We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class, hospitality, value, and location"”
Review of The Red Bull

The Red Bull
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red Bull
Ranked #1 of 7 Stockport B&B and Inns
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First class, hospitality, value, and location"”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This was our first time at the Red Bull, Stockport,staff very friendly and welcoming,well stocked bar, food looked delicious. Room was beautiful, spotlessly clean,great facilities, with a good sized bathroom with a powerful shower and bath,,slept great the three nights we were there bed was so comfortable, fresh towels daily, coffee and tea facilities,nice touch of continental breakfast and fruit juice if required, and a small fridge to keep drinks cool. First night there was quiz night, great atmosphere, food was excellent, very reasonably priced, staff couldnt be more helpful, family run pub, a good choice of beers, had to try them all, !!!, so good. If out late, entry is gained through a back door, well lit and easy to find, as Karen pointed this out on arrival. Could not fault this pub, would stay again, highly reccomend you stay there, Full marks to Karen, Alex, and all the staff, will make sure we are there for sunday roast next time, locals said it was the best in town, cant wait.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    26
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
27
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

Arrived at the red bull after a short walk from the station. Asked to pay upfront before seeing the room which took me by surprise, however I should not have been concerned as the room was lovely and spotlessly clean. Special mention for the bath and shower which was powerful and hot. Staff downstairs were very friendly and helpful, and the food and beer delicious. Only thing i would say is when we came back in the evening the pub was closed so we had to use the door round the back which we had trouble finding as it was not clearly sign posted. However this was explained to us on arrival, and we were a bit tipsy due to the number of real ale pubs in the area so maybe our fault anyway.
Loved it and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie_potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My second stay at the Red Bull. Friendly staff, nice bar and reasonable food. Nice clean room with good facilities, but the only breakfast option is some cereal and fruit juice in the room which for me is absolutely fine.

Take pot luck with the local parking.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2012

the red bull is undoubtedly the best bar in stockport...
warm friendly welcome from karen and all her lovely personnel..
yummy locally sourced food (hot and cold)...
well attended monthly quiz...
high end selection of live music (monthly)...
well appointed, stylish and comfortable environment...
sparkly clean powder room...

thanks karen ..:))) x


well appointed

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Booked this enroute to Stockport late in the day, it's a nice wee place for the money, staff where very helpful and gave a nice welcome, room was very clean , bathroom was beautiful , we wer unable to get breakfast as we booked and arrived pretty late but cereal, juice, tea etc was available in the room, as we where there on a Monday there was no bar food available but we where recommended a nice Indian , even the pub customers where very nice ,, overall happy with our stay , would probly stay again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brannagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Karen was the loveliest host to us for our stay in Stockport. A great little area right near Manchester . She gave us directions and places to go in Manchester and we had the best Sunday roast. Rooms were great and the traditional pub has a great atmosphere . Definitely recommend! Thanks Karen!!
From the Sydney boys.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patchicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Recentley stayed in the same beautiful room for the 2nd time and with the Pub having such a great atmoshere and decor, along with the food being as good as it gets I would highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
1.4 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
958 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#10 of 15 in Stockport
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#7 of 15 in Stockport
499 reviews
2.7 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle
3.0 mi away
Didsbury House
Didsbury House
#8 of 118 in Manchester
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Bull

Property: The Red Bull
Address: 14 Middle Hillgate, Stockport SK1 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Red Bull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Bull Hotel Stockport
The Red Bull Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing