We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wont stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Stockport
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
tyne and wear
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“wont stay again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

small rooms that totally stunk, toilet flushing sounded like a plane taking off! Draft coming through window! Awful!
food was lovely though the restaurant was set with different sittings like school dinners! When I am on holiday I like to chose when to eat not be told my slot but like i say the food was delicious, buffet style and plenty of choice. This is the same for breakfast

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strudledoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    190
    285
    211
    615
See reviews for
257
439
85
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North east England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here the night before flying out of Manchester airport. This was a budget deal for hotel stay, parking and airport transfer. I'd say we got value for money. The hotel is dated a looking a little shabby in places. But the beds and rooms were clean. The food was not good, but it was edible. You just have to remember you get what you pay for and if you pay budget prices be prepared for budget standards.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed for a wedding at a nearby venue for one night. Checked in at 6pm , was given a room on the second floor. The carpet though out the hotel was old, scruffy and smelly. The room was adequate and seemed clean but the smell was terrible, damp, musty and bad drains ! As we had to leave promptly for the wedding we quickly got ready and left for the evening. On returning we had to keep the bathroom door closed to reduce the smell. Even after returning home our clothes and bags still had the smell of the room on them.. Having spoken to other guests at this hotel it seemed their rooms were the same! We Will not be returning or recommending this hotel..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here overnight before a flight to Austria. On arrival the staff were extremely rude and unhelpful. The room was very cramped and poor quality (not 3 star standard). We had to drive 10 miles to park the car at another hotel (saying it is near is misleading). The worst service we received was boarding the transfer bus, it was completely disorganised. We were told by the driver that we weren't booked on his transfer at 4.30am when it turned out we were and would have to wait another 45 minutes for the next one meaning we could have missed our flight. The transfer service was not any better on the way back with the taxi man looking at us like we were dirt and getting our drop off point wrong. Although this may be the cheaper option save yourself the hassle and book another airport hotel. They do not deserve your custom!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

The hotel has a rather Dated look, extremely noisy as the hotel walls are paper thin and if you were unlucky like me you get placed next door to scream squealing teenagers on a bloody school trip. Food is absolutely awful. The rooms were very dirty a smelt old and stale. The bathroom smelt of sewage. Couldn't swing a cat in the room. Never again would I stay there

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarakiniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed overnight in this hotel before our flight to Barbados. The room was clean, warm and comfortable. We ate in the hotel and a splendid buffet was available for just under a tenner, the food was good and plentiful. Would use this hotel again in similar circumstances

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Two-Hobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed here last night better then the reviews good value.
TV could do with an upgrade and new carpets.
Gym and pool nice
Staff friendly breakfast Ok good location for a trip into Manchester.
Large carpark and we had a peaceful night.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnboy1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
0.6 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#5 of 15 in Stockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
2.2 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#13 of 15 in Stockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel
4.8 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Stockport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Stockport

Property: Britannia Hotel Stockport
Address: 67 Dialstone Lane | Offerton, Stockport SK2 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Stockport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Stockport is a modern hotel situated in a quiet residential district close to Stockports bustling town centre, with a wide range of shops and entertainment. The Hotel features the spacious Jenny's cocktail bar offering a relaxing atmosphere where locals and guests can unwind. Jenny's restaurant serves delicious food at breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel Stockport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockport Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Stockport Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing