We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Britannia Hotel Stockport
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Alma Lodge Hotel(Stockport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Wycliffe Hotel(Stockport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,512)
Filter reviews
1,512 results
Traveller rating
47
201
308
240
716
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
201
308
240
716
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
918 - 923 of 1,512 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Rooms thick of dust, the bathroom held more intelligent forms of life than the staff in the form of mold on the wall. The staff varied from miserable, clueless, un apologetic and over familiar. There were various stains dotting the room, the carpet was threadbare in places, found little surprises from previous guests like half eaten polo mints, the beds were rock hard, the shower unpredictably switched between scorching hot and ice cold in seconds, the fire alarm went off three times during the night which left me feeling like a nervous wreck and left us with a big flashing red light in our room for 15 mins each time. all in all a park bench would have been better than this hotel which is stuck in a obvious time warp! WARNING! DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGuest84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

booked this last minute had a quick look at the reviews but for 44 quid for a family room was not really concerned about them to much, yes the hotel is very dated and the rooms not very tidy, but only wanted somewhere to sleep and get a shower, and for that it was fine, everything you need just very old, bar was more a pub for locals, warm hotel, tv in room only 14 inch old style tube (funny to still see them around) tea coffee etc in room good, plenty of towels, big car park, would stay again for 44 quid, staff do a good job with want they have

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank audir8uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed at the Britannia Hotel Stockport on Saturday 2nd November with my Father. We went on a weekend trip to Chester and Liverpool (The Beatles Experience) organised by Travelstyle.

I had read the reviews for this hotel and was quite worried as my Father is 91 anKd I didn't want to put him through an unpleasant experience.

I will address firstly, the negative reviews by people who I honestly do not think have ever paid to stay in a five star hotel. Their expectations are ridiculous. If they booked independently they would have paid approx. £32 for bed and breakfast, if they had booked on a coach trip they would have paid approx. £69.99 this price includes travel costs, bed, breakfast and evening meal, and, in my case an organised tour of Chester on Saturday and an organised tour of Beatles history and a trip on the Mersey Ferry on the Sunday.

What are these people expecting. If they stayed in a five star hotel such as The Radisson they could expect to pay at least £75 for bed and breakfast alone. I can only assume that these "travellers" are not really well travelled.

For my £69.99 I got not only the aforementioned trips but a hotel that, yes, was a little run down, but was provided with a spotlessly clean bathroom, clean sheets and towels, a homely evening meal and an excellent breakfast (actually far superior to a five star hotel I stayed in in Dublin).

I suggest that these complainers put their hands in their pockets (if they can afford it) and stay at a five star hotel to suit their expectations.

Finally may I say thank you to staff and management for their hospitality and providing myself amd mr Father with an extremely pleasant weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Please keep away from this noisey hell hole.
The place is dirty & smells and is full of smack heads.
I complained about the noisey radiators.....got moved to another room but just as noisey. Sounds like they haven't beeb serviced since it opened.
Its more like a place for pips than a hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adrenalinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

All in all a good place to stay with the benefit of the spa/gym next door. Room's were ok clean but a little small. Restaurant offered buffet then when we went they said was not enough people so only a very small choice on menu but the food we choose was ok. The waitress and barstaff was great. I would recommend this for a short stay (it's low cost). We got it with free access to the spa so was good

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry3652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews