We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Go Coach Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Stockport
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Thought we were going to stay at the Britannia Country Hotel, Didsbury but ended up here. My sister being disabled had requested a room with a walk-in shower but they only had one room with this facility which was already occupied and said they had not previously been informed by Just Go. The lift was out of order and on arrival at my room on the second floor after washing my hands I was unable to turn off the basin taps, the bathroom then flooded and I had to lug my suitcase down to reception to organise a change of room. There was no hot water in our rooms (which was later rectified) there was chaos in the dining room as no tables had been allocated and it was a help yourself buffet style arrangement both for breakfast and dinner. Apart from bingo/quiz there was no evening entertainment as advertised in the Just Go booking. One good point, after a very bad start the hotel manager was extremely friendly and helpful and did her very best to organise the situation, 5 stars for her!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

862 - 868 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Poor service, not enough staff, poor maintenance, poor communication and organisation. Thankfully we only stayed one night but that was plenty! Couldn't get an ariel cable so no TV, gave up queuing at bar, went to MacD's instead, had to argue to get our agreed taxi collection etc etc etc

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Broond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

went to stay overnight on our way to new york,did not even unpack our suitcases,the hotel is dirty the rooms smell of smoke,cigarette burns on furniture,carpets disgusting ,stains on the chairs ,dare not look at the beds.our friends son read the reviews and then booked us into a hotel nearer the airport that was lovely.will be intouch with the travel company that booked it.wish i had read the reviews first.

Room Tip: would not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank judith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

After reading such negative reviews we were quite worried when we discovered the hotel booked by the coach company was the Britannia
Check in was good ,evening meal was basic food but edible and for the price we paid we were satisfied
Room was a bit dusty around carpet edges but overall it was clean and yes we would stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Islemanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Disgusting would never recommend this hotel to anyone. Room disgusting,dining area disgusting staff rude food terrible. Someone had spat in the lift which was left to run down the panel. Need I go on?

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l00psy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed here for three nights last month, but it should have been better. Everywhere needs updating, it has a feel of the 70s. All the corridors smelt of damp, the rooms were adequate but only just. We even had a walk in the Gym, but all the equipment was full of dust and didn't look clean. The girl on the Gym reception just sat there and looked bored, why she couldn't get a cloth and do some wiping down I don't know, perhaps it wasn't in her job description. Never mind I will find somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benidorm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Worst hotel ive ever being in no rooms for disabled people staff unhelpful bed not changed in the three nights we were there food poor quality no atmosphere no entertainment plus you had to go in and out back of hotel to get onto your coach never again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
2.2 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#10 of 15 in Stockport
95 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
1.2 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#6 of 15 in Stockport
521 reviews
4.8 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Wycliffe Hotel
Wycliffe Hotel
#4 of 15 in Stockport
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Stockport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Stockport

Address: 67 Dialstone Lane, Stockport SK2 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range: £33 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Stockport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Stockport is a modern hotel situated in a quiet residential district close to Stockports bustling town centre, with a wide range of shops and entertainment. The Hotel features the spacious Jenny's cocktail bar offering a relaxing atmosphere where locals and guests can unwind. Jenny's restaurant serves delicious food at breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Britannia Hotel Stockport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockport Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Stockport Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing