We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cleaners required”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Stockport
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“cleaners required”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We booked a late deal to see War Horse at the Lowry with National Holidays and stayed at this hotel. We have travelled with the company on several occasions and do not expect 5 star but do expect a clean, if basic, room. Unfortunately room 207 was smelly and the cupboard was full of rubbish. There was so much that the young lad who was sent up had to go and get a bin bag! There were even McDonald's wrappers in the drawer. Cleaners?? He agreed it was unacceptable and offered to bring air freshener but we asked to be moved. We were given another room without hesitation which at least didn't smell, though was cold and needed a good hoovering. Restaurant, bar area and food were fine. Such a shame!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nunthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    190
    288
    211
    620
See reviews for
259
442
85
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

we stayed at the hotel for two days and the food was warmed up and the bathroom was discusting all of our beds where stained and floors where just manky overall rating would be 1 i would not recommed it to anyone

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

On entering the building my first thought was dull and lifeless and that can go for the staff too.
It is clear no money is being spent on maintenance, cleanliness, furnishings or staff training/customer service skills.
The room was dirty, bed sheets stained and curtains.
After a few minutes if being in the poorly lit, dusty room I vacated and opted to stay at a much nicer cleaner hotel down the road. Think it was called bamford arms.
Do not stay at britannia, it is vile

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank 231nf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is by far the worst hotel I have EVER stayed in. The room was small and smelled of chlorine mixed with cigarette smoke, and it was filthy. The bathroom had clearly not been cleaned recently, the worst of it being severe black mould around the windows and the dirty net curtains, there was human hair in the bath, and generally I wanted to spend as little time in the room as possible. Luckily this wasn't a problem as reception decided to call me at 5:50 for a wake up call which I hadn't ordered and again at 6:30 advising that my taxi (that again I hadn't ordered) was waiting for me. When I told them of these errors when checking out, they tried to blame it on other clientele trying to call my room?! Eventually they apologised. The waiting staff in the dinning room we're ineffectual and rude, I ended up going for the safe option of cereal as every plate I looked at was again filthy, not installing confidence in the level of cleanliness in the kitchen. I stay in Stockport frequently, so I know there are better hotels (any in fact) than this and will never stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyeknapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed for one night as it was my husbands works christmas party nearby. The hotel used to be very nice as we stayed their 5yrs ago and it was nice. Boy how things change in 5yrs. The rooms are very small, old fashioned and in need of updating, you can hear every single creak and squeak of other guests in their rooms which is rather annoying at 3am when you are trying to sleep, the walls must be paper thin and floorboards old and rotten. It cost us £101 for the night which i think is ridiculous regardless of it being near christmas and a saturday night. I will be sticking to a premier inn next time. Very very annoyed and wont be back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmakenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Ok it was £37 per night so I wasn't expected the ritz. It was cheap and clean. However i was woken at 2am by the neighbours having very noisy sex. The walls were so thin I could everything so I would not stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kay3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here for one night with national holidays. The coach took us to the rear entrance, not the best, but check-in was quick. I was in a single room next to the very old and slightly noisy lift, room appeared clean although when in the bath you could see where the bottom of the sink hadn't been cleaned in a long time and I think my kettle was last on sale circa 1983. If you're going to use net curtains then at least ensure they are clean. On the plus side the food was good, so good most people of the coach piled their plates up as if they weren't going to see food for the next fortnight. As with most Britannia hotels this one could do with a makeover but was okay for the price.

Room Tip: Room 160 is next to a noisy old lift which combined with inconsiderate guests means not the best sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
0.6 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#7 of 15 in Stockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
2.2 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#13 of 15 in Stockport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel
4.8 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Stockport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Stockport

Property: Britannia Hotel Stockport
Address: 67 Dialstone Lane | Offerton, Stockport SK2 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Stockport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Stockport is a modern hotel situated in a quiet residential district close to Stockports bustling town centre, with a wide range of shops and entertainment. The Hotel features the spacious Jenny's cocktail bar offering a relaxing atmosphere where locals and guests can unwind. Jenny's restaurant serves delicious food at breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel Stockport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockport Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Stockport Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing