra mile' to ensure everything went to plan.
The room we had, however, was somewhat disappointing. It was no different than you would get at a Travelodge for example. When entering the room there was a distinct stale smell ( like an old hoover bag, as my husband described it).
Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spottedzebra58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights on business. Hotel ideally placed for me, visiting Stockport and Macclesfield. The hotel buildings are really old which gives great character; the rooms are more recent, well appointed, large and comfortable.

Ate in the restaurant both nights; good food and reasonably priced and really, really hot! Breakfasts were good (full English). Restaurant is quite olde worlde but not overdone.

Room Tip: Had room 168 - in separate block, would recommend this as it has views over the fields
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My wife and I were taken to the restaurant for lunch by friends. We were quite satisfied with the quality of the food served by friendly attentive staff. The ambiance was quiet and comfortable and we were not rushed nor ignored. The prices were average for the area.
We would go again.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at a family wedding. Rooms ok, although very, very dated (80's), bed comfy, but room quite dirty in "hidden" areas such as behind the tv...you may ask why I was looking behind the tv, well, this was because the remote control didn't work, so channels had to be changed manually.
Nice space for the wedding breakfast, well thought out.
The problem was the service...staff seamed more intent on gathering at the bar to chat rather than attend to guests. Breakfast the next morning we noticed chips under some tables, so cleaning obviously isn't a high priority.
I stay in hotels for business a lot in the uk, and this is very, very overpriced for what you get.
Newspapers are not delivered to the rooms, you need to collect from reception, which isn't connected to the rooms, so if its raining you need to get wet to get your papers....no relaxing lie in with the papers on a Sunday morning.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank grenada2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Very pleasant one night stay. Nice welcome and comfortable room. The site has been under development since Tudor times, with Victorian and more recent additions, so a walk around the well kept grounds is a must. Seemingly caters mainly for older people; although the site is large there isn't much to keep children interested. The menu is a little unexciting, reminiscent of the 70s, but the food I had was fresh and tasty,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomdaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
1.6 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,583 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
123 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Adlington
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Handforth) Hotel
3.2 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deanwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deanwater Hotel

Address: Wilmslow Road | Woodford, Stockport SK7 1RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range: £84 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deanwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Deanwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deanwater Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing