We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Stockport
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You Get What You Pay For”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just had a 3 night stay here with National Holidays. We were a bit apprehensive after seeing the bad reviews, but when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. Room was ok, a few marks on the walls where the wallpaper has been repaired, TV OK with 8-9 different working channels, clean bedding and comfortable beds, and the bathroom was more than adequate. We had a bit of a mishap when water started pouring in through the bathroom ceiling, but when I reported it to reception, and they checked it out, it turned out the person upstairs had over-filled their bath and flooded their bathroom when they got in (not the hotels fault!). We found the staff friendly and approachable, and they were more than happy to help when the buffet was running low and we asked for more. This was also true of the bar staff when we asked if they had any Sambucca and they had to go to the cellar and fetch a new bottle. Yes we had to wait a minute for them to return with the bottle, but so what, I was on holiday and had all night. No problem.
Just treat and speak to the staff as you would like them to treat/speak to you and everybody will be happy!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twixman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    192
    298
    222
    638
See reviews for
270
458
89
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We were a bit nervous of the hotel after seeing the reviews on here, still we had got ourself a bargain and thought we would check it out and if it was that bad check in somewhere else. On arrival we was pleasantly surprised, yes the decor and the TV are a bit outdated but it was absolutely fine for what we needed and better than we had expected after some reviews on here. We used the pool and jacuzzi which was nice if a little warm, little did we know this would set the precedence for our whole stay! I'm a person that always moans I'm cold however I was completely over heated staying here to the point where I could not sleep and spent the whole night tossing and turning which was a shame as the rest of the hotel was fine. We did note that our room was above the pool...perhaps that could be why?! Breakfast was adequate but clean tables were hard to come by... The 1 guy working was doing his best but it was obvious more staff were needed. Another thing we noted that we had a drink in the bar whilst waiting for our taxi, the taxi came quicker then expected and we abandoned our drinks... To come back approx 4 hours later and they still be in the spot we left them - we did see the funny side! Overall not bad and I'd consider it again but would pack my summer PJs and leave a window open!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Leannabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Bedroom ok bed comfortable bathroom fine, tv dated needs upgrade. Buffet meals, could always manage something to eat, staff young could do with proper training but pleasant. Could have done with more bar staff not experienced enough.
Was only in hotel morning and evening as we were out on tours rest of the day, enjoyed the tours.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallysweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We took up the Britannia offer of bed & breakfast, dinner with a bottle of wine for £55 for 2!
We stayed at the Britannia in Stockport as we planned to visit Lyme Park & Dunham Massey which is not far.
Firstly the lovely lad on reception changed our room once he knew it was our wedding anniversary, we ended up with a suite which consisted of a 4 poster bed!
There was happy hour in the bar from 5.30pm-7pm then we went for dinner, there was either soup or salad choices for starter, then either turkey, sausage, meat balls, fish cakes with accompainments for main course, choice of gateau's or sponge with custard!

Our meal was lovely, everything was freshly cooked with our complimentary bottle of wine!
Breakfast was everything from cereal to full English with plenty of choice.

All in all we fully enjoyed our overnight stay, the only thing we were disappointed with was the fact we forgot our swimwear!
We would have loved a swim in the pool this morning! Will remember next time!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeany_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed on a 3 night National Holidays Superdeal. The room was adequate for the price paid, as long as you don't watch Channel 4 and don't mind fluorescent pinks and reds across the screen or a little dust here and there.
Dinner on the first night was reasonably good in terms of quality and presentation. The waiting staff were quite quick to take the plates, even before you were finished. I asked for a wake-up call, which naturally enough, didn't materialise.Over the next two nights a few more coach parties arrived and the restaurant was overwhelmed with the numbers. Lengthy queues developed at the buffet and the quality dipped substantially. We heard a waitress telling nearby couples to vacate their table, as it was needed for the next sitting. I checked my watch and it was 7.15pm. Elderly guests were expected to eat a 3 course meal in under 30 minutes! No one approached us, although we are a little younger and I think they thought better of it, which surely aggravates the crime of rudeness towards our elders. Consequently we decided a late breakfast was the best approach. The dining room looked as though a bomb had hit it- well there were 300 guests, after all. Not one table had been cleared and the few waiting staff in evidence were unresponsive. Cups, glasses and cutlery were either in short supply or non-existent. No one explained or apologised- leaving the impression that this was a normal Sunday morning experience. I felt particularly sorry for any non-coach tour guests. But for the mystery hotel coach trips and its position as a chain hotel, the front doors would have shut long ago for good.Please think twice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockport hotels

Wimborne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We booked this hotel as it was a "budget" hotel to visit family. Check in was fine and we got to our room fine. First impressions were that the room was small and dark. but ok for our needs. Then we noticed how dirty the room was. The bathroom floor really needed a good scrub. We left and returned to our room around 11pm to sleep (Something I was looking forward to as I'd only had a few hours sleep the night before due to travelling early in the morning). All ok until at 3am the fire alarm went off. We dressed and left the room to be told it was a fault. the alarm was turned off and back to bed we went. for about 30 seconds before the alarm went off again. This happened every minute for over an hour! The next morning breakfast finished at 9:30. we arrived at 9am to find nobody clearing tables. we were lucky to find a table that was set. at 9:30 we saw people being turned away as breakfast was finished. 9:30 being early in my mind for a Sunday breakfast. Let alone after loosing over an hours sleep that night. My biggest problem with this whole adventure was the lack of management around. We asked on check out to speak to the manager to be told it was their day off and they had refused to come in to help with all the complaints. We have since found out that the alarm problem is not a one off and it happens often. I for one will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Best room?... In another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_Wimborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Can't even think where to start, ok: on arriving, young guy on reception, completely indifferent. Got our key and went to the room, hmmm, television about 20 years old, sheets marked, bed- well there's another story, sure every spring in the bed was sticking into me all night! First night, (yes- i foolishly booked 2 nights!), went to ask the young guy at reception time and location for breakfast and was greeted by: "what are you wanting?", i'm not in the hospitality industry but i'm sure this is not the way to greet a guest! whole place is very run down and dirty throughout, even the carpet in the restaurant was absolutely filthy! food? well we only actually had breakfast, however, buffet style affair, plenty of choice hot and cold, reasonable quality. First and last experience of the brittania chain! NEVER AGAIN!!

Room Tip: my tip to getting a good room? go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
2.2 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#10 of 15 in Stockport
85 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
0.6 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#7 of 15 in Stockport
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
969 reviews
4.8 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Stockport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Stockport

Property: Britannia Hotel Stockport
Address: 67 Dialstone Lane | Offerton, Stockport SK2 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Stockport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Stockport is a modern hotel situated in a quiet residential district close to Stockports bustling town centre, with a wide range of shops and entertainment. The Hotel features the spacious Jenny's cocktail bar offering a relaxing atmosphere where locals and guests can unwind. Jenny's restaurant serves delicious food at breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel Stockport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockport Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Stockport Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing