We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Britannia Hotel Stockport
Nearby Hotels
Alma Lodge Hotel(Stockport)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$116
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Stockport hotel(Stockport)(Great Value!)
US$125
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,529)
Filter reviews
1,529 results
Traveller rating
47
204
310
240
728
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
204
310
240
728
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
943 - 948 of 1,529 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just had a 3 night stay here with National Holidays. We were a bit apprehensive after seeing the bad reviews, but when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. Room was ok, a few marks on the walls where the wallpaper has been repaired, TV OK with 8-9 different working channels, clean bedding and comfortable beds, and the bathroom was more than adequate. We had a bit of a mishap when water started pouring in through the bathroom ceiling, but when I reported it to reception, and they checked it out, it turned out the person upstairs had over-filled their bath and flooded their bathroom when they got in (not the hotels fault!). We found the staff friendly and approachable, and they were more than happy to help when the buffet was running low and we asked for more. This was also true of the bar staff when we asked if they had any Sambucca and they had to go to the cellar and fetch a new bottle. Yes we had to wait a minute for them to return with the bottle, but so what, I was on holiday and had all night. No problem.
Just treat and speak to the staff as you would like them to treat/speak to you and everybody will be happy!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twixman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We were a bit nervous of the hotel after seeing the reviews on here, still we had got ourself a bargain and thought we would check it out and if it was that bad check in somewhere else. On arrival we was pleasantly surprised, yes the decor and the TV are a bit outdated but it was absolutely fine for what we needed and better than we had expected after some reviews on here. We used the pool and jacuzzi which was nice if a little warm, little did we know this would set the precedence for our whole stay! I'm a person that always moans I'm cold however I was completely over heated staying here to the point where I could not sleep and spent the whole night tossing and turning which was a shame as the rest of the hotel was fine. We did note that our room was above the pool...perhaps that could be why?! Breakfast was adequate but clean tables were hard to come by... The 1 guy working was doing his best but it was obvious more staff were needed. Another thing we noted that we had a drink in the bar whilst waiting for our taxi, the taxi came quicker then expected and we abandoned our drinks... To come back approx 4 hours later and they still be in the spot we left them - we did see the funny side! Overall not bad and I'd consider it again but would pack my summer PJs and leave a window open!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Leannabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Bedroom ok bed comfortable bathroom fine, tv dated needs upgrade. Buffet meals, could always manage something to eat, staff young could do with proper training but pleasant. Could have done with more bar staff not experienced enough.
Was only in hotel morning and evening as we were out on tours rest of the day, enjoyed the tours.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallysweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We took up the Britannia offer of bed & breakfast, dinner with a bottle of wine for £55 for 2!
We stayed at the Britannia in Stockport as we planned to visit Lyme Park & Dunham Massey which is not far.
Firstly the lovely lad on reception changed our room once he knew it was our wedding anniversary, we ended up with a suite which consisted of a 4 poster bed!
There was happy hour in the bar from 5.30pm-7pm then we went for dinner, there was either soup or salad choices for starter, then either turkey, sausage, meat balls, fish cakes with accompainments for main course, choice of gateau's or sponge with custard!

Our meal was lovely, everything was freshly cooked with our complimentary bottle of wine!
Breakfast was everything from cereal to full English with plenty of choice.

All in all we fully enjoyed our overnight stay, the only thing we were disappointed with was the fact we forgot our swimwear!
We would have loved a swim in the pool this morning! Will remember next time!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeany_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed on a 3 night National Holidays Superdeal. The room was adequate for the price paid, as long as you don't watch Channel 4 and don't mind fluorescent pinks and reds across the screen or a little dust here and there.
Dinner on the first night was reasonably good in terms of quality and presentation. The waiting staff were quite quick to take the plates, even before you were finished. I asked for a wake-up call, which naturally enough, didn't materialise.Over the next two nights a few more coach parties arrived and the restaurant was overwhelmed with the numbers. Lengthy queues developed at the buffet and the quality dipped substantially. We heard a waitress telling nearby couples to vacate their table, as it was needed for the next sitting. I checked my watch and it was 7.15pm. Elderly guests were expected to eat a 3 course meal in under 30 minutes! No one approached us, although we are a little younger and I think they thought better of it, which surely aggravates the crime of rudeness towards our elders. Consequently we decided a late breakfast was the best approach. The dining room looked as though a bomb had hit it- well there were 300 guests, after all. Not one table had been cleared and the few waiting staff in evidence were unresponsive. Cups, glasses and cutlery were either in short supply or non-existent. No one explained or apologised- leaving the impression that this was a normal Sunday morning experience. I felt particularly sorry for any non-coach tour guests. But for the mystery hotel coach trips and its position as a chain hotel, the front doors would have shut long ago for good.Please think twice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews