We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acceptable at a price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Hotel Stockport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Britannia Hotel Stockport
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Acceptable at a price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed here one night as part of a package coach holiday. Hotel generally seems neglected and tired which is a pity as it had obviously been a very good hotel in its time. Many of the furnishings and much of the decor is in need of refurbishment but, at a reasonable price it is quite acceptable. Didn't use the leisure facilities but they looked quite good.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlooking the car park seem a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    190
    279
    209
    611
See reviews for
256
434
85
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Thank goodness I was only there for a night!!! It began with a poker faced man on reception. Name, sign here, key and your rooms down that way.
When I entered the room it was antiquated furniture, the facility to make my self only two drinks. Didn't have a bath or shower as I didn't want to stand in the bath. Definately one to avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

My room was clean and comfortable, but there was not enough room in the lounge for all the customers, The tables were wicker and the drinks would not stand safely on them. We had a leaflet informing us of the Celebration buffet on new years eve, this was printed more in hope than expectation. We were served with starter then haggis, all very good . The main meal was the buffet, and we were among the last tables to be served, by now it was 9;30 and we had been sitting for two hours They had run out of peas,I got the last decent portion of beef, I had to share it with my partner as his was miniscule, the roast potatoes were inedible. there were no Yorkshire puddings, I don't know if there ever were any. Serving the next table they ran out of gravy, all in all a very poor show. The spa closed on new years day, so no comment there.
The staff were excellent and did their best in very difficult circumstances.

Room Tip: My room was ground floor. No complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

The worse UK hotel ever. Hostel would offer you much better comfort and cleanliness. Main reception area and bar full of locals. Hotel located in a residential area opposite private housing estate, décor as if taken from Aladdin cave, carpet in the room desperately in need changing or proper cleaning, so much dust underneath the bed you cannot see the pattern of the carpet. Curtains smell of mould, if you open the window the small will fill your room. Really bad damp in the room I stayed. Facilities overcrowded, people walking with shoes around the pool.

Room Tip: Go to other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MakedonskoDevojce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Booked mystery break with CalsedonianTravel and when notified ten days before departure as to where we were going, my husband and I looked at reviews on Tripadvisor and have to say
we were not looking forward to going to this hotel.
Arrived on the 30th. and left on the 2nd January and can honestly say we had a great time. our room was on the ground floor, very clean , clean bedding and towels I think this part of the hotel
has been recently renovated.
Good choice of food at all meals, breakfast choice as good as any five star hotel just great!!
New years eve meal a bit disorganised but as there was four coaches in also self drive clients
the staff coped remarkably well, there was no cream or ice cream to go with the sweet as it was
all chocolate desserts you really need some cream to go with them, but management compensated by putting bottles of wine on the table, I know what I would rather have, yes the wine.
To sum up I will say for the price paid thought this was agood value, also found staff friendly
considering the pressure they were under, I have come to the conclusion that some people
will moan about the smallest things, perhaps they should go to five star hotels and pay five
star prices not what was paid for this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chalkyglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Rooms was dated.dirty walls,bed sheets and blood on the 'fresh and clean' towels. Food was disgusting. Staff unhelpful,miserable and took 5 responses to sort a domestic row out in the room below. Gave us free use of the leasure facilities but it was only open for 30 mins by the time we got there, no cash point or entertainment. No help when asking where nightlife was. We went on a twixmas tour with national holidays. Ive slept in cleaner conditions at glastonbury festival!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boneyjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 3 days with new years eve package. This included dinner on the 30th Dec, breakfast and a 4 course meal and disco on the 31st Dec and breakfast and dinner on the 1st Jan. Room was clean and dinner was plentiful and tasty. Room was noisy due to heating during the night, complained in the morning and was given a new room straightaway. Again this room was clean. New years eve food was excellent, disco did play a few songs from well before my time but it was a very enjoyable night. Lazed about on the 1st Jan and again dinner was fine. Used the spa facilities every day which was very relaxing. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a very enjoyable 3 days. The only thing I could complain about was that the hotel had lots of guests who felt the need to moan and complain to the staff about some of the most trivial things. I'm sure these same people would moan about winning the lottery. Again, clean rooms, good food and helpful staff. and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chez C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockport hotels
0.6 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#5 of 15 in Stockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
2.2 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#13 of 15 in Stockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Davenport
The Davenport
#14 of 15 in Stockport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
1.2 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#7 of 15 in Stockport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Stockport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Stockport

Property: Britannia Hotel Stockport
Address: 67 Dialstone Lane | Offerton, Stockport SK2 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Stockport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Stockport is a modern hotel situated in a quiet residential district close to Stockports bustling town centre, with a wide range of shops and entertainment. The Hotel features the spacious Jenny's cocktail bar offering a relaxing atmosphere where locals and guests can unwind. Jenny's restaurant serves delicious food at breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Lastminute, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Britannia Hotel Stockport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockport Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Stockport Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing