We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Indian restaurant ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heaton Tandoori

Heaton Tandoori
Ranked #66 of 542 Restaurants in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Out of all the Indian restaurants I have visited worldwide, Heaton Tandoori beats them all by miles! the staff are amazing and make you feel very welcome, I have been visiting Heaton Tandoori for 4 years for special occasions and family meals and have never been disappointed, the food is amazing and the atmosphere is great, if you haven't tried it already, visit and you won't be disappointed!! =)

Helpful?
1 Thank jamiesince1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    34
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Love eating here always get great service and really good food. It does maintain somewhat of a "classic" look but all adds to the atmosphere in my opinion. Not overpriced and in my opinion the best curry on the moor.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trebor2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
127 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We visited on a recommendation, and food and service were very good. There was a healthy crowd for a weekday evening, which was a positive sign, but seems true for most of the places on Shaw Road. The 1980s atmosphere took the edge off a little bit. Locals seem to be divided between here and Kushoom Koly just up the road. Perhaps more of a curry connoisseur might know where their respective strengths lie.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Docsology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“nice restaurant but food just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had a meal here with a friend. Nice atmosphere, service good. Food was nicely presented but average and a little too bland for me. Could not really taste much spice - and I like it medium hot.

I always have dhal and it is my favourite dish. This was disappointing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LynnK21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good Curry, tied with Kush.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This curry house has amazing food to offer, the meals are generous and you are served rather speedily, however the staff there just seem to be "grumpy" and not enthusiastic about what they're doing, which adds a negative vibe to the place, but I guess when you're eating amazing food this could be over looked.

The restaurant itself could do with a bit of a re fit, chuck some mood lighting in maybe.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank simonjamesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heaton Tandoori also viewed

Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Heaton Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing